1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Motorbike padlock and chain advice

Discussion in 'Biker's Cafe' started by eidolon, Jan 6, 2010.

  1. paddy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 24, 2003

    Posts: 1,486

    Location: Derbyshire

    I'd say just for looping through the rear wheel and attaching it to something nearby that'll be fine.

    I have a 2m chain and that loops twice around my rear tyre.

    You might go longer if you wanted some more flexibility on chaining it up. Get a piece of rope, hose, string of the same length and try it out :)
     
  2. Felix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2003

    Posts: 2,702

    Options are 1.2, 1.5 or 2m.

    With a chain that size and weight it will just be used at home.
     
  3. paddy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 24, 2003

    Posts: 1,486

    Location: Derbyshire

    Get a tape measure and some string, see how long a piece of chain you'll require. In my opinion the longer the better :)

    I can take a picture of my 2m Almax this evening on my bike if you want something visual
     
  4. eidolon

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 31, 2002

    Posts: 13,861

    Location: Newcastle upon Tyne

    I went for a 1.5m Oxford Hardcore XL. It probably puts of most opportunist thieves but if I had a more expensive bike I'd have invested a bit more.

    Fits under my seat perfectly too so that's a bonus.
     
  5. Felix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2003

    Posts: 2,702

    Thanks, Im picking the bike up today so want to sort out securing it asap!
     
  6. paddy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 24, 2003

    Posts: 1,486

    Location: Derbyshire

    I have a chain for home use then a disk lock which sits under the seat for "out and about" use.

    Oxford something or other - no alarm, D-lock style
     
  7. paddy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 24, 2003

    Posts: 1,486

    Location: Derbyshire

    Almax III 2m chain
    [​IMG]

    Locked around rear wheel (twice round, then locked)
    [​IMG]
     
  8. SupermotoMX

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 22, 2010

    Posts: 1,090

    almax.... + ground anchor made out of a 25ton lifting eye from a crane
    .

    i doubt the missed it :)
     
  9. Felix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2003

    Posts: 2,702

    That is some chain Paddy!

    Do you not use a ground anchor?
     
  10. paddy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 24, 2003

    Posts: 1,486

    Location: Derbyshire

    The Almax III is 16mm link, the series IV is 19mm... now that's beefy!

    I currently live in a rented house so can't fix a ground anchor, give it a few months and I'll have a "Hardie-Secure" anchor setup
     
  11. Felix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2003

    Posts: 2,702

    I have only just moved to mine, so I need to dig a hole and fill it with concrete to give it a good footing!
     
  12. Kezmo

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Apr 28, 2006

    Posts: 2,211

    Location: Northampton

    Seriously! chain it to something , cant be leave you splashed on that almax just to wrap it round the tyre:confused:
     
  13. Wyvern971

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 6, 2004

    Posts: 1,921

    Location: London

    I've got the series IV 2m chain, I really don't like carrying that around, when I do I use a tailpack, cargo net and bungee cables and am still not overly confident about it.

    Even if you've not got anything to chain it to at the moment, at least pass the chain over the seat and lock it off tight so that it isn't on the floor.

    When locking mine up the link on the series IV will only just go through the hole in the swingarm...

    When I've got a bit more spare cash I'll be getting another 2 series IV chains one for the GFs place and one for the office.
     
  14. paddy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 24, 2003

    Posts: 1,486

    Location: Derbyshire

    That's something I'll try, I'm not happy about the locking situation at the moment. However by the time my bike gets back from the repair shop I should have a snazzy double garage to play with :)
     
  15. Felix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2003

    Posts: 2,702

    Why don't you want it on the floor?
     
  16. Burned_Alive

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 11,613

    Location: Cheshire

    Makes it easier to attack the chain.
     
  17. paddy

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Aug 24, 2003

    Posts: 1,486

    Location: Derbyshire

    You can't really hit something with a sledgehammer which isn't on a hard surface.

    I'm now humming Peter Gabriel :(
     
  18. Felix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2003

    Posts: 2,702

    Hmm makes it hard to mount a ground anchor then!
     
  19. Wyvern971

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Oct 6, 2004

    Posts: 1,921

    Location: London

    Just lock it off tight as you reasonably can, might mean the chain is slightly on the ground, but just make it as awkward to get to as you can and it should be fine
     
  20. Felix

    Mobster

    Joined: Jan 25, 2003

    Posts: 2,702

    Will do, thanks. I currently have it locked up with my bicycle twisted cable!