Home Media Network

Associate
Joined
5 Jun 2011
Posts
218
Location
London
Been meaning to upload all these images for a while now, its a home network that stated with a gaming PC that i build from OCUK and was amazed by the value for money and performance i got out of the rig. Its had neumerous additions since i built it.

Specs
Case - CM Storm Enforcer Case Black
Mother Board - Asus P67 Sabertooth Intel P67
RAM - Corsair XMS3 16GB
CPU - Intel Core i5-2500K 3.30GHz (Sandybridge)
PSU - XFX 850W Edition Modular Power Supply

Storage -
- OCZ 120GB Vertex3 SATA III SSD
- OCZ Agility 3 60GB
- Samsung SpinPoint F3 1TB
- Seagate Barracuda Green 2TB

Graphics - Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 6950 2048MB

Extras -
- Lamptron FC5 Fan Controller
- LG CH10LS20 10x BluRay-ROM / 16x DVD±RW Lightscribe Drive
- Corsair A50 High-Performance CPU Cooler
- Icybox Trayless Mobil Rack
- Cooler Master MegaFlow 200 x2

































 
Associate
Joined
5 Jun 2011
Posts
218
Location
London
I wanted my home network to be simple, mainly to store and share video and music files across my pain rig, ipad and the laptops we use. I also wanted it to stram to my smart tv and into the bedroom.

Specs
Storage - 2x WD Elements 1TB USB hard drives
Switch - HP V1410-16G Switch V1410 Switch series
Router - The worlds worrst cable router, Virgin Media Super hhub :(
Extras - Iomega iConnect

The router in rubbish i have so many problems with it, im looking to change it soon. I took the HDD's out of the case and mounted them in an old PC case along with all the netwoorking gear and and put 5 fans in to keep it cool.











My Vodafone signal is so poor at home i had t shell out £50 on a sure signal that conects to my router and uses the internet and now i always have 5 bars of signnal !!!



Living room is amazing,, Samsung 46" led TV 7.1 surroundsound S3 freesat HD+ box, also allows me to strea media to it and apple tv is rather impressive



Use windows media center on an old laptop and a USB graphics card to stream from my network to the bedroom tv, much cheaper that buying another apple TV



PC set up in the bedroom, Network printer works really well



Use CAT6 ethernet ccables to connect to everything in the house and its all supper quick.

If anyone can recomendany new things to add or changes im all ears :)
 
Associate
Joined
22 May 2011
Posts
1,173
Location
Manchester
Anything other than a Virgin branded one :p

I have a little Belkin router, a good make, pretty much any router that you have from them will be good.

Otherwise, any router from Asus or Netgear will be good to be honest. Here is the ADSL router section of the website, which I think you will need, because you need to be able to connect to the internet with it? Otherwise, if you have a separate modem these will do you better.
 

Mei

Mei

Soldato
Joined
3 Jan 2012
Posts
3,983
the superhub is a rebranded old netgear no?
i think its more the software on it that makes it sucky, if you turn off alot the extras it works better for us
 
Associate
Joined
5 Jun 2011
Posts
218
Location
London
Anything other than a Virgin branded one :p

I have a little Belkin router, a good make, pretty much any router that you have from them will be good.

Otherwise, any router from Asus or Netgear will be good to be honest. Here is the ADSL router section of the website, which I think you will need, because you need to be able to connect to the internet with it? Otherwise, if you have a separate modem these will do you better.

If i co for an adsl rrouter i would still need the virgin one as its a cable service?
 
Associate
Joined
14 Apr 2011
Posts
1,143
Location
Stafford
I see you have a humax box in the living room, perhaps have a look at the custom firmware that is availible for that. I have it and tbh it has so much extra stuff to the funtionality of the box that I couldnt live without it now maybe check that out :)
 
Associate
Joined
9 Jan 2010
Posts
739
Location
Sunny Brizzol
Nice work, I have put my VM "Superhub" into modem mode (which disables Firewall, Wireless etc) and I use a decent Draytek router to do everything and it works well :)
 
Associate
Joined
5 Jun 2011
Posts
218
Location
London
So finally had the delivery of a new case and WHS2011 and all is up and running now, WHS2011 is much better than i thought it would be.

img0846q.jpg


img0848xb.jpg


Have a new motherboard on the way, ASRock 775 G31M-GS R2.0 Motherboard, compatable with my existing CPU and Ram, trying to minimise costs. But looks to be a good Board the extra SATA ports will be a big help too

img0853s.jpg


Really impressed with the case, only cost £25 second had but was as good as new.

img0851l.jpg


img0933al.jpg


img0932pc.jpg
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
5 Jun 2011
Posts
218
Location
London
If anyone has any ideas of things i could do with the network next please share them! im always looking to make things better and have more things to play and tinker with!
 
Associate
Joined
5 Jun 2011
Posts
218
Location
London
2013-10-27


New house and new its all build into the loft.

Wired the house with Cat6 through out.

Now to sort out the storage in the server
 
Top Bottom