HP micoserver or NAS for video

Associate
Joined
30 Nov 2010
Posts
2,253
Location
UK
Hi, I'm after a way of storing around 6tb-12tb of HD video in .MKV format and some .m2ts.

I would like to be able to view it in a organised library on my TV. Ideally I also want to be able to store various other files on there and be able to access it online. I'm not sure what is the better solution NAS or the HP Micro Servers mainly because I'm unsure on what software or operating system you would need on the microsever as the NAS drives usually come with firmware. Plus are these NAS drives powerful enough to buffer 1080 video and HD sound?

Also any recommendations on a media player to connect to my TV for .MKV files?

Thanks

*Wasn't sure if this section or Servers was the best place for this thread*

There was a post in the Desk and Room gallery with exactly what I'm after.

IMG_3735.jpg


IMG_3715.jpg


These are my two HP microservers bot running unraid and both have 10TB of space each, so 20TB of storage in all. Great for storing all of my Blu-ray rips, documents and photos.
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
21 Jul 2007
Posts
763
Location
Cheshire
I am thinking about the same sort of thing but from what I've learnt so far, the micro server route offers much better value for money but obviously requires more DIY setting up and if you go the NAS route, then unless you are using an amp or tv with DLNA then you will need a streamer such as a WDTV live or ATV etc.
 
Soldato
Joined
25 Nov 2004
Posts
3,754
In terms of a NAS I am running the exact same setup as above. HP Mcroserver N36L with 6 x 2TB drives and running unRAID. Does exactly what you need or expect from a NAS and never falters. Large thread over in servers detailing exactly how to do this aspect of your scenario:

http://forums.overclockers.co.uk/showthread.php?t=18216324

As for a player/streamer unit I use an HTPC running XBMC and 7MC (For satellite decoding - another HP Microserver actually) in the lounge and an ATV2 with XBMC in the bedroom. Ticks all the boxes for me!
 
Associate
Joined
13 Oct 2005
Posts
748
As everyone has mentioned above, have a look at the threads that are linked. Its easy to set up a HP microserver and is also the cheaper and more powerful than an off the shelf NAS. My set up above compromises of a HP microserver with unraid as the os, and the software on my htpc is XBMC which displays all of my mkv's with info and cover art. If you need any help or have questions then just ask :)
 
Soldato
Joined
1 Sep 2007
Posts
5,416
Not to highjack....but with the microserver, Can you turn it off....add a disk....and it just adds the space like the netgear X-Raid stuff? Thats all Im after in a NAS...disk 1 to start cheap...add a disk to get redundancy...add another disk to upp the size...and so on. Possible?
 
Soldato
Joined
7 Feb 2004
Posts
7,893
Location
North East
Not to highjack....but with the microserver, Can you turn it off....add a disk....and it just adds the space like the netgear X-Raid stuff? Thats all Im after in a NAS...disk 1 to start cheap...add a disk to get redundancy...add another disk to upp the size...and so on. Possible?

Depends what OS you run, but yes, some of the lightweight NAS linux OS can do that and I believe WHS does that too.
 
Associate
Joined
14 May 2009
Posts
1,199
Location
South East London
At the moment I use a nas and it streams fine (1080p HD files), I just ordered a few bits tho and will be setting home a storage server to hopeful replace them in a few months tho.
 
Soldato
Joined
25 Nov 2004
Posts
3,754
Not to highjack....but with the microserver, Can you turn it off....add a disk....and it just adds the space like the netgear X-Raid stuff? Thats all Im after in a NAS...disk 1 to start cheap...add a disk to get redundancy...add another disk to upp the size...and so on. Possible?

Yes as said it depends entirely on the OS you choose to run. This is the precise reason I chose to run unRAID as its extremely versatile in this respect.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
30 Nov 2010
Posts
2,253
Location
UK
Thanks for all the help and links, I went for a HP Microserver while theres cash back. Now just need to do the rest of my research in those links. Thanks again
 
Caporegime
Joined
20 Oct 2004
Posts
25,606
Location
....
I'll be doing the same soon, going with an old PC with a few TBs to begin with running XBMC.
 
Associate
Joined
6 Aug 2010
Posts
492
Location
Aberdeen
I have one of these with ubuntu server running on it (as free).

I use serviio media streamer to supply media to my PS3. The serviio media server has a nice client/daemon setup so I can control it from my PC.
 
Associate
Joined
13 Oct 2005
Posts
748
Not to highjack....but with the microserver, Can you turn it off....add a disk....and it just adds the space like the netgear X-Raid stuff? Thats all Im after in a NAS...disk 1 to start cheap...add a disk to get redundancy...add another disk to upp the size...and so on. Possible?

With a copy of unraid you can do that. You can have different size disks, and add in new ones as you go along. You can even take an old disk out and replace it with a bigger one without losing data.
 
Soldato
Joined
29 Jul 2004
Posts
6,384
Location
West London
I had a Synology DS411j and it was pretty good but after a few months I ended up getting rid and using a Microserver which is excellent!

Microserver is running WHS 2011 + FlexRaid, with 7TB of storage.

Uses Sabnzbd and Sickbeard, and streams to my Revo (bedroom) and the PS3 (living room) without any issues!

The only issue I have is that I cannot access Sabnzbd and Sickbeard from other computers on the same network. That is something to do with Firewalls but haven't really bothered checking.
 
Soldato
Joined
19 Jan 2006
Posts
14,660
agree with the above - i knocked up a server from old bits and odds and ends on the members market.

Running W7 and streams/stores/hosts etc everything i need. outside the costs of the disks, i think it was about £100 to knock together.
 
Associate
Joined
13 Oct 2005
Posts
748
Hi, my htpc is running windows 7 and I have it to start XBMC after 1 minute. XBMC allows me to organise my bluray rips (MKV's) and it will download all of the cover art and film info for me. I control it all with a Harmony One which keeps things simple for me and my girlfriend. If people are more interested I can knock up a video of it in action?

Here's some pics of the menu in action.

IMG_3731.jpg


IMG_3734.jpg


IMG_3729.jpg


As you can see, it makes film rips user friendly and easier to navigate.
 
Last edited:
Top Bottom