Javascript frameworks

Associate
Looking for a bit of advice, I know know enough Rails to knock up some web apps, I understand MVC and getting data in and out. I have used jQuery sparingly for conditionals on hiding and showing links depending on the date.

I think its time to now look at some front end js frameworks however I have a few questions.

As I have never used one before I dont really know when I would use one instead of just using RoR or Laravel.

I have looked at vue.js and can see it looks clean to write.

I think the main question is how do I get in to this... how could I incorporate a small part of one into an existing project?

Also which would you say look at first

Associate
From a job marketplace standpoint I would say JQuery is the most requested, therefore I would look at that first:

http://www.w3schools.com/jquery/

I would use it when it provides the most elegant and efficient way of doing something you need.

jquery is a library, not a framework. The OP has already mentioned it. It is being actively deprecated.

i'd recommend AngularJS, Angular2, React.

Associate
OP
Thanks I know a bit of jQuery for doing hide and show and bit of animations.
It was more a question of angular, ember, react, vue and how I would put this into my workflow?
At the moment I have never used them as I have not needed to use them or know why I would use them

Soldato
Of those, Angular is the one I've seen mentioned most often. Therefore, I would look at this first. It has a pretty good explanation of what it's for on its home page:

https://angularjs.org/

It has a more elegant and instant binding model, and looks more like HTML and is therefore easier to read for functionality.

Associate
Look at any latest gen framework such as React, Aurelia or Angular2 and you'll not see jQuery there. If you're new to html and js do something simple in jQuery first, there will be plenty of jobs for existing code bases which utilize jQuery anyhow.

Associate