1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Imperator: Rome (Paradox's Next Grand Strategy Title)

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by Random Guy Esq., May 19, 2018.

  1. No1newts

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 24, 2009

    Posts: 19,256

    Location: North East

    I'll be heading that way soon as I'm not particularly sure how I will cope in a full land war with Carthage so avoiding it right now, should maul them but being cautious. My standing army is around 250k, could almost certainly add another 80-100k and still make more than 50g a turn which I would do if I am to tangle with Carthage.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2019
  2. Smokey Deza

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 11, 2011

    Posts: 1,304

    How have you handled all your captured pops? I have nearly 70 slaves in Rome but I'm not moving them all it's too costly, so I have the constant starving notification.

    You would crush Carthage with all that manpower.
     
  3. HungryHippos

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 25, 2004

    Posts: 7,029

    Location: Fareham

    70? That's rookie numbers. Had over 800 in my first game lol.
     
  4. No1newts

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 24, 2009

    Posts: 19,256

    Location: North East

    I must admit I struggle with population in Rome as well, I cap out around 70/72 slaves before I have to use Civic power to share them among that region. No idea how @HungryHippos got 800 in one place, do you use slaves in other provinces in Latvium to stack up more food production?

    Only reason I can sustain 70 is by using all my Roma trade routes on more food :(
     
  5. HungryHippos

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 25, 2004

    Posts: 7,029

    Location: Fareham

    The pops decrease by a few % a month, so you just need to steal them more quickly then you lose them :)

    Does increase unrest a bit in the province though, I kind of just ignored that though.
     
  6. No1newts

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 24, 2009

    Posts: 19,256

    Location: North East

    It was starvation not happiness that I couldn't cope with.
     
  7. No1newts

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 24, 2009

    Posts: 19,256

    Location: North East

    Has there been some sort of update overnight?

    Logged off last night, came back in on my Rome game and my government type has completely changed? :confused:

    All my advisers have disapeared, my ruler is now called _ruler and it is messed up :p

    Be annoyed if it is a bug as the game was going great :(
     
  8. Pudney

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2005

    Posts: 5,172

    Location: Essex

    I think 1.0.1 patch may have been released.
     
  9. No1newts

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 24, 2009

    Posts: 19,256

    Location: North East

    If that was a patch put me down in the vexed column for its impact as it has quite simply destroyed my Rome save, no more consul, some sort of random ruler with pretenders to throne and I can no longer get some basic government functionality.

    Pfft.

    From the forums, marvellous. 40 hours on a save and it is down the drain, I'm actually rather ****** off as I was doing so well and feel like I've wasted my time now.
     
  10. Pudney

    Soldato

    Joined: Sep 6, 2005

    Posts: 5,172

    Location: Essex

    You can roll back to previous patches to continue saves.

    https://forum.paradoxplaza.com/foru...hecksum-4a73-not-for-problem-reports.1173453/

     
  11. No1newts

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 24, 2009

    Posts: 19,256

    Location: North East

  12. HungryHippos

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 25, 2004

    Posts: 7,029

    Location: Fareham

    Yes I was going to say just roll the game back until you finish the save.
     
  13. Andr3w

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 6, 2004

    Posts: 19,133

    Location: England

    I just don't understand the POP system. Am I supposed to aim for an even spread across all of them in a city? Should I aim for more citizens and less slaves? I just don't know.
     
  14. HungryHippos

    Soldato

    Joined: Mar 25, 2004

    Posts: 7,029

    Location: Fareham

    Focus citizens for more research.

    Freemen for manpower.

    Slaves for cash and more goods produced (each X slaves in a city add another +1 to the resource the city produces).

    Tribesmen are a cross between Freemen and Slaves, do a bit of both, but ultimately better to switch them to one or the other eventually.

    Happy pops output more, so wrong culture/religion aren't very useful or productive to you, and the more pops you have in general the slower your research will be.

    Pops in your capital province output more.

    Pops in your capital city output even more.
     
  15. Darujhistan

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 28, 2011

    Posts: 3,429


    Make sure you've got at least 1 slave pop in every city, because 1 slave pop produces as much 15 pops, and you don't get 2 units of production until you hit 16 slave pops. Pops really isn't a very good or engaging ssyem, like a lot of the game it seems like a palceholder for later gamer development. It sounds like they stopped working on features a while ago and made suire they had a build that worked, which it does. It's just bare-bones.
     
  16. No1newts

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 24, 2009

    Posts: 19,256

    Location: North East

    I focus on Citizens and Slaves as manpower tends to deal with itself through other modifiers.

    To make absurd money I just find hitting the right amount of slaves to produce 2 of goods in a province works wonders as you then get a load of trade deals and they generate between 0.8-1.3g p/m, times that by 10 or so and the money just rolls in.
     
  17. suenstar

    Hitman

    Joined: May 14, 2011

    Posts: 641

    Location: Cornwall, England

    I think I may have reached a bit of a dead end on my Albania campaign... or at least an extremely long period where I can't make any progress.
    I ignored the loyalty of my generals for a little bit too long and now I can't move their armies and they don't want to fight for me in wars, so I either have to sit at peace for a stupidly long time while I restore their loyalties or go into huge debt by raising a new army.

    Going to give the country a couple of years to recover in the current game before I scrap it and restart... I'm determined to continue playing as a Migratory Tribe in that region with the goal to form Persia though.
     
  18. Tombstone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2007

    Posts: 17,088

    I've no idea whats changed in this patch, but I've restarted since the patch and I cant even defeat my nearest neighbour anymore. Have restarted almost a dozen times now and every single time I lose the fight with him, doesnt matter what I do, I lose the fight every time. Even my stack of fresh 22k against his stack of 14k lost. Before the patch I beat this neighbour within the first 12 months of play without a problem.
     
  19. No1newts

    Capodecina

    Joined: May 24, 2009

    Posts: 19,256

    Location: North East

    I've found that the army tactics seem to matter a little but more now, the default army tactic had me working around 34% to optimal, a different tactic had me at 68% or so and much better position to win.

    I tried starting a game as Egypt and it is a nightmare in terms of fighting wars in desert, moving across the desert I lost around 15k troops through fatigue.
     
  20. philstanbridge

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,837

    Location: West Coast of Scotland

    I like the look of this, but I'm so glad I held firm and didn't buy. There are so many complaints, both on Steam and their forum. I imagine in a year or two it will be where it should be. EUIV on the other hand is very good, and will keep me entertained for a while yet.. But how long has that taken to get where it is now...