1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Good Cheap Server - HP Proliant Microserver 4 BAY - OWNERS THREAD

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by dragonuk, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,434

    Location: Aberdeen

    I had mine running Server 2012 and right now it's running Server 2016
     
  2. EssexBoy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 13, 2013

    Posts: 1,252

    Location: Essex/East London

    I got 6 drives running on my 54 :) One from the optical sata and one from the esata at the back both inside the 5.25 bay. You guys need to update the tweaked bios first if you can still find it floating on the net.

    [​IMG]
    photo upload site
     
  3. dtokez

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 10, 2009

    Posts: 1,490

    Location: Southampton

    Thanks mate, I'll see what I can find :)

    Nice, that's where I want to be! Do you get full speed from the extra 2 ports?
     
  4. EssexBoy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 13, 2013

    Posts: 1,252

    Location: Essex/East London

    Yep
     
  5. GDL

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 10, 2014

    Posts: 429

    Location: UK

  6. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,434

    Location: Aberdeen

    Thank you.
     
  7. GDL

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 10, 2014

    Posts: 429

    Location: UK

    Last edited: Dec 11, 2019
  8. dtokez

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jan 10, 2009

    Posts: 1,490

    Location: Southampton

    Legend mate, thank you. Are they any special instructions? From the readme it appears you just have to run HPQUSB.exe then replace the ROM file? Does it need to be made a bootable USB drive?
     
  9. GDL

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 10, 2014

    Posts: 429

    Location: UK

    That's it mate.
    HPQUSB makes a bootable USB IIRC. so Run it, replace file and go.
     
  10. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,434

    Location: Aberdeen

    You don't need anything like that. Right-click the ISO, select Mount, then run the batch file as admin.
     
  11. GDL

    Gangster

    Joined: Sep 10, 2014

    Posts: 429

    Location: UK

    That's for the HP SPP.
    HPQUSB is for the Gen7 Microserver Modded BIOS bud.
     
  12. Infidelus

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 3, 2012

    Posts: 1,491

    Recently converted my N54L, which was running Ubuntu, to XigmaNAS. It's fine, but seriously let down by out-of-date documentation. Had a few issues with setting up NFS (leading to more than a few expletives). I found Ubuntu much easier to set up in that respect, but some of that is probably due to my limited understanding of it, and failure to amend autofs correctly for slightly different paths.
     
  13. AintNoHippie

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 16, 2014

    Posts: 43

    Has anyone here used shucked WD drives in their N54L? Will i need to do the 3.3v pin mod?
     
  14. Mr.Shabz

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 6, 2016

    Posts: 74

    Shucked an easystore 8tb and mybook 8tb in my N54L and neither needed the pin mod.
     
  15. AintNoHippie

    Associate

    Joined: Nov 16, 2014

    Posts: 43

    Cheers fella! I've got 2 WD element drives to shuck and sort out over the festive break..
     
  16. Nazbit

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 11, 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    Time for a Christmas holiday project!

    [​IMG]
    So I sold my HP Media Server EX490 as WHS was starting to fall out with W10 clients more and more and decided to join the Microserver world.

    Gen 8 will be used as a CCTV box (9 streams)
    Xeon 1240 V2
    16GB
    120GB SSD - Windows 10 Pro
    4 x 3TB WD Purple

    Gen 10 will be used to backup 4 x W10 pro clients and host network shares
    AMD X3216
    16GB
    240GB SSD - Windows Server Essentials 2016
    4 x 2TB WD Red
     
  17. Trig

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,830

    Location: Leicestershire

    Nice, still not bothered with a Gen10, extra RAM from the Gen8 is nice, but not as much upgradability..
     
  18. Nazbit

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 11, 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    To be honest I'm already starting to wonder if the Gen10 is up to the job.
     
  19. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,451

    Very few reasons exist to buy a G10, if you’d posted asking for advice, you would have got a number of different recommendations, it’s unlikely a G10 would have figured in any of them.
     
  20. Nazbit

    Mobster

    Joined: Dec 11, 2004

    Posts: 3,822

    Oh well, I'll see how it goes. Gen8 seems like a good package overall.

    Gen10 seems like an attempt to push people towards their racks and towers.