1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Folding@home News 18th - 25th Feb 2011

Discussion in 'Team OcUK Distributed Computing Projects' started by dekez, Feb 25, 2011.

  1. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 840

    Location: Derbyshire

    If your running windows its easy to setup with the gpu tracker see the folding setup guide for details:)

    Edit:Dekez beat me to it:D
     
  2. Combat squirrel

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 7, 2004

    Posts: 10,017

    Hey that looks great thanks, will it auto detect my 5770 and run ok ? :cool: also whats OCUK'S team ID, name, etc ill need to contribute ?

    Thanks
     
  3. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,511

    Location: Surrey

    Name: OcUk
    Team: 10

    Should work with teh 5770 but don't expect great performance.
     
  4. BaBa

    Hitman

    Joined: Jul 11, 2010

    Posts: 840

    Location: Derbyshire

    Just seen a post by Tear on the folding forum of his 4p opteron system running bigadv 6901 on linux, frame times 6min 40seconds (350k ppd):eek:

    Thats with slighty slower processors than mine and he has bested me by 2mins and 18 sec a frame, break out the linux distros:D
     
  5. Combat squirrel

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 7, 2004

    Posts: 10,017

    Really ? thats random, id of thought the 5770's would of wiped the floor being GPU's :eek: im running the program now, seems its just stuck on downloading FAH clients from stanford?

    EDIT: Fails :(

    this is the error report:

     
  6. dekez

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 4,332

    Location: Location: Location

    :eek: Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!! :(
     
  7. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,511

    Location: Surrey

    Yeah saw that, they have really tweaked the bigadv stuff for heavy iron this time around, however it does seem that the windows code is not as optimised as the Linux code this time round. Will be interesting to see if there are any changes in future versions.

    I could switch Gemini over to Linux I guess, its only a VMWare box and that runs on Linux fine. I've certainly noticed a drop in performance since switching to 6.34 and the A5 wu's
     
  8. Snapshot

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2006

    Posts: 3,883

    Location: Wiltshire

    I think you'll need to disable Crossfire to get folding to work but it's really not worth it on ATI GPUs at present. Stanford keep promising a new ATI client but they're heavily sponsored by Nvidia.....
     
  9. dekez

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 4,332

    Location: Location: Location

    I've been dreading the day I have to learn linux, but I always knew it would come. :(

    Currently I'm running WHS which is 32bit, so I assume even if I ran a vm with linux folding it wouldn't be able to take advantage of 64bit.

    So I think the sensible (if somewhat PITA) option would be to set up the machine running linux. Most of the things that I would want to do - PS3 media server, sabnzb+, file sharing etc work fine on linux.

    Don't know how well it mixes with the windows machines on my network for backups or how remote access works but I would assume it could handle those sort of things, it's pretty basic stuff.

    Bonus is I can get another 4 gig of ram and house all of my virtual machines for learning on the server, instead of what I do now of having them spread over a few machines.

    Anyone know if it is possible to build and test the linux machine as a virtual machine then create an image for the machine and move it to the actual machine? I know nothing about linux, I had a play with ubuntu before is this still the easiest for beginners?
     
  10. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,511

    Location: Surrey

    I would buy another hard drive mate, put it in and install linux on that. Then you can just boot back to winders if you need to.
     
  11. dekez

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 4,332

    Location: Location: Location

    Cheers that is a very good idea.
     
  12. sculptor

    Hitman

    Joined: May 29, 2005

    Posts: 572

    Location: Guisborough

    Im selling some networking gear on MM if any of you guys are interested.
    An 8 port and a 5 port ethernet switch.
    I have 2 4 port KVM switchs to sell although only one on the MM at the mo.
    sculptor:)
     
  13. dekez

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 4,332

    Location: Location: Location

    Any old HDDs lying around? :D I've started a wanted thread.
     
  14. sculptor

    Hitman

    Joined: May 29, 2005

    Posts: 572

    Location: Guisborough

    I should have a few 40GB IDE ones, would need to check they are OK if they are you can have them for the postage cost.
    sculptor:)
     
  15. dekez

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 4,332

    Location: Location: Location

    Thanks for the offer but it needs to be SATA, blimin sandybridge modernising! :)
     
  16. sculptor

    Hitman

    Joined: May 29, 2005

    Posts: 572

    Location: Guisborough

    Just thought I have a couple of WD Raptors 35GB models early ones, they are noisy they hiss and clunck but just seem to keep going, again Id only want postage cost for them.
    sculptor:)
     
  17. dekez

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 14, 2009

    Posts: 4,332

    Location: Location: Location

    They would be great thank you :) sending you a trust email now...
     
  18. Delboy

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 10, 2003

    Posts: 2,814

    Anyone else struggling to get bigadv WUs at the moment. My 2600k is only downloading normal smp wus :(
     
  19. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,511

    Location: Surrey

    No all good here with bigadv.

    1. Did you upgrade the client to 6.34?
    2. Have you had any failed WU's lately?
     
  20. Delboy

    Mobster

    Joined: Sep 10, 2003

    Posts: 2,814

    1. No.
    2. No.

    Will update and see how that goes.