1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ghost...

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Shayper, Mar 23, 2011.

  1. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    What could this be? An update? :D

    So, I received a lovely couple of things through the post

    A GTX 580 Twin FrozR II:

    [​IMG]

    NOTE: This is only the cooler, the gfx card underneath is my mate's GTX 480 which I spent a long time modding to fit it :)

    I also got a waterblock, to make my system even more epic :D

    So what do I do? Completely refit the whole system. First overall shot:

    [​IMG]

    The lovely red Xilence fans

    [​IMG]

    A shot of the CPU block and ram

    [​IMG]

    GPU pr0n :D

    [​IMG]

    Possibly the best picture I have ever taken (not saying much)

    [​IMG]

    Forgot to get a pic of the new 1200w PSU before, so here we are :)

    [​IMG]

    Bottom rad

    [​IMG]

    Storage and SSD

    [​IMG]

    The res from the back

    [​IMG]

    Rear of the case

    [​IMG]

    MY EYES!!! THE CABLES!!! (Still not tidy, just jammed the side panel back on :D)

    [​IMG]

    The res from the front

    [​IMG]

    And the pure epicness :cool:

    [​IMG]

    So, what do you guys think? Temps have dropped from my Xfire setup, and framerates have scarily increased :confused:

    But yeah! Can't think of any upcoming updates for a while! So Enjoy!
     
  2. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Some GFX Overclocking :)

    [​IMG]

    Nom. NOM. NOMNOMNOM!

    Ladies and gentlemen, that is a 1GHZ GTX 580 :D

    Running furmark now, working fine :)
     
  3. a giant fox

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 21, 2011

    Posts: 137

    Location: Darford, Kent

    Thats looks awesome shayper

    Have been thinking about going water for a while, where did u purchase all your kit from as OCUK has a lack of watercooling options at the moment?
     
  4. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Trust me and I'l let you know :) I did buy the 580 block from OCUK though.

    Had a major leak last night, which necessitated a pipe refit (one of them came off as it was too tight :() and a trip to Wilko's for 5l of deionized.

    So a couple more awesomesauce pics :D

    Much looser
    [​IMG]

    Epic Funnel

    [​IMG]

    BLUEEE!!!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And my thumb, randomly :confused:

    [​IMG]
     
  5. trisp

    Hitman

    Joined: Apr 7, 2010

    Posts: 787

    I noticed in your pictures that when u took a picture of your graphics card/waterblock that the tubeing coming in from the top looked like it was pulling and the tubeing did not go down all the way....
     
  6. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    It's because I cut the tubing a little skew-whiff. Ordered some hose clips to sort it :)
     
  7. Krony

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 14, 2011

    Posts: 1,061

    Location: Lincoln

    Really nice build, hows that psu going ? i bought the ocz zx series 1250w but the coil whine is awful, gonna get a refund and was looking at getting the one u have, limited for space as my pump/res is bolted just behind the psu and most of the high end 1000w+ ones are 200mm+ in length and i just don't have that spare space :p
     
  8. Predicament

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 27, 2011

    Posts: 1,145

    Location: London

    @ Shayper:

    Did you find it difficult to remove the GTX 580 cooler and attach the waterblock?
     
  9. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Psu is brilliant, had no problems! :)

    The waterblock was really easy to sort out, took about 20 mins :)

    Guys, awful news, my motherboard has exploded. Literally. The mosfets set on on fire :(

    So I'm selling a couple of things, and buying a 2500k and a z68 board :)
     
  10. delta9

    Gangster

    Joined: Feb 8, 2009

    Posts: 105




    exactly what i was just thinking!
     
  11. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Haha thanks mate :)

    Update:

    I have a brand spanking new z68 extreme4, but no CPU till next Friday at the earliest :(

    Damn you global gathering tickets!
     
  12. N00bbuilder79

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 19, 2010

    Posts: 486

    Any ideas what caused your Mobo to go pop?
     
  13. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Probably the attempt at hitting 4.6ghz on an i7 860 that did it :)

    But yeah, I have some good news and bad news guys...

    Bad news, I won't be able to afford a new CPU till the 1st of June.

    Good news, I will also be able to buy a set of Corsair sp2500s.

    So, new PC and some **** off loud bass heavy dubstep in the same day :D I'll post a vid when it's all sorted :)

    Oh, and, I have a new dremel, so keep your eyes on the thread for some mods to the case ;)
     
  14. Tommyzz

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 6, 2011

    Posts: 398

    Location: Manchester

    I'm thinking of getting that case, I might look into cutting the mesh off as well as that's the only part of the case I don't like too much. Didn't know you could cut it off so thanks, looks amazing mate.
     
