Looking for some advice on a home cinema setup

Associate
Hi all,

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to audio so I'm hoping I can get some advice from you guys!

I'm in the process of setting up a projector & screen in my living room. The screen is going by the main window in the room where the current TV setup is (with a basic 2:1 sound system).

The project will be mounted above the sofa on the wall opposite.

I'm not a fan of cables..so is there a reasonable audio setup for my home cinema that is affordable (around £500) and limits the amount of cables going around the living room?

I do like the idea of a soundbar but I believe they're not very popular!

Thank you

Last edited:
For £500 you'll be looking at a wireless soundbar. But you'll need power to the speakers, or if they're rechargable, need to recharge them.
Forget good quality seperates, 5.1, and a AVR for £500.

Possible to get a ok stereo system for £500, and since front wall/two speakers minimal cables and routing. That'll have superior sound quality to a soundbar, but won't have the rear surround FX and panning of a 5.1 AVR/soundbar setup. But it'll allow you upgrade or add as needed, ie to go from stereo to 2.1/2.2, or replace/add a AVR to move to proper seperates.

But at £500 surround just get a soundbar. They're ok but generally the sub is the weak area, usually just cheap and nasty boom boxes, 8" woofer, 40hz porting etc..

I've listened to a Q Acoustics 2.1 soundbar, I found it very impressive for the price, as long as turn down the sub and I would be perfectly happy with that in a bedroom system.

Best to go richer sounds and have a demo of a soundbar and a budget 5.1 speaker /avr, and ask what cabling is needed for both.

I thought so! I just saw the new Sony Wireless Speakers for £2.5k :D

That's an option for sure but as you said no rear surround & cables will be required which is something I'd like to avoid if possible.