How will changing mobo affect RAID?

Soldato
Joined
27 Oct 2005
Posts
13,734
Location
Netherlands
Hello,

Im perhaps changing my mainboard soon to a asus p5wdh deluxe but atm i have a raid0 array on my asus p5ld2, how can i switch mainboard w/o losing data on my raid array, its too much data for me to copy to my other discs.
Will changing mobo erase the raid stuff, as in raid bios when making a raid volume it says ill lose all data...


Full details of specs ( hdd&mobo anyhow) atm:

Asus p5ld2
4xsataII raid compatible
1x ide100
2x ide 133

1x250gb ide
1x160gb ide
1x300gb sata
2x250gb sata RAID 0


im worried about losing my data on the 2x250...
 
Man of Honour
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
25,821
Location
Glasgow
It might just transfer, you have a better chance if it is the same controller for both motherboards but you will also have to set up so it uses the same stripe size etc and basically cross your fingers I think.

I'd backup/archive as much of the data as possible because there is very little in the way of certainty that it will simply work as expected.
 
Associate
Joined
19 Jan 2005
Posts
549
Location
Legoland
Back up is the way, if you are honest about it, you'll have to back up eventually anyways, so bite the bullet and do it now. If the array still works on the new board, that's just a bonus :D
 
Man of Honour
Joined
27 Sep 2004
Posts
25,821
Location
Glasgow
snowdog said:
dont have anythign to back it up to
unless i spend 2x 60 quid for anotehr 2x250 gb.

Do you have a DVDRW drive or similar? That would do nicely albeit slowly, other than that you can always spread some of the data out amongst the remaining hard drives. I do not believe that anyone(i.e. any normal, non-business related user) can possibly have 1TB+ of data that they cannot archive in some way.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
27 Oct 2005
Posts
13,734
Location
Netherlands
No i dont have a dvdrw only a dvd-rom(dvdrw died bout a week ago and dont feel like replacing it, burning of 400 ish gig of data will take ages anyhow so not really into that), its all games, series, music and films, anyhow so no one has experience with changing mainboards with a raid array? As i want to hear it prefferably from someone who did something like this be4...
Also i cant put data on other drives because they're all practicly full, most of them just 1 or 2% free space...


To madwelsh: tbh i never ever backed up my data, i didnt have any dead hdd's in last 5 years or more, and im replacing (cloning old to new) my hdd's about every 2 years, selling the old...


Sry i realize im kinda stupid, but i just want to know if its actually possible for me to change mainboard w/o messing up raid, etc...
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
15 Aug 2005
Posts
715
snowdog said:
Sry i realize im kinda stupid, but i just want to know if its actually possible for me to change mainboard w/o messing up raid, etc...


unless you use same chipset ichr7, iam afraid you will have to split drives then rebuild using the new chipset

that's 1 of the disadvantages of using onboard raid compared to add in raid cards
 

img

img

Associate
Joined
23 Mar 2005
Posts
1,041
why have you got raid 0 array if the data is important. if one drive failed you lost it anyway.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Jul 2004
Posts
20,081
Location
Stanley Hotel, Colorado
snowdog said:
To madwelsh: tbh i never ever backed up my data, i didnt have any dead hdd's in last 5 years or more, and im replacing (cloning old to new) my hdd's about every 2 years, selling the old...

Its that time again then ? I saw 500gb drive for only 120 pounds, its all so cheap now.

I think I can remember paying that much for a gigantic 60gb drive about 6 years ago, moores law rings true again!

Raid 0 halves the MTBF btw so 2 years sounds about right for your setup
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
19 Jan 2005
Posts
549
Location
Legoland
snowdog said:
No i dont have a dvdrw only a dvd-rom(dvdrw died bout a week ago and dont feel like replacing it, burning of 400 ish gig of data will take ages anyhow so not really into that), its all games, series, music and films, anyhow so no one has experience with changing mainboards with a raid array? As i want to hear it prefferably from someone who did something like this be4...
Also i cant put data on other drives because they're all practicly full, most of them just 1 or 2% free space...


To madwelsh: tbh i never ever backed up my data, i didnt have any dead hdd's in last 5 years or more, and im replacing (cloning old to new) my hdd's about every 2 years, selling the old...


Sry i realize im kinda stupid, but i just want to know if its actually possible for me to change mainboard w/o messing up raid, etc...

The trick is to burn off weekly.. that way you never have to burn too much, and you'll only ever lose a little, (if a drive should fail) not to mention the performance increase you'll enjoy. Trust me, if you stick to weekly burning, you're laughing, you soon learn to keep folders on the desktop which you save to, then burn at 4 gigs.. I was like you once, but now I have 10 meg download speeds, even 500gig drives would fill within weeks.. At least weekly you can keep on top of it, there really isn't anything to it, you just need to learn to save your data in a better, well foldered manner.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
27 Oct 2005
Posts
13,734
Location
Netherlands
500 gb for 120- quid cheap? thats very expensive for me, also whats wrong with raid 0 if data is important, i dont think a hdd made a few months ago will die anytime soon, it are seagates 7200.10 btw.
Anyhow i suppose ill be buying a 100 pack of dvd's and a dvdrw :(.
I mean i have the prob of each time when i buy a new hdd, it gets full in like 2 months...
Shame tho if thats the only way, mainobard raid controllers should have soem option to just enable raid if its already there...
Also shame BRD is so expensive, i'd love to burn 100 gigs ( quad layer blu-ray) in one burn.
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
17 Jan 2004
Posts
2,304
Location
Liverpool
problem with that kind of media, by the time its out and cheap enough to be common, the need for storage space increases

the only example of a jump up in storage space that was actually major, was floppy to cd. that was bloody huge. going from cd to dvd - meh, not so much. now onto 25/50gig disks? same again - meh!
 
Back
Top Bottom