1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Good Cheap Server - HP Proliant Microserver 4 BAY - OWNERS THREAD

Discussion in 'Servers and Enterprise Solutions' started by dragonuk, Dec 10, 2010.

  1. dymetrie

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 19, 2005

    Posts: 2,150

    Location: Lonetrek

    Excellent!

    Well the GFX card is doing what I want it to do (actually output a display that isn't pants) so all good :)
     
  2. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 10,683

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

  3. BongoHunter

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 14, 2014

    Posts: 1,602

  4. Snapshot

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2006

    Posts: 3,988

    Location: Wiltshire

    Well, that looks very interesting with a few caveats.
    How much are we going to be ripped-off for the ILO Enablement Kit which I certainly consider essential?
    I would like to have seen two 2.5Gb/s, 5Gb/s or even 10Gb/s LAN ports rather than four 1Gb/s.
    I'd also like to know what alternative CPUs are in Intel's stable. Are there any 35W variants that support ECC these days?
    <Later> Yes, there is a G5420T so possibly others that are better too.
     
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2020
  5. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,434

    Location: Aberdeen

    I'm disappointed by the storage limits: 4 TB per drive max really? I'm hoping that's the max they supply, not the max they support.

    Agreed.
     
  6. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,434

    Location: Aberdeen

    The E-2278GEL looks interesting. Of course, we don't yet know if the CPUs are socketted or surface-mounted.
     
  7. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 10,683

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

  8. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,434

    Location: Aberdeen

    Looking at page 3 of the PDF I see the internal SAS port to the right of the CPU, just above the '3' line, but is that a SATA port just off top-right?
     
  9. Trig

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,830

    Location: Leicestershire

    I need to downsize my server, the 10+ could be an option, not sure where the 4tb limit comes from, certainly an odd one these days..
     
  10. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,451

    Surely as every single previous generation has worked perfectly with all current gen drives, you understand the difference between HP certifying something works in one market segment and what actually works the real world? It's like the socketed CPU posts earlier, it's a CPU that was only available in a socketed form.
     
  11. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 10,683

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

  12. Trig

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 3,830

    Location: Leicestershire

    I understand how it works yes, my point was given the size of drives these days why only certify up to 4gb..
     
  13. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,434

    Location: Aberdeen

    On Intel's website it's listed as embedded. Just because it has a socket doesn't mean that it can be removed from the socket.
     
  14. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 10,683

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

  15. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,434

    Location: Aberdeen

    Which is the CPU under discussion. With 8 cores, 16 threads, and a mere 35 W TDP it should be a perfect fit for this server.
     
  16. Mr.Shabz

    Associate

    Joined: Oct 6, 2016

    Posts: 74

    Possibly basing it on the drives they sell & support currently? With all the 14tb shucking going on it would be crazy not to work with them.
    Code:
    NOTE: The maximum storage indicated is aligned with the current HDD & SSD option list supported. Maximum internal storage
    supported would change with the server’s option support plan.
     
  17. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 10,683

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    It will likely work fine, much like the N36L Quickspecs says this:
    Code:
    Maximum Internal Storage Non-Hot Plug SATA 8TB (4 x 2TB) 3.5" SATA
    And the Gen8 says:
    Code:
    Maximum Internal Storage Non-Hot Plug SATA 16TB (4 x 4TB) 3.5" SATA
    https://h20195.www2.hpe.com/v2/getdocument.aspx?docname=c04111672
    https://h20195.www2.hpe.com/v2/getdocument.aspx?docname=c04123182
     
  18. Avalon

    Soldato

    Joined: Dec 29, 2002

    Posts: 5,451

    As I said, market segmentation is a thing. Home users shucking drives are not part of HP’s target market, commercial enterprise that wants more than 4x4TB are pushed to a more capable server.

    No, that’s the random CPU you plucked from ARK for reasons only you seem to understand. We are discussing CPU’s that are actually compatible the product, they are clearly socketed and listed in ARK as such, the info posted makes all of that quite clear. Larger drives will work perfectly, the N36L will run the largest drives available and its ancient, so will every other generation of microserver.

    Are you not familiar with the product line and it’s history or just reading something else/confused?
     
  19. Quartz

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 1, 2014

    Posts: 10,434

    Location: Aberdeen

    You mean like it appears to be compatible with the socket in the Gen 10 Plus? At a compatible TDP? That at 8 cores & 16 threads it's a signigficant upgrade? That it's the best of that series at that TDP?

    Thank you for your spectacular display of ignorance.

    Let me requote @Snapshot:

    (Bolding mine.)
     
  20. Armageus

    Don

    Joined: May 19, 2012

    Posts: 10,683

    Location: Spalding, Lincolnshire

    I'm glad I wasn't the only one who misread your responses

    Even if it's the same socket and a compatible TDP there's still no guarantee the BIOS will have any support for it.