1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Hard drive problem

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by coops1992, Jan 13, 2015.

  1. coops1992

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 5, 2011

    Posts: 218

    Location: London

    Hello,

    I'm running windows home server 2011 and one of my 2tb HDD's is playing up. Connected by Sata, windows can't see it (in my computer, drive manager or device manager).

    But when it's connected through a usb caddy it's fine!

    Any ideas what the problem may be?

    Thanks
    Coops1992
     
  2. ED209

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 5, 2014

    Posts: 5,916

    are you able to try a different sata cable, power cable or sata port at all?

    does anything appear in disk manager?
     
  3. coops1992

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 5, 2011

    Posts: 218

    Location: London

    Tried 2 cables. And 2 ports. One on a PCI-e Sata card and one on the MB. The only cable I haven't swapped is power. It's a Y-cable for power and he other drive works fine so doubt that's the fault?

    No nothing atall comes up in disk manager.

    I think I last used it as a dynamic disk as raid1/mirror. But when connected by usb. It comes up as a basic disk and its formatted in ntfs
     
  4. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 11, 2009

    Posts: 26,772

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    tried setting to raid in bios,boot into raid console ctrl and I

    then delete the array off it? (aslong as no important data is on there)

    set back to ahci in bios and windows/disk manager should see the drive then
     
  5. coops1992

    Gangster

    Joined: Jun 5, 2011

    Posts: 218

    Location: London

    Great. I'll give it a try. The drive is blank. Just formatted to be a mirror.

    Is that raid function in all bios'? It's not a raid card just an adapter I think
     
  6. wazza300

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jul 11, 2009

    Posts: 26,772

    Location: BenefitStreetBirmingham

    yh,set sata ports to raid and when you see the raid info screen press ctrl and I together to access raid console/delete array

    then boot back into bios and set sata ports back to ahci/save/exit/boot into windows