*** Microsoft Windows 11 Thoughts & Discussion Thread ***

Associate
Joined
24 Sep 2020
Posts
505
Location
Nott'm
Id love to upgrade to Windows 11, but Im not one that likes upgrading current OS as it feel like it mess about some stuff (going by my experience going from Windows 7 to 10 anyway) but im too lazy to spend time getting all my programs back and installed :D
 

JRS

JRS

Soldato
Joined
6 Jun 2004
Posts
18,199
Location
Burton-on-Trent
Id love to upgrade to Windows 11, but Im not one that likes upgrading current OS as it feel like it mess about some stuff (going by my experience going from Windows 7 to 10 anyway) but im too lazy to spend time getting all my programs back and installed :D

Aside from the Win11-specific annoyances the upgrade went smoothly here. No reinstalling anything, no having to re-alter default programs.
 
Associate
Joined
27 Feb 2004
Posts
2,371
Location
Kent
Question - I don't want to upgrade to Win 11 yet and only one of the 4 family PCs seem capable of it. Should I upgrade the only one that will upgrade - or leave well alone for now??

My newest on (B550 motherboard bought last year / AMD Ryzen 3600) seems capable of it (UEFI firmware, Secure Boot capable. TPM Trusted Platform Module (TPM) version 2.0. capable) BUT it is not currently running secure boot or with TPM activated.

I have read how to activate these from the BIOS for my one capable PC but am unsure what will happen to my windows 10 installation on this PC if all I do is turn the secure boot and TPM security features (as a test) but DO NOT install Win 11. Will this mess up my windows 10 installation and my current "sharing" across the other family PCs? (As the other 3 pcs never will be Win 11 capable.)

Advice please? Thanks, Mel
 
Caporegime
Joined
9 Aug 2008
Posts
30,249
Location
127.0.0.1
I just did another PC - legacy mode this time. Worked brilliantly, all drivers installed no problems at all this time. I then converted it to UEFI mode, rebooted enabled UEFI and it just worked.

Fab!
 

mrk

mrk

Man of Honour
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
90,771
Location
South Coast
Can you still get windows updates if you bypass the installation? I'm sure I read somewhere that you will not receive updates.

You read nowhere that you won't receive them lol. What you did read was the statement from an MS page that you're not "entitled" to updates. Strong use of specific wording. Nowhere does anything say you will not receive updates. They have to say not entitled because you are accepting the bypass method and installing it on something they officially don't class as supported even though it very much is and will continue to be - So to cover their backs and turn anyone who may have an issue at some point away, they will just say "its in the rules, fix it yourself" if you contact MS support one day.

All updates via WU are continuing to happen for everyone.

Either way, Windows Update isn't the only way to install Windows Updates and it's been like this since Windows Update has been a thing.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Dec 2003
Posts
6,202
Location
Intel HQ
You read nowhere that you won't receive them lol. What you did read was the statement from an MS page that you're not "entitled" to updates. Strong use of specific wording. Nowhere does anything say you will not receive updates. They have to say not entitled because you are accepting the bypass method and installing it on something they officially don't class as supported even though it very much is and will continue to be - So to cover their backs and turn anyone who may have an issue at some point away, they will just say "its in the rules, fix it yourself" if you contact MS support one day.

All updates via WU are continuing to happen for everyone.

Either way, Windows Update isn't the only way to install Windows Updates and it's been like this since Windows Update has been a thing.

I didn't have tpm fw enabled either in Windows 10, enabled it booted to Windows 10 fine, ran the check tool and installed

No issues at all
 

mrk

mrk

Man of Honour
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
90,771
Location
South Coast
I guess what all this has highlighted is the massive amount of confusion MS has created only to go ahead and provide an official bypass after the day of release lol.
 
Permabanned
Joined
12 Jan 2021
Posts
1,728
i have it on my laptop not any of my desktops at home or work, it runs ok.
i dont understand the hard on for it and all the hassle it can give on install.
 
Associate
Joined
18 Oct 2011
Posts
2,131
I guess what all this has highlighted is the massive amount of confusion MS has created only to go ahead and provide an official bypass after the day of release lol.

Yeah was definitely a strange move.
 
Soldato
Joined
8 Jun 2005
Posts
8,219
Location
United Kingdom
This has probably been asked but 43 pages is a lot to search through.

I was going to upgrade to Win 11 tonight but Win Update displayed "This PC doesn't currently meet all the system requirements for Windows 11". I've since ran the Health Check app and found out I needed to enable TPM 2.0 which I've done, and updated the BIOS to the latest version also. The problem now is that Win Update still displays the same message despite the Health Check app now giving the all clear and TPM 2.0 being enabled.

I've checked online and found this as it's apparently a known problem, but I'm wondering if anyone here found a way to get around it. Ideally I don't want to download the ISO and do a complete install.
 
Joined
10 Jan 2004
Posts
9,737
Location
Poland
This has probably been asked but 43 pages is a lot to search through.

I was going to upgrade to Win 11 tonight but Win Update displayed "This PC doesn't currently meet all the system requirements for Windows 11". I've since ran the Health Check app and found out I needed to enable TPM 2.0 which I've done, and updated the BIOS to the latest version also. The problem now is that Win Update still displays the same message despite the Health Check app now giving the all clear and TPM 2.0 being enabled.

I've checked online and found this as it's apparently a known problem, but I'm wondering if anyone here found a way to get around it. Ideally I don't want to download the ISO and do a complete install.

Had the same problem, i downloaded 11 to USB and ran it from desktop to just upgrade, worked fine :)
 
Don
Joined
21 Oct 2002
Posts
46,518
Location
Parts Unknown
So two things they've finally fixed..

(this was fixed a few months ago in Windows 10 also)
Now in Notepad, when you press CTRL + backspace, it deletes the whole word instead of inserting an invalid character.


Snipping Tool file extensions are now saved in lowercase instead of uppercase.


I've reported both of these about 20 times to MS since the early Longhorn previews of Vista.



My only gripe so far with Windows 11 is not being able to tick a box or reg entry that says 'always display all taskbar items', now you have to manually set them; annoying.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
13 Oct 2006
Posts
81,713
I guess the updates servers are under load due to Windows 11 or something - got 2 Windows 10 machines where the Windows Update page is just a blank white page with the progress dots constantly going left to right at the top and never doing anything while putting a constantly slight load on the CPU... short of messing about killing services, etc. not much I can do to stop it. This is why forced automatic updates are stupid.

K83MwYw.png

EDIT: On the plus side while monitoring it I discovered one of the machines has a memory leak (probably due to the Intel GPU driver) in DWM yay :( now to try and solve that issue...
 
Last edited:
Top