Folding@Home Weekly Team News - 3rd March 2006

Soldato
OP
Joined
26 Dec 2002
Posts
9,348
Location
Derbyshire
yeah good point - and yep that's in Billy's how to

i'm sure some people wouldn't like the batch files sitting on their desktop but then if you're doing a lot of messing about with the system it may be the perfect solution
 
Associate
Joined
25 Jul 2004
Posts
2,051
Location
Aberdeen
Oh good my production has shot right up with the addition of a x2 4400xp. I'm also running a 3200xp and my 2.4p4. Is there any use in getting a 200mhz pentium to crunch timeless WU? I figured my test server could do something more useful.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
4,448
Location
Colne.... Up Norf.
Damn aint this addictive, so far ive got 6 PCs going and 3 more waiting for RAM, im currently looking at purchasing parts for a full system in a couple of weeks, Dual-Dual-Core Opteron 265HEs should be good for some nice PPD.

At the moment I think ive got about 750 PPD from my current setups.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
26 Dec 2002
Posts
9,348
Location
Derbyshire
blimey that's some serious power joining the fold :eek: :cool:

i've just finished sorting out the rest of the boarding in the loft and now got power sockets and cat5 up there :D
it won't be a huge operation but i'm sure i can squeeze a machine or two up there without burning the place down :p
also just got myself a CM Stacker today - the current rig is going to look dwarfed in there so it'd be rude not to sort out a tasty upgrade now i have the room for it :)
 
Man of Honour
Man of Honour
Joined
27 Apr 2004
Posts
107,330
Location
In bed with your sister
The bits for my new Opteron beast have been ordered so, hopefully, on Tuesday she will be up and crunching.

There will be a slowdown after a few days, though.
I intend to run her in, folding for a couple of days and then overclock her to hell so there will be a day or so of slacking but after that she should be going like a bat out of hell :D

Stan :)
 
Associate
Joined
28 Jan 2003
Posts
660
Location
Colchester, Essex
Ok, this is really beginning to bug me...

I'm running the client version of F@H. I've set everything up as per instructions (I've checked it over 3 or 4 times) and yet I'm only receving ikkle WUs. It's always the 762/764 type ones. Something piddly like 30 points each.

Why aren't I getting any bigguns? Any idea what I could have done wrong? I've had nothing but problems since I took off the GUI client and my production has dropped hugely because of it :(
 
Man of Honour
Soldato
Joined
2 Aug 2005
Posts
8,721
Location
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
What are the specs of the machine you're using? Maybe it thinks that your machine does not have enough RAM for the bigger WUs.

If you've got it set up as specified in the guide you're running with -advmethods and BIGPACKETS=yes. Try removing -advmethods. To do that in the console client, stop the service then run the executable with the -configonly flag. If you followed the current guide you should already have a shortcut with this flag applied. Run the config again and in the advanced settings tell it "no" when asked about setting -advmethods always.
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
5,600
Location
Surrey
The work available from folding depends on what projects the pande lab are running at the time. some proteins and methods score really well (QMD goodness) others score badly reative to the time taken. It's just the luck of the draw but I think it seems to even out in the end.

I tend to alternate between folding and BOINC projects so I only switch back to folding when there is high pointage work available (just call me a points hore).

HT
 
Man of Honour
Joined
17 Feb 2003
Posts
29,640
Location
Chelmsford
aceface57 said:
Oh good my production has shot right up with the addition of a x2 4400xp. I'm also running a 3200xp and my 2.4p4. Is there any use in getting a 200mhz pentium to crunch timeless WU? I figured my test server could do something more useful.


Can't compete with that :)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
26 Dec 2002
Posts
9,348
Location
Derbyshire
Kyzia - sounds like you've got stuck on a particular server so rather than getting a nice assortment you're getting the same horrible ones over and over

as Billy has said try changing your settings a bit, maybe even select deadlineless WUs for one turn so that when you change it back you have a chance of getting a different server

in fact are you sure you haven't selected deadlineless work by mistake - the projects you have mentioned are the new deadlineless Gromacs WUs which should only really be given to your client if no other work is available (or if you've selected deadlineless or no-preference in the advanced settings)

edit: when it asks Request work units without deadlines? make sure you have answered no
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
28 Jan 2003
Posts
660
Location
Colchester, Essex
I've had another look at Billy's setup instructions and realised that I was running an older version of the client. So I've downloaded 5.04 and checked all the settings as you've suggested. (I don't think I had it set to deadlineless WUs before but it's certainly not now)

I've set up the new client with -advmethods for now, 'cos thats what the instructions said and for now it's picked up project 2081 which if I remember correctly is 155 points so that's better already (though still not as good as the GUI client was. I was constantly getting 450/600 pointers on that :(). I'll see how it goes. Thanks!
 
Last edited:
Man of Honour
Man of Honour
Joined
27 Apr 2004
Posts
107,330
Location
In bed with your sister
Glad you got it sorted out.

There aren't many decent WUs on the go just now.

A lot of Gromacs and GBGromacs worth between 150 and 200 points. I have one 364 pointer at the moment (480 PPD :D ) and one 404 pointer (not good PPD :( ).

Hopefully things will pick up soon but we'll all just have to grin and bear it for the time being :)

Stan :)
 
Associate
Joined
7 Dec 2005
Posts
1,667
Location
Hartley
Ther console and gui don't have any effect on the WU's I don't think.

They both have the same setup options and are almost identical in every way.

As stated I think theres just less decent WU's at the moment.
But it matters not cause it's the same for everyone so no one is getting many more points than anyone else.

Just hope it picks up soon :)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
26 Dec 2002
Posts
9,348
Location
Derbyshire
Bigstan said:
...and one 404 pointer (not good PPD :( ).
is that a p2107?

if so then that's odd cos my Dad's old XP1900+ has got one and it's pulling over 170ppd, not much by A64 standards but for his rig that's pretty impressive :eek:
most WUs seem to get him around 100-130 ppd so 170 is quite a boost :o
 
Man of Honour
Soldato
Joined
2 Aug 2005
Posts
8,721
Location
Cleveland, Ohio, USA
I'd like to issue a wee parp to sagaboy2. Sir, if you could, please have cell 83 clean and vacated by tomorrow at 20:00 GMT. You should empty the rubbish cans before you leave but, if they are in good enough condition, I request that you leave the dirty magazines. :D

Also, TheTross, you're mine next week. ;)
 
Man of Honour
Man of Honour
Joined
27 Apr 2004
Posts
107,330
Location
In bed with your sister
rich99million said:
is that a p2107?

if so then that's odd cos my Dad's old XP1900+ has got one and it's pulling over 170ppd, not much by A64 standards but for his rig that's pretty impressive :eek:
most WUs seem to get him around 100-130 ppd so 170 is quite a boost :o

Yeh, it is a p2107. It's getting 156 PPD on the 4000+ SD @ 2700MHz.

Something up there :confused:

Stan :)
 
Associate
Joined
21 Jan 2006
Posts
404
Location
Edinburgh
Bigstan said:
Yeh, it is a p2107. It's getting 156 PPD on the 4000+ SD @ 2700MHz.

Something up there :confused:

Stan :)

Yup seems so, my barton 2800+ has it on FAHMon Benchmarks as 92 PPD. :confused:

Billy looks like your sprinting away from me.. I will have to try harder. :p
 
Last edited:
Man of Honour
Man of Honour
Joined
27 Apr 2004
Posts
107,330
Location
In bed with your sister
Another one :D

150000.php.jpg
:cool:

Stan :)
 
Back
Top Bottom