1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Folding@Home Setup Guide: Illustrated for your pleasure

Discussion in 'TOSAH Archive' started by BillytheImpaler, Feb 19, 2006.

  1. Fuzz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 3, 2003

    Posts: 15,298

    Location: Cheltenham ;-)

    Can someone do an illustrated guide to multi GPU based ATI biased set up / install please. It's doing my nut in as I'd like to make use of my second 4870 :D

    I can manage setting up the clients to work independently in their own folders and collate information also in their own folders however I'm struggling with binding them to specific GPU's.
    I think it's the flags that need explaining better. :confused:
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2008
  2. RossG

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 5, 2007

    Posts: 1,269

    Location: Harrow, London

    Quick question. Set up my 6300 for dual core as followed in the setup guide. However, core number 2 isn't picking up my username and team number. I changed it in client.cfg and restared the FAH process, but it's still not having it by the looks of things. The client.cgfs also differ for each core. Core 1 is as follows:

    [settings]
    username=rossrlg
    team=10
    passkey=
    asknet=no
    machineid=2
    bigpackets=big

    [http]
    active=no
    host=localhost
    port=8080
    usereg=no

    [core]
    priority=0
    cpuusage=100
    disableassembly=no
    checkpoint=30
    ignoredeadlines=no
    nocpulock=0

    [power]
    battery=no

    [clienttype]
    memory=6141
    type=3


    And core 2 is:

    [settings]
    machineid=1

    [http]
    active=no

    Looks liek something's a bit wrong there. Any ideas?

    Also, these lines keeps coming up in the logs for both cores (Core 1 shown as an example):

    [09/01/09 - 16:59:49] 6300 Core 1 has an unknown state (Unable to find a complete frame)
    [09/01/09 - 16:59:49] Cannot determine frame number for 6300 Core 1 (this isn't a problem)

    Anything to worry about?

    Thirdly, I've set the job size to biggest, with core 1's job to be completed in an estimated 92 days. Is this too big a job for my CPU realistically?
     
    Last edited: Jan 9, 2009
  3. AtaRo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 4, 2008

    Posts: 1,882

    Why not just run the SMP client?
     
  4. RossG

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 5, 2007

    Posts: 1,269

    Location: Harrow, London

    Ah. Didn't know they had one. Haven't done any folding for quiet a while :p. I'll uninstall my current one and give that a whirl.
     
  5. Noto

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 1, 2002

    Posts: 1,892

    ok some im a complete noob to this ^_^

    I read a tip to use:

    "C:\Program Files\Folding@Home\winFAH.exe" –forceasm -advmethods

    that allows SSE and other things to be used for folding... do I still have to use these shortcuts even if im using


    "Folding@home windows CPU client 6.23"

    Thanks in adv :)

    2/250 go me!
     
  6. ian|Squared²

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 5, 2009

    Posts: 292

    Location: Wakefield

    thanks, really comprehensive guides
     
  7. rowr12

    Associate

    Joined: Jun 5, 2009

    Posts: 1

  8. knowlesy

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 6, 2006

    Posts: 4,665

    Location: Newcastle

  9. rexehuk

    Mobster

    Joined: Jun 13, 2009

    Posts: 3,937

    Location: My own head

    I'm now folding with my machine :) hope I can help to boost your points!

    Installed folding@home and set team 10, that all I need to do? I saw registry edits etc... application is just working for me atm.
     
  10. Brackish

    Hitman

    Joined: Sep 9, 2009

    Posts: 767

    Location: MK, Bucks.

    hiya,

    just got it set up for the gpu client, on team 10.
     
  11. Happy

    Soldato

    Joined: Jan 7, 2008

    Posts: 7,120

    Location: Tunbridge Wells

    Welcome to the team :)
     
  12. muon

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 8, 2006

    Posts: 18,656

    Location: London

    Hi,

    Can someone please update the finstall guide. Its different at the end and doesn't seem to work.

    After the checksum command, the config part doesn't come up.

    Instead it asks me if I want automatic changing of machine ID. First time I clicked yes, it installs but for each cpu directory it comes up with

    It does this 3 times for each CPU.

    So I figure that I'll go into each directory and then type

    to configure, but it comes back with

    Note that:

    So I then started the whole thing again, but picked no to automatic machine ID changing. It makes no difference,
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2009
  13. cyclo

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 17, 2009

    Posts: 39

    Location: Manchester

    Joined a few days ago too. Curious how some ppl get such a high PPD. You must have a little farm of pcs running or something :)

    [​IMG]

    is that decent?

    Q9650 @ 4ghz - HD5870
     
  14. Biffa

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 30, 2002

    Posts: 15,550

    Location: Surrey

    Instead of running three separate clients:
    If you run the Windows SMP client you will get around 2K PPD
    If you run the linux client in a notfred Vmware Player between 4&5K PPD
     
  15. cyclo

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 17, 2009

    Posts: 39

    Location: Manchester

    [​IMG]

    much better :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2009
  16. Culinia

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 10, 2010

    Posts: 661

    Hi was following this guide until Registry Edits - F@H did not create that specific registry...what do I do now:confused:
     
  17. Pilgrim57

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 20, 2006

    Posts: 1,049

    Location: London

    It would be better starting a new thread to ask for help than post here.
    What client are you trying to set up? With a bit more info I'm sure you get the help you need. Welcome to the team:)
     
  18. Culinia

    Hitman

    Joined: Jan 10, 2010

    Posts: 661

    I think I know what the problem is. I think I opted for no to run/install as a service?

    PS thanks for replying!
     
  19. Speed

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Nov 23, 2002

    Posts: 8,609

    Edited
     
    Last edited: Mar 2, 2010