1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm clueless build...or first build in 30 years

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Ric678, Feb 8, 2020.

  1. Joxeon

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 15, 2019

    Posts: 888

    Location: Uk

    You might need to update the bios with bios flashback before it will work with ryzen 3rd gen though I'm not sure if this applies to 3rd gen apu's if that's even what you have?
     
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2020
  2. Ric678

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 8, 2020

    Posts: 22

    Location: South Mimms

    Bios worked out of the box, I guess it’s newer stock so it’s already updated.
    Only issue was the WiFi not working properly, I’m on now wired to my hub checking for driver updates and such
     
  3. Ric678

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 8, 2020

    Posts: 22

    Location: South Mimms

    Pics.... everyone likes pics....
    naked board
    [​IMG]
    cpu and ram
    [​IMG]
    fan also
    [​IMG]
    little fiddly screws
    [​IMG]
    horrible pic... but it lives
    [​IMG]
     
  4. Ric678

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 8, 2020

    Posts: 22

    Location: South Mimms

    now for a really stupid problem....
    When I go to the bios page it has a wonky display

    [​IMG]

    it looks nothing like what I've seen on MSI or online

    [​IMG]

    that second pic was a video I was watching about setting up
     
  5. Joxeon

    Hitman

    Joined: Oct 15, 2019

    Posts: 888

    Location: Uk

    The non max boards only have a 16meg bios chip so they had to cut down on the flashyness to fit in support for ryzen 3000, the new max boards got a 32meg bios chip upgrade to they retain the looks.
     
  6. Ric678

    Associate

    Joined: Feb 8, 2020

    Posts: 22

    Location: South Mimms

    bummer