  15. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Roight. Some updates! (Even though the 580 has decided to be a bitch :()

    So, my new CPU arrived today, So I decided to do a total rebuild! Focusing on cable management, and rad security, not to mention aesthetics :)

    First off, a couple of shots of teh partzzzzz (note that a lot of these pictures will also be used in the watercooling sticky :)

    [​IMG]

    My new mobo

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    My case, stripped completely bare and the scorch marks cleaned off

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    The new motherboard in situ :)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Sound card and wireless card installed, and front panel wired up

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    360mm Black Ice rad

    [​IMG]

    With fans

    [​IMG]

    And installed

    [​IMG]

    (note the failed mounting here, this is rectified later)

    [​IMG]

    Bottom of the case marked up for new screw holes to fully secure the bottom rad

    [​IMG]

    And drilled

    [​IMG]

    Top of the case redrilled for better mounting

    [​IMG]

    Much better :)

    [​IMG]

    Rear 120 installed

    [​IMG]

    Front 120 installed

    [​IMG]

    As the motherboard has so many fan headers, I could connect all of the rad fans to the top of the mobo without the cables being obvious :D

    [​IMG]

    GPU in place

    [​IMG]

    Nom

    [​IMG]

    Rear USB 3.0 bracket placed

    [​IMG]

    Getting a bit busy back here :)

    [​IMG]

    Bottom 240mm rad mounted, with fans in Push rather than pull this time

    [​IMG]

    The new mounting holes doing their job

    [​IMG]

    Drives and res mounted

    [​IMG]

    Cable management starting (lolworthy picture on this later :D)

    [​IMG]

    24 Pin extension connected

    [​IMG]

    HDDs and SSD mounted

    [​IMG]

    And connected

    [​IMG]

    Power supply in

    [​IMG]

    And starting to plug everything in, to work out cable management

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And my EPIC cable management. Warning: may contain sellotape :D

    [​IMG]

    Looking nice and tidy :)

    [​IMG]

    Hidden a lot of the cables behind the rad, where they won't restrict airflow, and can't be seen ;)

    [​IMG]

    Top and front panels replaced

    [​IMG]

    And starting to pipe up

    [​IMG]

    Lovely CPU block

    [​IMG]

    Nice and shiny ;)

    [​IMG]

    More tubing connected (note: block is hanging loose due to lack of CPU on sunday night, received it monday :D)

    [​IMG]

    GPU connected. Used a lot more hose clips this time, cheers OLDPHART for sending me a couple :)

    [​IMG]

    Floor rad connected

    [​IMG]

    And all piped up

    [​IMG]

    See? You can hardly see the cables this time :D

    [​IMG]

    Mocup of where the CPU block will be placed

    [​IMG]

    Aaaandd.... Look what arrived yesterday morning? :)

    [​IMG]

    TIM

    [​IMG]

    Another shot of piping

    [​IMG]

    And the CPU and block installed

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Loop filling :)

    [​IMG]

    The res, filling up nicely

    [​IMG]

    PSU bridger connected, ready to commence leak testing and bleeding :)

    [​IMG]

    And of course, my coolant of choice:

    [​IMG]

    Proper cheap stuff, 5 quid for a 5l bottle :D

    Leak testing

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    And all finished :)

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Well, that's it until I get my 580 problems sorted! I'll use a lot of these pics, plus a short video in my watercooling sticky, so keep an eye out! Not overclocked yet, still getting used to this UEFI black magic thingy :D.

    Thanks guys for staying with me till now :)

    edit: apologies for some of the more awful pictures, my phone really doesn't like low light :(
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2011
  16. tidusjar

    Mobster

    Joined: May 11, 2011

    Posts: 2,858

    Location: Farnborough

    Haha glad you got your system back dude!!
     
  17. Shayper

    PermaBanned

    Joined: Mar 9, 2010

    Posts: 11,326

    Location: Fabric Nightclub, London.

    Cheers :)

    Only problem is my 580 isn't working now, so got to get that sorted :(
     
  18. -fedexer-

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 9, 2010

    Posts: 284

    Location: Glasgow

    What keeps happening to the 580, all I've read is the problems you've been having with it?

    Also lovely build man, certainly seems you've gone through alot of hard times to finally get it where it is, good work ;)
     
  19. Rob_J

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 12, 2010

    Posts: 373

    Location: Southend-On-Sea

    @Shayper,

    how come you used so much TIM on the CPU? Is it because you used Ceramic and not the 7c or 24c ICD?

    Sorry for the noob'ish question.
     
  20. Devrij

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 23, 2009

    Posts: 13,098

    Location: Bath

    You need to get some white led strips in there man, would look sick!