How to get into motor racing as a kid/teen - any racers on here?

Soldato
I have a son that is starting to express and interest in karting. I have no experience in this as a hobby and have only ever done casual sessions with mates. Is the best way to join a local karting club? Any advice? He is 12 years old and has to drive the small karts at teamsport due to being smaller. I have always generally written this hobby off as something that would probably cost a lot so have never looked into it properly.

What typical costs would be involved and is karting the right route?
Do kids that do it tend to race on weekends?
Is it competitive at age 12 or does it start a bit later on?
Is 12 years old too late to start?
Do you need to invest in all your own gear and kart or can you rent at clubs?

I am into motorsport myself in terms of I watch it and have done karting casually from time to time. I'm also good mechanically would probably be able to maintain the kart with no issues if we did get one.

Cheers

EDIT: Sorry should have posted in the motorsport sub forum

Last edited:
Soldato
You have to have rich parents with contacts and start very young otherwise you have no chance. Not of going to the big leagues anyway.

Until you start getting sponsorship it's super expensive to keep it up.

It's the complete contrast to something like football or rugby, where people are picked on merit alone and given support.

Caporegime
You have to have rich parents with contacts and start very young otherwise you have no chance. Not of going to the big leagues anyway.

Until you start getting sponsorship it's super expensive to keep it up.

It's the complete contrast to something like football or rugby, where people are picked on merit alone and given support.