1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Everything You need to Know AMD & NVIDIA

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by smogsy, Apr 20, 2014.

  1. Gregster

    Caporegime

    Joined: Sep 24, 2008

    Posts: 37,483

    Location: Essex innit!

    Top man. You could always post it yourself if you wanted?
     
  2. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2006

    Posts: 7,657

    Location: @ManCave

    ill come along later, but post it yourself having too much fun with x99 :D
     
  3. nashathedog

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 12, 2013

    Posts: 8,152

    Location: Knowhere

    Sorry if this is covered elsewhere but I could not find it and it's about sli/crossfire so it's worth including here if not already. I believe I know the answers but I'd like confirmation (again) please.

    If I want to sli a pair of same model Nvidia cards and one has more vram than the other will it work?
    If I want to crossfire a pair of same model AMD cards and one has more vram than the other will it work?

    The important part is whether you can mix ram sizes or not.
    Thanks.

    EDIT: I've seen it mentioned in the SLI as quick as possible video now and you can't use different ram amounts with SLI, Wouldn't it be worth writing this in the info post?
     
    Last edited: Oct 19, 2014
  4. whyscotty

    Sgarrista

    Joined: May 6, 2012

    Posts: 9,391

    Location: Wigan

    Nvidia can use Coolbits to allow this, but that was quite a while back.

    No idea about Xfire.
     
  5. Orivaa

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 29, 2015

    Posts: 16

    Add AMD VSR, which, by the way, existed for way longer than nVidia's DSR, it was just pointless for a while.
     
  6. OCdude

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 24, 2008

    Posts: 2,701

    Is there any difference between AMD and nVIDIA when it comes to bitstreaming audio for HTPCs? I'm assuming not.. seeing as they only have to chuck out an untouched data stream.. but just wanted to check im not missing anything :D

    (currently using an AMD 5850 to bitstream from my HTPC)
     
  7. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2006

    Posts: 7,657

    Location: @ManCave

    pretty sure their is not. updated with natasha dog suggestion.
     
    Last edited: Dec 27, 2015
  8. Vish Petrol

    Hitman

    Joined: Mar 16, 2016

    Posts: 566

    Location: Rubber Dinghy Rapids Broo

    Crossfire will work, but will operate at the performance of the card with less vram
     
  9. kaisera

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 28, 2015

    Posts: 24

    thanks demo is helpful
     
  10. smogsy

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 9, 2006

    Posts: 7,657

    Location: @ManCave

    not much has been really tested yet but added in Nvidia Ansel & Multi projection video & detail.
     
  11. Nevakonaza

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 7, 2009

    Posts: 4,336

    Location: Stourbridge,West Mids.

    Im curious to why Nvidia keep on using a 256-Bit memory interface even in their newer cards 1070 & 1080.

    Why do you think they didn't choose to use a 384-Bit in the 1080?..and say use a 256-Bit in the 1070?

    I know they're really good cards either way,But just curious.
     
  12. Orangey

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Aug 22, 2008

    Posts: 8,289

    Laptop usage, RAM amount etc
     
  13. CONSOLE_BUTCHER

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 10, 2014

    Posts: 786

    Location: The edge of another mind

    this is gonna be my next gpu upgrade ...

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/xfx-...s-card-with-backplate-gx-238-xf.html#comments

    my current gpu is an xfx r9 390 black edition. this is part of a custom loop, just need to know if the plate and block I'm choosing are the right ones ...

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/ek-water-blocks-ek-fc-rx-480-backplate-black-wc-9bo-ek.html

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/xspc-blade-radeon-rx480-water-block-wc-40o-xs.html

    for fittings I'm going to use the ones from my current gpu.
     
  14. N43SP33D

    Hitman

    Joined: Jun 5, 2004

    Posts: 873

    Location: Yorkshire

    does anyone have the link to that video where a guy does a in depth comparison into AMD/Radeon and NVidia finacne back ground and talks about why NVidia took the market lead now? I cant find it :(
     
  15. amigafan2003

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 18, 2008

    Posts: 13,927

    Location: Fylde Coast, Lancashire

    Why would they need to?
     
  16. Lawley Dowden

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 7, 2017

    Posts: 1

    very good information
     
  17. B12B6

    Gangster

    Joined: Jul 14, 2017

    Posts: 110

    Do not know if this is legit but it seems like it.
    https://imgur.com/a/CMWEv
    [​IMG]
    How in the hell is AMD ebale to get 1060 desktop performance with 1560 stream processors when Polaris needed 2300 to get that performance. Was Polaris really hard hit by bandwich or is smaller Vegas way more efficient than bigger models?
     
  18. willhub

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 20,525

    Location: MediaCityUK

    overclocking apps, which ones for GPU?
     
  19. oldbanana

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 18, 2017

    Posts: 192

    Location: Earth

    msi afterburner