1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

is the Aerocool CS-102 a good case to work in?

Discussion in 'Case Central' started by ExoMale, Aug 12, 2018.

  1. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 3,072

    Location: Gloucestershire

    this one for those that might not know.

    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £33.49 (includes shipping: £10.50) ​
    [​IMG]

    i just ordered it through prime , i like Aerocool stuff, but i do wonder how good some of their cases are, so have i made a good purchase?

    its not going to have a gaming system inside it, but i figured it was better to buy this brand than a CiT model for similar price ha...
     
  2. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,557

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    pretty much the same as CiT... will be thin flexible steel, possibly bad motherboard fixing, not much cable management room and looks like finger print magnet on the front. Will be fine as long your not cramming it full of high end components, and it will be light as a feather
     
  3. ChugNorris

    OcUK Staff

    Joined: Nov 26, 2014

    Posts: 1,826

    Location: Stoke

    It's not great. But you get what you paid for. The Kolink Stronghold would be a much better experience for a little more cash.
     
  4. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 3,072

    Location: Gloucestershire

    thanks for replies.

    yeah thats fair enough, i dont expect too much from cheap cases like this, that SFF one i currently have seems of good quality and wasnt much more in price, but anyways the case arrived today and its a lot smaller than i thought for an M-atx case, the top does attract finger prints, i havent taken the film off the front yet, ive had CiT cases and other cheap cases of lesser brands, so im not bothered about that, as for the cable management it does seem fair for what it is.

    well the idea was to get this case and build a general system inside it for my mums partner to try out over his aging q6600 xps 420, but as the case is so small it will fit nicely on my desk like my slim case does, so im going to cram my system inside it with the addition of an atx psu of course, so aside from maybe changing gpu again, nothing high end will be in it really lol.
     
  5. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,557

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    I used one of these in my mums work pc and that's just a core2duo, runs windows 10 fine with 120gb SSD. only uses office and sage, its atx so bit bigger but easy to build in with minimal components

    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £43.09 (includes shipping: £11.10) ​
    [​IMG]
     
  6. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 3,072

    Location: Gloucestershire

    okay cool thanks for that, i wont be changing cases again after this as this will suit me just fine, but that sort of case be ideal to build in for a family friend who likes atx size cases(less bending down to power on etc lol).
     
  7. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,557

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    heres a pic i took at the time, the only cable management is a channel to the right of the motherboard, there is no real space behind the motherboard area

    [​IMG]
     
  8. Grandmaster Fap!

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Jan 10, 2004

    Posts: 8,892

    Location: T'Northwest

  9. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 3,072

    Location: Gloucestershire

    thanks for reply. since i made this thread i have been using the case and my cable management is nowhere near as neat as yours, but working for me lol and i see you mouted your hdd different..

    [​IMG]




    as nice as that is, too big for my liking, this cs101 is a bit small in the sense of the gpu options, its only 1mm more than my elite 110 cube, so i am thinking of finding a similar size case that has more space for longer cards.



    this is my setup and this is what i like, so any new case has to fit within the dimensions of my desk, dont want anything on the floor anymore

    [​IMG]




    this case has caught my eye, but i think it be too big for my desk.

    My basket at Overclockers UK:
    Total: £60.49 (includes shipping: £10.50) ​
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,557

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    looks fine, it would always be tight. remember I put a MATX motherboard in an ATX case, and only one hard drive. that gives a bit more space. Worth getting some assorted cable ties, as you can really pull the cables out the way and tight together. your cpu has a clear run to the exhaust fan , so all good
     
  11. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,557

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    ps do you need all your PSU cables, what does the top right one plug into, looks Extra CPU or overclocking power,
     
  12. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 3,072

    Location: Gloucestershire

    thanks for reply.

    yeah ive decided to hold on to the case for now as its just right for what i want plus ive got to stop spending so much money on computer bits lol.

    theres a bit more airflow in this with my cables like that than i had in my elite 110 which also had 2 hdds on top and a single ssd on the side where as this time for now its a 2 drive system, but yeah i do need tidy them up a bit more, sort of used those little black things that you might get cables tied up with from shop and sort of tucked some cabling behind the cage, it wasnt the best angle to take the pic, it was running and sie panel with fan was against the wall.

    as for the cable amount, i have the CPU, motherboard, at least one sata and the molex for the standard case fan(added a new one to the panel which is 3 pin unlike stock one), i think you might think its a lot with how the design is because while im not sure on all modular units, the motherboard cable has 2 plugs for the unit itself. i quickly put it all in so i could setup and use it, once i change my gpu i will do a better job.
     
  13. Vapo Reaper

    Gangster

    Joined: Jan 21, 2010

    Posts: 102

    lol could not agree more!
     
  14. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 3,072

    Location: Gloucestershire

    this thread is old now in terms of date i posted, but funny the CiT brand were mentioned and me saying i will put the case on hold, i took delivery of this friday and built my system in to it yesterday, still a mess with the cables :rolleyes:, but fed most of them through the cable tidy holes and all cables are clear of the fans.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]


    CiT F3, it was £28 with prime, so not much more than what the cs-102 is now, but much better case, i would say the led fans are quiet, but my artic fan ive installed is louder to notice lol, keeping my aerocool as a spare, but im liking this nice budget cases.
     
  15. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,557

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

  16. ExoMale

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 9, 2016

    Posts: 3,072

    Location: Gloucestershire

    that is nice, but those are too big for me, i dont like atx cases which is why i dont bother looking, im happy with my cases i do buy, might be looking to change my elite 110 for the core v1 itx for the fact of the separate chamber for the psu, but that might depend if i ever replace my AM1.
     
  17. Kurgen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 10, 2015

    Posts: 1,557

    Location: Hungerford, UK, Earth

    just wondered what do you use your PC for?