New build advice please, newbie!

Associate
Hi

I am on a very limited budget and I am new to the ole self build thing. I have done a lot of research and have specced the following but want to be certain I haven't overlooked anything so would greatly appreciate any advice that you can offer. My budget is £400 and I have managed to price the below at £390 posted. I already have a keyboard, mouse and screen and a DVD rewrites/drive and will only need to source a windows package.

AMD Athlon X4 760K

MSI A78M-E35

Sapphire Radeon R7 260X

8GB Crucial Ballistix Sport

1TB Western Digital Black

430W Corsair CX430

Corsair SPEC-01

Wi-Fi Adapter – Asus USB-N53

Case Fan – Corsair AF120

So is the anything I am overlooking or anything I can improve for a little more money? I'm mostly looking to game as well as work on my photography. Thank you again for all of your help.

Last edited:
Soldato
Soldato
That's very kind, thank you. So that's two graphics cards at a total of 4gb, just used?

Also can you explain the rest of the changes you made and the benefits of them. I'm not being dim, just learning as I go along. Thanks again.

Sorry, there's only one graphics card there (the 2x Windforce means it is Gigabyte's 2 fan Windforce cooler on the graphics card), the HD 7850. It's B-grade, so it may have dodgy packaging or something but it will function perfectly :)

Changes

- The Intel CPU and motherboard allow for overclocking like your spec, however the Pentium has very strong single core performance compared to the Athlon, and photo editing only uses 1/2 cores which favours the Pentium

- Faster speed RAM for increased performance benefits

- Faster and better graphics card (as mentioned) for a similar price, no-brainer

- More powerful power supply, increases upgrade options in the future

- Has a CPU cooler which will allow for overclocking, I wouldn't trust the Intel/AMD stock coolers.

Associate
OP