Fried Motherboard? :(

Associate
OP
Joined
17 Nov 2011
Posts
335
Check that the sticks match - look at stickers.


You could to test the new stick on it's own.

Replace the original stick with the new one and see what happens. (Be sure PSU is switched off - deplete power before installing)

Worse case scenario is that you have to clear the CMOS again.

*quick question first, what is the spec of of the memory?

Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 8GB 2400MHz

Its the exact same stick of ram with the same MHz and everything. No idea why it caused that issue.

And btw, I know 2400MHz isn't perfect for ryzen and it'd run faster with 3000MHz ram, but it's all I could afford for the time being and I'm only running games at 1080p anyways
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
19 Apr 2003
Posts
13,513
Corsair Vengeance LPX DDR4 8GB 2400MHz

Its the exact same stick of ram with the same MHz any everything.

There's CL14 and CL16 kits of 2400MHz - look exactly the same - but timings would be printed on the sticks (sticker). But from your reply seems fine (not that it would/should be an issue)

And btw, I know 2400MHz isn't perfect for ryzen and it'd run faster with 3000MHz ram, but it's all I could afford for the time being and I'm only running games at 1080p anyways
Fair enough - needs must.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Nov 2011
Posts
335
Right, so I've got both sticks in and it's actually running now.

You're correct. It seems I've bought a 16, the other being 14. Both have totally different timings. Will it still be okay to run without any issues? Or will it cause issues while gaming?

I just looked in the BIOS one stick is running 2400Mhz and the other is running at 2133Mhz
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Apr 2003
Posts
13,513
You need to either RMA the memory and get a matched pair - or manually set the memory CAS 14 memory to the CAS 16 timing and run them at 2400MHz (Or whack 1.35V through both sticks and run at CAS 14 - agian manually adjusting timings to match - would probably work).

That said - I think you will be more comfortable swapping the stick for a CAS 14 stick to match your present stick - as then all you need to do is set the XMP in the BIOS - one simple setting adjustment and then F10 job done.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Nov 2011
Posts
335
You need to either RMA the memory and get a matched pair - or manually set the memory CAS 14 memory to the CAS 16 timing and run them at 2400MHz (Or whack 1.35V through both sticks and run at CAS 14 - agian manually adjusting timings to match - would probably work).

That said - I think you will be more comfortable swapping the stick for a CAS 14 stick to match your present stick - as then all you need to do is set the XMP in the BIOS - one simple setting adjustment and then F10 job done.

I think I might just RMA and wait until I have a little more disposable income and get a 3000Mhz kit

Meanwhile, what's the difference between 14 and 16 anyway? Is one faster than the other or..?
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Apr 2003
Posts
13,513
Meanwhile, what's the difference between 14 and 16 anyway? Is one faster than the other or..?
No discernible difference in real world terms (CAS 14 faster)...

You could get both sticks working at 2400MHz - just needs setting up manually within the BIOS, it's not difficult - using the manual and google... (haven't got time to talk you through your BIOS at the moment)

If you do aim for simplicity/ease: set both sticks running at 2400MHz @ 1.2V and CAS 16 16 16 31 timings. Basically, you match the lower sticks spec.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
17 Nov 2011
Posts
335
No discernible difference in real world terms (CAS 14 faster)...

You could get both sticks working at 2400MHz - just needs setting up manually within the BIOS, it's not difficult - using the manual and google... (haven't got time to talk you through your BIOS at the moment)

If you do aim for simplicity/ease: set both sticks running at 2400MHz @ 1.2V and CAS 16 16 16 31 timings. Basically, you match the lower sticks spec.

Thanks for the tip, but yeah, that's not exactly something I have time for right now either!
I'll give it a shot tomorrow, I'm sure I'll figure it out with a little help from Google :)

Thanks for your help
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Apr 2003
Posts
13,513
Thanks for the tip, but yeah, that's not exactly something I have time for right now either!
I'll give it a shot tomorrow, I'm sure I'll figure it out with a little help from Google :)

Thanks for your help
No problem - it really is a simple process.
 
Back
Top Bottom