1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Maxtor Problem

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by Gav, 16 May 2006.

  1. Gav

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,376

    Location: Republic of Scotland

    I got a hold of a Maxtor 6300f0 DiamondMax 10 300gb Sata3.0Gb drive to use as a files store on my main pc:

    P4 3.0
    Abit IC7-Max3
    2GB PC3200

    All was going fine, the computer booted up, found the new drive etc. I went into administrative tools>computer management>disk management and set up the drive, formatted it and proceeded to move about 10 gb of files over from my existing drives. All was going fine... Then

    I did a reboot and the computer went into a cycle of shutting down then restarting. It did it about 5 times before i did an F8 and went into safemode.

    Now the only way to get the computer to start is to unplug the drive. It then boots up into windows fine. Otherwise i have to leave it connected and go into safe mode.

    Any ideas?
     
  2. Gav

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,376

    Location: Republic of Scotland

    Also found out that if i boot into safe mode and disable the Silicon Image 3114, which the drive is connected to, the coputer will boot fine. I can then go into device manager and activate the 3114 and then go into administrative tools>computer management>disk management and re-activate the drive. Now its all working fine.

    Until i reboot when i have to do the same thing again.

    :confused:
     
  3. james32

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Aug 2005

    Posts: 715

    drive wont work correctly on intel ich5 because of NCQ, but it should work ok on silicon image, nothing you can do but get a newer motherboard

    i had the p4c800 deluxe had problems with NCQ drives on the intel chipset
    they worked for a couple of weeks then i would loose drive contents.
     
  4. Gav

    Wise Guy

    Joined: 21 Oct 2002

    Posts: 1,376

    Location: Republic of Scotland

    should it work ok if i get a PCI sata card or am i still likely to have problems.
     
  5. james32

    Hitman

    Joined: 15 Aug 2005

    Posts: 715

    they should work on Silicon Image 3114 as this controller doesnt enable
    ncq, i could get NCQ drives to work on my asus p4c800 e deluxe only on the promise controller wich is basicly the same as your Silicon Image.