1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Folding@Home Weekly Team News - 13th January 2006

Discussion in 'TOSAH Archive' started by rich99million, Jan 13, 2006.

  1. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Aug 2, 2005

    Posts: 8,736

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    Welcome to the foldy insanity, Mr. Madness.
     
  2. Stan_Lite

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Apr 27, 2004

    Posts: 107,331

    Location: In bed with your sister

    I got an e-mail yesterday afternoon to tell me my new bits had been dispatched (one of the items was out of stock, so I had to wait for a bit) so hopefully, the new 4400 dual core will be up and running today.

    There is a lot of fiddling to be done.
    The dual core is going into the box which currently holds the 4000 San Diego along with a beefier PSU, 2 GB of Corsair XMS4000PT TwinX RAM and an X1800 XT 512MB GFX card.
    The PSU, RAM, CPU and GFX card from there are going into the case which currently holds the old 1200 Duron along with a 40 GB IDE HDD I found lying around and a new mobo.

    The Duron is being retired for the moment as I don't have a spare copy of Windows anymore due to having to install it on the 3500 Venice rig because of the issues I was having with XP64 - I may just break her up and flog the bits to get a few quid back - she never was up to much foldy-wise anyway (looking at getting a flashy monitor as I intend to start playing the odd g**e or two on the dual core rig).

    To recap, that will give me:

    1x dual core 4400 with 2GB Corsair XMS DC
    1x single core 4000 San Diego with 1GB Corsair XL DC
    1x single core 3500 Venice with 1GB Corsair XL DC
    1x P4 Northwood 2.4GHz with 1GB Twinmos DC
    1x 1.6MHz P4M Laptop with 512MB RAM
    All folding 24/7 for Team 10
    (Also big bro's laptop (borged) when he has it switched on.

    That will have to do me for a while as there has been much expense lately (I'm too scared to add it all up) - although I have been greedily eyeing up one of the new dual core 9** P4 chips but I think I'm going to be selfish and have me a new monitor :D

    Stan :)

    PS: I have shuffled so much around recently that I can't remember which Windows licence goes with which machine (i.e. I don't know if the licence key on the side of the Duron actually corresponds to what is in the machine). I remember reading somewhere that the licence key is stored in the registry but cannot remember where - can anyone help me out?
     
  3. VeNT

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jan 9, 2003

    Posts: 20,615

    Location: Cornwall

    its not in the reg iirc, just a licence number (not the key)
    I've never thought it matters that much aslong as you have enough for each box
     
  4. dunc

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 23, 2003

    Posts: 2,755

    Location: Selma, Alabama

    Linky

    ;)

    Dunc
     
  5. Stan_Lite

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Apr 27, 2004

    Posts: 107,331

    Location: In bed with your sister

    Thanks Dunc - that works a treat :)

    Update on the farm:

    I still haven't got the San Diego back up and running - bit of a mix up with Citylink regarding delivery of the new mobo for it - hopefully get her up and running today.

    The X2 (Toledo) is running away fine so far.

    If only I could get some decent WUs for the damn things, I'd be much happier.
    Thousands of pounds worth of hardware and look what I get:
    6 CPUs running at the moment and I have 1 QMD (thank god for the P4), 3 tinkers, 1 Gromacs worth 135 points and 1 Gromacs worth 41 points :(

    Never mind, Im sure things will pick up eventually

    Stan :)

    Edit: On a cheerier note - a little milestone:

    [​IMG]
    :cool:
     
    Last edited: Jan 18, 2006
  6. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Aug 2, 2005

    Posts: 8,736

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    Congratulations, sah.
     
  7. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    congrats on the tiffy stan - i hope the rest of the plan falls in place soon :)
     
  8. Stan_Lite

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Apr 27, 2004

    Posts: 107,331

    Location: In bed with your sister

    Thanks.

    Got the San Diego up and running this afternoon. It immediately downloaded a 44 point Gromacs - damn 7xx projects :mad:

    Stan :)
     
  9. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    grrrrrr - pesky WUs
     
  10. BlackAqua

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 9, 2005

    Posts: 144

    Well I *finally* got my old SoA sempron up and running 24/7, not the best performance but its better than a 3ghz opteron on for 4 hours a day... just.

    BTW if anyone has a 10/100 switch lying around not being used i'd be greatful, i'd swap it for a 10x 16port netgear nub if wanted

    And this should help things along:

    Project : 2358
    Core : Double Gromacs
    Frames : 100
    Credit : 572


    -- Folding@Home --

    Min. Time / Frame : 4mn 43s - 1746.32 ppd
    Avg. Time / Frame : 13mn 16s - 620.86 ppd
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2006
  11. Mattus

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 30, 2003

    Posts: 10,901

    Location: London

    Unfortunately that's an example of the benchmark bug in FAHMon :) It won't be getting more than 250-300ppd.
     
  12. Admiral Huddy

    Don

    Joined: Feb 17, 2003

    Posts: 29,487

    Location: Chelmsford & Broadgate

    I have 2 old PIII systems hanging around. Both systems are dual processor machines but all four are around 550Mhz..

    will these be any good do you reckon for just folding?
     
  13. BillytheImpaler

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Aug 2, 2005

    Posts: 8,736

    Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

    Sure they are... if you're up to paying the electricity bills. Sign them up for timeless WUs if you fear that they might not make the deadlines. I've got a few P3 machines that do pretty well. Since they support SSE you'll find that they do gromacs WUs 3x quicker than they do Tinkers.
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2006
  14. rich99million

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 26, 2002

    Posts: 9,348

    Location: Derbyshire

    personally I wouldn't bother as they will probably not produce a lot of work for the leccy costs

    however if they are on someone else's bill then every little helps :p

    I used to fold on my brother's old P3-533 which he was using as an internet sharing machine and it did alright - however it was going to be on 24/7 anyway so didn't really add much to the cost

    I would say try one and see how it goes