1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to speed up Ultrabook ?

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by 2013, Sep 13, 2018.

  1. 2013

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 29, 2012

    Posts: 2,400

    Hi Guys im looking for some help,

    I have a samsung I5 ultrabook and its very slow for what it is, it take ages doing anything.

    what can I do to speed it up ?

    I've tried disk defragmentation and ccleaner.
     
  2. Puppetmaster

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 17, 2005

    Posts: 6,227

    Location: Near Brighton

    Does it have an SSD, SSHD or HDD?

    What is the full spec / model number?
     
  3. foster grant

    Soldato

    Joined: May 10, 2012

    Posts: 5,261

    Location: North London

    I have a Laptop , it's a HP , so not the same , but it was also pretty slow when I first got it, and the only thing that seemed to speed it up was to turn off indexing , rebooted and it was quite a bit faster

    I think its got an AMD A10 CPU + 8Gigs of DDR4 with a HDD, plus I shut off/ dont use system restore
     
  4. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 15,172

    Location: South Manchester

    If it's running a mechanical HDD, replace it with an SSD.
     
  5. 2013

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 29, 2012

    Posts: 2,400

    Sorry for the delay in reply

    SAMSUNG NP540U3C
    It has just a HDD

    I5 3317U 1.7GHZ
    6GB RAM

    how do i turn off indexing ?
     
  6. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,131

    Location: Surrey

    Assuming Windows 10 - right click start button, select 'run', type 'services.msc', then turn off 'superfetch'. Not sure it will make a huge difference but it's worth a go. Replacing the HDD with an SSD will undoubtedly help but only if you can clone the drive first or if you have the installation media. Most laptops have a recovery partition on the same drive.
     
  7. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 15,172

    Location: South Manchester

    If you've got a USB caddy handy then you can clone it with Macrium reflect or Acronis. There's free versions of each.
     
  8. 2013

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 29, 2012

    Posts: 2,400

    Thanks, ill try that, I can install fresh windows but I dont know how to clone and I dont think Samsung has a way to create a restore disk,

    I dont have a caddy, I did have a dock if i can find it.

    Is it not possible to create a restore disk or USB like you could in the past ?
     
  9. MagicBoy

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 15,172

    Location: South Manchester

    Dock or Caddy - same end result.

    Dunno on the recovery, depends on the laptop maker how they choose to do it. If you restore Windows 7 back from a manufacturer recovery you'll have an awful lot of updates required...
     
  10. 2013

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 29, 2012

    Posts: 2,400

    Im running windows 10 but I think it was windows 7 or 8 originally.
    Ive not found the dock yes so I may need to look for another option
     
  11. ExRayTed

    Underboss

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,131

    Location: Surrey

    If you can install fresh anyway you may as well do that. You'll just have the ball-ache of reinstalling everything after
     
  12. 2013

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 29, 2012

    Posts: 2,400

    You are right, the problem I have with reinstalling is the activation and drivers. I assume it will have a way to create factory restore usb, ill need to check to see if it has the option.
    The laptop has no key on it, so i'm assuming reinstalling windows would be a issue unless i find the original key or buy a new one.
     
  13. pandem0nium

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 5, 2010

    Posts: 2,365

    Location: Solihull

    As it's had windows 10 on it, the key will be tied to the motherboard. It'll activate fine on a clean install of the same windows version.
     
  14. Puppetmaster

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 17, 2005

    Posts: 6,227

    Location: Near Brighton

    I'd get an ssd and pick up a cheap sata to USB adapter, clone the hdd to the ssd. See how it goes on a clone, will save the hassle of reinstalling everything