Getting into development after University.

Associate
Hello.

Quick backstory, I did a course at university: "Computer Games and Visual Effects". Which sold itself as a vocational way to get into the games industry, 'tailored after consulting with developers' etc etc etc.

Long story short, course was a disaster, The lecturer quit to go take a course himself, and I'm still arguing with the university.

Because of all that, All of my skills have been self-taught, and I ended up as a jack-of-all-trades, with no real defined strengths.

Despite this i managed to get a job in the industry, which turned out to confirm all the horror stories I'd heard from others, And after the company folded i didnt want to stay in the industry.

Sob story over.

I'm currently looking where to go now, career wise, and I'm weighing up between Web Design/Development, and Software Development as they're both areas im really interested in.

I've been teaching myself code (Java and C# currently) in an attempt to try and get into development.
But I feel incredibly overwhelmed by the amount of information to take in:

Learning code is one thing, as ive done a fair amount of scripting before.

But learning how to actually develop full programs seems like it would require far more knowledge, that teaching myself may not achieve.

What I wanted to ask was:

• How hard is it, to learn Web/software development without academic teaching?
    -How much would not having a Computer science Degree hurt me?
    - Do the Microsoft certified Technical Qualifications Hold much weight?
  • As someone who would describe his strength as being in the Design aspect. What would be the better Option (web or software development)
  • Are there any resources i should check out?
    - I've been trawling the web, but without knowing what im looking for, I'm not having much luck.
  • Lastly, are proffesional qualifications/Certifications actually worth the money?