1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ghost...

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Shayper, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. Ben Harrison

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 7, 2009

    Posts: 139

    Location: Blighty

    Not usually a fan of NZXT cases, but this is looking pretty amazing so far. Love the look of the side panel. :)
     
  2. Rob_J

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 12, 2010

    Posts: 373

    Location: Southend-On-Sea

    I have and am keeping an eye on that too but I'd also like to add another 240 rad at the bottom as I have the same case as Mr Dubs.
     
  3. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Just had some deliveries through :)

    Now to spend a lot of time with a screwdriver :D
     
  4. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Well, it's all installed and leak testing ATM, had a couple of minor ones when I first turned the pump on but all sorted now, as soon as the new psu arrives I shall chuck that in and will be sorted. Quickly gonna check if I can upload pictures with the iPhone, if not you will have to wait till later for the pics, but let me tell you it looks awesomesauce :)
     
  5. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Thanks mate :)

    I thought most of the other cases were pretty fugly myself, then I saw this and was like yes!
     
  6. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Quick teaser till it's all up and running :)

    [​IMG]
     
  7. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Well, just plugged it all in, turned it on and disaster! The whole thing keeps switching on and off after about 5 seconds. Good thing I ordered a 1.2kw Antec HCP off of Ace Modder, hopefully it will arrive today, seems like my measly 750w is not enough for the pump, extra fans and extra hdd :(
     
    Last edited: May 5, 2011
  8. joxang

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 4, 2010

    Posts: 2,263

    Location: London

    Strange - you should easily have enough power to boot. Have you tried taking out one of your gpus and seeing if you still have the same problem?
     
  9. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Will do that tomorrow :)

    Hopefully the PSU will arrive tomorrow too! I might be getting a tattoo as well! ROCK ON! :D
     
  10. G-Dubs

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 2, 2009

    Posts: 1,737

    Location: Lincolnshire coast

    Hope the new psu solves the problem, but have suspicion that it lies elsewhere. i'd also suggest some problem solving first. starting with un plugging and re connecting all connections. then that second gpu.
     
  11. xtremepc

    Associate

    Joined: Mar 13, 2011

    Posts: 25

    I had a problem like yours but it did not work with changing the psu. Try changing the RAM sequence. That is how mine stopped doing that...Although i don't think so.

    One quick question, how much power do you need for water cooling??
     
  12. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Well you have all of the extra fans, the pump and in my case an LED, plus I also put a new HDD in there as well. Hopefully it will work with the new psu, the old one was pretty loud and terrible anway :(
     
  13. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Tried taking out a gpu today, got halfway through loading windows, then cut out and went into the same loop.

    Thinking about it, I had to unplug a fair few cables including the front panel connectors on both the motherboard end and the actual button end.

    Not sure if I put the motherboard ones back on correctly, does the little arrow on the connectors mean positive or negative? I usually just guess and it turns out right but want to make sure if I have done it correctly :)
     
  14. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Finally fixed!
    New psu didn't help, but tried everything else, until I reseated the CPU. Now it's fine :)

    So I shall roll on with this update! Nothing left to do now but take a picture of it in the dark :)

    So some stuff arrived, a week late but hey :)

    [​IMG]

    The res (terrible picture I know :o)

    [​IMG]

    Shot from above, showing the pump

    [​IMG]

    The 240 rad with fans attached

    [​IMG]

    Shot of the fins

    [​IMG]

    LED for the res

    [​IMG]

    Enough tubing to watercool everything!

    [​IMG]

    A lot of pr0n storage (games and stuff really :))

    [​IMG]

    The backplates (not actually needed in the end, just used my Kuhler backplate as I couldn't get it off the mobo...)

    [​IMG]

    This kit comes with everything! Even a PSU bridger!

    [​IMG]

    Screws and unused TIM

    [​IMG]

    Hose clips (might need another two)

    [​IMG]

    Decided to go with deionised in the end, so a leak shouldn't do too much damage

    [​IMG]

    Le kill coil

    [​IMG]

    Mmm... Shiny :D

    [​IMG]

    Looks damn awesome eh? :)

    [​IMG]

    Even Shinier!

    [​IMG]

    Quick shot of all the new gear :)

    [​IMG]

    Block installed...

    [​IMG]

    And all piped up! (with my mate guy in the background posing! :))

    [​IMG]

    Naked front shot

    [​IMG]

    Shot of the tubing

    [​IMG]

    More WC goodness!

    [​IMG]

    Shot of the res from the rear

    [​IMG]

    And one last picture for you!

    [​IMG]

    I shall take some more piccies later, when it is nice and dark!

    Load at 4.2ghz is about 60-65 degrees, that's with 1.4volts. Epic, compared to the 95 under the Kuhler!

    It is so nice to have a working PC again :)
     
  15. Rob_J

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 12, 2010

    Posts: 373

    Location: Southend-On-Sea

    Nice build mate, how long did you leak test for and where did you put the kill coil?
     
  16. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    24 hours for the leak test, and the coil is in the res :)

    Some lovely night time pics now :)

    One quick shot with flash

    [​IMG]

    Overview of the pc

    [​IMG]

    Close up on block :)

    [​IMG]

    And one final shot!

    [​IMG]

    Well, that wraps up this project, thanks for taking the time to look! If any additions happen, then I shall continue.

    I HAZ W4T3RC00L1NG! L33t eh? :D
     
  17. Rob_J

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 12, 2010

    Posts: 373

    Location: Southend-On-Sea

    Thanks for the info, nice build, well done.
     
  18. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Thankyou very much :)
     
  19. OLDPHART

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 19, 2004

    Posts: 6,506

    Location: n/east-the toon

  20. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    I have a crucial c300 64gb for my os, it's blisteringly fast :)