1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How do I control my EK RGB?

Discussion in 'Watercooling' started by Grim5, 17 Apr 2021.

  1. Van Diemen

    Mobster

    Joined: 8 Jan 2007

    Posts: 2,524

    Location: London & Dubai

    The node pro comes bundled with fans/led strips.

    not sure if its available on its own.
    The bay or MM is the best place to look.
     
  2. ttaskmaster

    Capodecina

    Joined: 11 Sep 2013

    Posts: 11,229

    For about £45 Aquacomputer's Farbwerk 360 has four ARGB channels, which will handle 90 LEDs each. The newer model has both four RGBpx headers and four standard 3-pin ARGB headers, so you won't even need adapters.

    Two headers will connect directly to any two of the first four devices.
    The other two headers go first into the strips and then, because you can daisy-chain those, into the remaining two devices.

    You'll also get all the other functions on both the Farbwerk, and in the Aquasuite sensor/monitoring app.
     
  3. chroniclard

    Capodecina

    Joined: 23 Apr 2014

    Posts: 20,085

    Location: Hertfordshire

    Armoury crate seemed to work ok for me, I installed it, setup the RGB (aio, 3080 and motherboard), then uninstalled it as its bloated.
     
  4. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 8,445

    Armoury doesn't let me change the color or brightness seperately for the headers - it syncs all headers and the motherboard and sets a single color and brightness for everything - and that is why i dont like it
     
  5. bcfc0703

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Aug 2013

    Posts: 54

    I've got 6 ST120 fans controlled by the bespoke Lian Li controller and thats really good. The rest on my GPU, CPU and memory are controlled by Armoury Crate but I've found it to be ok since i updated it last if that helps, it's not crashed in a long time now. Agreed it did used to be flaky as hell but better than the aura software which was utter crap
     
  6. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 8,445

    Ordered the razer rgb chroma controller

    has 6 headers, each header supports 80 led with individual led color control and per header brightness control

    Uses standard 3 pin 5v ports and software works with ekwb products
     
  7. MikeTimbers

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 18 Oct 2002

    Posts: 7,809

    Location: New Eltham, London

    are you sure about this? All my EKWB products are 12v DRGB not 5v ARGB...
     
  8. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 8,445

    well couple ekwb owners on Reddit said they are using it

    checked the product specs again for blocks and pump, all say they use 3 pin 5v for he rgb, not sure what products you have they might be older models or something

    and d-rgb and argb are interchangeable terms that mean the same thing as far as I can tell
     
  9. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,749

    Um sure prev EK block 2080S I had was four pin RGB.

    This one three pin so no choice but to sync with fans and LED strips.

    Guess it's all syncd but that choice is removed to run it white to fit in with CPU and reservoir which are always illuminated white.
     
  10. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 8,445

    From the product page, unless it's wrong:

    "D-Rgb connector standard 3 pin 5v"

    https://www.ekwb.com/shop/ek-quantum-vector-strix-rtx-3080-3090-d-rgb-nickel-plexi



    but you are right they used to use 4 pin rgb and then it looks like they switched to 3 pin on all their products launched in the last year or so
     
    Last edited: 25 Apr 2021
  11. 3t3P

    Mobster

    Joined: 20 Dec 2006

    Posts: 3,749

    They def switched. When I unplugged the 2080 block I made a note of where the RGB was going and it was too of my mobo ( I also remember routing the wire in that direction) to the four pin RGB header.

    When I saw I had a three pin my heart sank a but thinking I'd missed there were two versions available but that wasn't the case.
     
  12. Jamie Hammond

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Jun 2021

    Posts: 11

    Location: Shepperton

    Hi, I would like to know if its possible to get adapters to connect my Corsair Obsidian 1000d's LED's & my EKWB Vardar D-RGB fans to Asus Aura motherboard header?
    Would this work?
     
    Last edited: 26 Aug 2021
  13. LuckyBenski

    Soldato

    Joined: 28 Dec 2017

    Posts: 5,627

    Location: London

    Firstly I would remove the link as it's a competitor. These forums are hosted by Overclockers UK so it's not allowed to link to other sellers of the same gear :)

    It seems the EK DRGB stuff uses the same sort of connector:

    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/ek-water-blocks-ek-d-rgb-6-way-splitter-cable-wc-9vx-ek.html

    But Corsair usually have their custom 4-pin connectors so you may need an adapter for those.

