1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Mobo doesn't see M2 drive

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by Snapshot, Aug 26, 2018.

  1. Snapshot

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2006

    Posts: 3,729

    Location: Wiltshire

    I'm building a completely new PC and the mobo doesn't see the M2 drive in either of its on-board slots The mobo is an Asus ROG Strix H370-I Gaming and it's up and running with an i5-8600T and 2 x 8GB of Corsair Vengeance 2400 LDX. The M2 is a Samsung PM981 256GB which I believe is the OEM version of the 960 Evo. (I'm sure I ordered a 960 Evo but that's not what's on the order.) I've tried the M2 in both top and bottom slots of the mobo but it just isn't seen as being there at all. The M2 gets warm when the mobo is running so it's obviously drawing power.

    Unfortunately I don't have another M2 to test the mobo or suitable mobo to test the M2 as this is my first-up-to-date build for a few years. Oh, I have updated the mobo BIOS.

    So is there something I don't know about M2 SSDs that I need to do to get it recognised or have I got a duff one?
     
  2. Delta3D

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 16, 2014

    Posts: 394

    Location: Durham, UK

    Can you see a setting for "M.2 and SATA Express Mode Configuration" in your BIOS?

    If it's there try setting it to M.2
     
  3. Snapshot

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2006

    Posts: 3,729

    Location: Wiltshire

    Thanks for the suggestion but that's not an available option. There are loads of PCH options I don't understand but nothing that looks useful under PCH Storage. I switched it from OPTANE/RAID to AHCI but it still reports M.2_1 as empty.
     
  4. Delta3D

    Gangster

    Joined: Apr 16, 2014

    Posts: 394

    Location: Durham, UK

    Can you see an option for CSM (Compatibility Support Module) anywhere? Try settings this to disabled if you can :)
     
  5. HoneyBadger

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 2, 2016

    Posts: 2,042

    Location: Hoo, Kent

    Do you have other drives connected? If so, try removing them. Some motherboards disable slots when SATA drives are connected.
     
  6. Snapshot

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2006

    Posts: 3,729

    Location: Wiltshire

    I had to pack everything away for a bit as Mrs S demanded the dining room table back. ;)
    I'll check for a CSM option when I can get back to the table. I'm sourcing another, different M.2 drive to pin things down and it should arrive on Friday.
    I didn't have another other drives attached initially but tried an external SSD just to check that it was recognised.
     
  7. Snapshot

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 11, 2006

    Posts: 3,729

    Location: Wiltshire

    Access to another mobo and M.2 drive proved that my drive was indeed DOA and it will be on its way back to my supplier tomorrow.