Fixed or flashing or pulsing? - change my mind

Man of Honour
After reading a thread in GD I thought I'd get expert advice.
I've always been a fixed beam person with a 700 lumen light but after many incidents where I've not been seen (I'm not exactly small either), I decided to change to pulsing and (touch wood) I haven't had any major problems.
However, I've read in the GD thread that pulsing/flashing is not the way. Nobody has ever flashed me and when I'm driving flashing cycle lights haven't bothered me but I read in GD that it's not really safe for a cyclist.

Care to change my mind OCUK?

Soldato
Why isn't it safe?

Are you talking about front/rear/both?

As a driver I always appreciate it when I see people wearing Hi-Vis clothing. Sadly few seem to.

Soldato
I'm starting to veer towards pulse lights front and back, but especially on the front, make sure the beam is pointing down.

Which alerts traffic there is a bike around... But this may trigger road rage from some of the GD crowd and will give them a sense of entitlement to mow you down. ;)

Man of Honour
Just my observation but the most obvious cyclists when coming up behind them on my way to work are those with 1 constant and 1 flashing rear light.

At least for me I think what is going on is that the high frequency change is most noticeable as our eyes are tuned to detect motion but then constant light provides a better reference to position and movement.

I have somewhat mixed opinions on flashing front lights but the only person I've encountered that doesn't have just constant front light(s) has them poorly configured.

Last edited:
Soldato
When Cycling I like to have a fixed front light to light up the ground around me on unlit sections, if I was to add a second light I'd have it flash/pulse to get more attention on the road however. Rear I run with a pusling nightrider kinda light.