    Bear in mind that splitting the connections in this way will send the same data to each set of LEDs. So you won't be able to customise the layout of colour on each device.
     
  14. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 8,445

    Ek now uses the standard 3 pin 5v connectors, these should plug directly into your motherboard header.

    Corsair uses some custom junk, you need an adapter that converts the Corsair stuff to 3 pin 5v or 4 pin 12v if your board has both types.

    He can also choose to go the reverse, install Corsair's software, get a Corsair commander pro box and wire everything through that, but he will need to buy adapters for his 3 pin ekwb stuff



    Splitting or not won't matter for him, because it's gong into the Asus motherboard he will never have per device control because Asus doesn't offer software that does that - Asus will sync all your rgb devices to look exactly the same whether you use a splitter or not

    That's why instead of going into the motherboard, I wire my devices into this https://www.razer.com/hk-en/gaming-...addressable-rgb-controller/RZ34-02140600-R3U1
     
    Last edited: 26 Aug 2021
  15. Jamie Hammond

    Associate

    Joined: 27 Jun 2021

    Posts: 11

    Location: Shepperton

    Hi thanks for the answers. @LuckyBenski my post is now edited, sorry.

    I have found out that my board has a 12v 4 pin output only, which is a shame.

    I already have one of these,
    https://www.overclockers.co.uk/ek-water-blocks-ek-d-rgb-6-way-splitter-cable-wc-9vx-ek.html, but am not using as the 14 EK fans & the pump all daisy chain quite happily.

    I bought an EK loop connect when building my system, but it has problems, & is to be RMA'd, I intend to get the new version when its released as I have the level sensor & flow sensor, but will have no controller, just the onboard PWM sockets.
    so I'm looking for something to sync both the corsair LED's & the EK fan + pump LED's to my motherboard (ROG Rampage V Edition 10, with EK monoblock) & Ram's (G.Skill Trident Z's) via armoury crate if its possible.

    I have got a Corsair commander pro box, the obsidian 1000d comes with one, I just would prefer to only be using one lighting effect controller, & I like the effects that you can create with armoury crate.


    That is exactly what I'm wanting.
     
  16. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 3,913

    Location: Planet Thanet

    There's a couple of free software I have played with
    They can control all LEDs on your system
    Regardless of different maker
    Though they may not have support for every
    Piece of hardware in existence
    But they did work with my ek, Corsair,thermaltake stuff
    Though I removed any software like icue,aura,etc
    To avoid conflict
    First ones called openrgb
    Quite effective though not the most intuitive to use
    Second ones signalrgb much more polished software
    And think it also has an option to buy version
    Which has game profiles and possibly ambient light control
    There's a third software but can't remember that one
     
  17. Grim5

    Sgarrista

    Joined: 6 Feb 2019

    Posts: 8,445


    open rgb is a bit buggy so think

    it refuses to recognise my ekwb rgb stuff that's plugged into the motherboard even after uninstalling all asus rgb software
     
  18. VersionMonkey

    Gangster

    Joined: 4 Jun 2021

    Posts: 161

    Location: Yorkshire

    It's a bit hit and miss for me, but mostly works.

    For D-RGB/addressable stuff you have to manually enter the number of individual LEDs attached to the header.
     
  19. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 3,913

    Location: Planet Thanet

    Yeah as versionmonkey said
    After much clicking I figured out it can't automatically detect
    How many individual LEDs on things
    Think I had to manually input each thing with LEDs
    Bit of a pita when got GPU,led strips, reservoir,and other led stuff
    All with addressable LEDs
    I did say it wasn't intuitive /obvious what to do
    If it works then great
    If not try signalrgb it's more polished and looks like there's
    More of a development team involved
     
  20. Mcnumpty2323

    Mobster

    Joined: 21 Dec 2019

    Posts: 3,913

    Location: Planet Thanet

    Just remembered the other one
    It has free version and paid version with more features
    Called jacknet RGB
    It's possibly a simpler or somewhat different software to signalrgb
    Or was developed first then the developer started signalrgb
    Or something along those lines
    My memory sucks buts pretty sure there's some link between
    The 2 softwares but jacknet came first