Google Maps app for iPhone

Kol

Kol

Man of Honour
Looks good - I like the refresh and as a bit of a nerd when it comes to TFL, I like the Transit option which shows the geographical route of the underground etc. and also that I now have the correct graphics (underground/overground/dlr etc.) and names above all stops - that was my major issue to be honest.

Soldato
If this was Apple and had it been the other way around I doubt they would have released the maps app on Google Play. Really liking Google as a company and some of the products they're bringing out I might switch with my next phone.

Soldato
Associate
Fantastic! :D

I don't know if Google intentionally made it all pan out like this but they've played this perfectly.

Apple replaces them on iPhone
They get universally slammed
And then again
They issue an apology
They get slammed again
And again

Google comes along as the hero for maps on iPhone.

If this was Apple and had it been the other way around I doubt they would have released the maps app on Google Play. Really liking Google as a company and some of the products they're bringing out I might switch with my next phone.

At the moment neither is really perfect. For example Apple have had this map fiasco and really need to bring iOS up to spec. Yet Google pretty much botched the Nexus 4 launch (funny how you have people laughing at Apple fanboys and yet you have loads of people in the Nexus 4 thread paying £100 more to get a Nexus 4) and their entire ecosystem is clunky and fragmented.

The most important (and puzzling) thing though? Apple still commands the developers which means apps and new features in apps are prioritised on iOS. Facebook (native app), Fitbit (syncing), The Walking Dead Game (exclusive), Google Maps (fantastic design).

Associate
/dance.

I was so happy when I heard about this. Apple Maps, Maps+ and the web version of Google maps are all utter **** As usual once I got Google Maps instantaneous navigation assistance was restored :D