Eve question(s)

Associate
hey ho, firstly, new to the boards :p

basically, ive been playing WoW since ~ march 2005, have racked up ~130 days /played on my main, am in a naxx guild and am getting pretty burned out.

on top of this, i've started full-time employment recently, meaning raiding is near impossible, and i think its time for me to move on.

i'll be ordering a new pc asap (just waitin on my credit card to arrive >_>), and once its sorted there's a few games i've missed out on i wanna play - oblivion springs to mind. Also wanna play more CSS/DoD

After that, i'm gonna be looking for a more long-term thing. I've had eve sitting on my shelve for ages now - only ever gave it 3-4 hours before giving up after being killed by something and not having a clue what was going on :confused:

i've read a lot of good about it, and i think i'll give it another shot - though a few questions:

I assume the levelling/skills system is finite? how long would it take a player to max out level/skills?

End-game (if there is such a thing in eve :S) - am i going to have to rely on x amount of people to be online from y to z time, every day of the week, to be able to acheive anything?

also; the games been out a while now - as a starting char, will i ever be able to 'compete' with those who've been playing since launch?

Thanks in advance

Soldato
Maxing out skills in eve is near impossible, you might be able to build yourself a very good type or character but you'll not be able to do everything. I recently gave away a 2.5year old account to a friend, it's still nowhere near maxed and remember you can only really gain skills at a certain rate even when offline your character develops.

You don't really level up in the traditional sense.

Caporegime
ICEMAN133 said:
I've had eve sitting on my shelve for ages now - only ever gave it 3-4 hours before giving up after being killed by something and not having a clue what was going on :confused: