I'm going to die if I don't find a monitor soon!

Associate
Yep... it's called... die of head exploding from looking for 2 and half months at monitors yet getting 2 crappy ones and sending them back only to be left with nothing. That's actually the name of the illness I am currently suffering with. :(

Basically. I play games, quite regular. I don't buy tons of games but I like to play my current games longer, so based on the fact that I don't buy 20 games a month, doesn't mean I can put up with OK-ish quality. I have a good eye, an I notice things easily. Likewise, I watch blu-rays on my PS3, and I also play games on my PC. This is cause for problems, as I need a good all rounder but can't afford to spend more than £210 - not only that of course but £210 will only end up buying you the worst quality chinese tv tech imagineable.

A few weeks back I got a Samsung Syncmaster XL2370HD (one of the same, two naff-o monitors, because they turn themselves on when they feel). It fit my criteria nicely. It had great imagery. Good response. No ghosting. Great colour reproduction. Practically no input lag and speakers... which meant the PS3 could have the internal good quality speakers (bass distortion on GT5 at level Vol. 21+ tho), whilst the PC could have the Logitech X-230s. Sadly, the screen turned itself on multiple times throughout the night trying to connect to DVI - when my PC was off. In the end, I had to unplug the monitor just to get sleep. I asked Samsung about it and they said it was a fault so I contacted the buyer and had it sent back. I had a replacement shipped (same TV/Monitor), an this one, though having more responsive touch panel buttons, suffered the same problem - not to mention the slightest tap on the desk resulted in about 10 seconds of nasty plasticy squeaking.