Modem in new operating system

Associate
Joined
30 May 2005
Posts
104
Hi - just thought I'd see what people thought. Have bought new hard drive due to space issues, and thought I might as well change to Windows 7 as I'd have to reinstall anything...

Now, I've currently got an Alcatel Speedtouch PCI modem - which has always worked really well for me. I don't really want to change to a wireless system particularly, if I can help it, and want to keep it going. Do you think it'll work ok with windows 7? The only drivers which are available are for XP. Is a modem a type of device or program which can be run in XP mode in windows 7 if the XP drivers don't work?

Any thoughts/experiences much appreciated.
 
Soldato
Joined
21 Feb 2006
Posts
5,647
Location
Home
Windows 7 might already have the drivers to install. If not, why not just use a normal modem/router and connect via ethernet?

:confused:
 

J.B

J.B

Soldato
Joined
16 Aug 2006
Posts
5,922
Windows 7 might already have the drivers to install. If not, why not just use a normal modem/router and connect via ethernet?

This. On both counts. Windows 7 has a fairly sizeable driver database anyway but if its not included a router and ethernet cable is a better way of doing it anyway. You get the added security of NAT and the ability to add more devices at a later date if you want to. For the sake of ~£30 for an entry level router I think its worth it.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Jan 2004
Posts
12,197
Location
Inverness
There is always the Upgrade Advisor which will actually tell you if it's likely to work or not. I do agree with J.B however, it's time to leave the dedicated modem behind.
 
Associate
Joined
8 Sep 2009
Posts
394
This. On both counts. Windows 7 has a fairly sizeable driver database anyway but if its not included a router and ethernet cable is a better way of doing it anyway. You get the added security of NAT and the ability to add more devices at a later date if you want to. For the sake of ~£30 for an entry level router I think its worth it.


go with this

i didnt realise people still used built in modems

what are the specs for the rest of your machine?
 

J.B

J.B

Soldato
Joined
16 Aug 2006
Posts
5,922
i didnt realise people still used built in modems

They never really took off for ADSL. I guess it had something to do with the ISPs wanting to up their sales of broadband packages (going back 10 years here) so they would bundle a modem in with for those who are not capable of buying or installing a PCI card correctly. With things like USB pretty much everywhere back then it probably seemed like a smart move.

I remember looking at an ADSL modem to go in my machine but I cant remember why I didnt get it, possibly a compatability issue with AOL :rolleyes:

I dont think I've ever actually seen an ADSL PCI modem in use.
 
Associate
Joined
30 May 2005
Posts
104
Hi - thanks for the thoughts - I'm not really keen on a wireless router, and my adsl pci modem which works at up to 8mb/s is fine for me as that's all plusnet can manage in any case!
Hopefully when I come to put it together it will work, but I was wondering if anyone had the windows 7/speedtouch modem working.
 

J.B

J.B

Soldato
Joined
16 Aug 2006
Posts
5,922
No one said anything about a wireless router. You can use an ethernet cable to connect it up and disable the wireless element if you wont use it.

Like Memphis said, if you use the Windows 7 Upgrade Advisor it will give you a good idea if you can run it under Win7 or not.

Personally Id gladly pay £30 if it meant i could use Windows 7 over any other version of Windows!
 
Top