• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

New GPU (7900XT) system keeps crashing.

ElT

ElT

Associate
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
I bought a Sapphire 7900XT (non-pulse version) and for the first week it was great. Rest of system specs are:

CPU: Threadripper 1920 (not OC'd)​
M/board: MSI Meg x399 Creation​
PSU: Seasonic 850w Platinum​
GPU: Sapphire 7900XT (non-pulse, no factory or driver settings changed - just downloaded Radeon software from AMD site and let it do its thing)​
RAM: 64GB 2400 (8x 8GB sticks, iirc)​
Mechanical Harddrives: 4​
SSDs: 2 SATA ones, 3x NVMe ones​
Monitor: 5120x2160 Dell 5K2K, (supports up to 60Hz only)​

So far have played Alien: Isolation which ran without incident and Marvel's Midnight Suns which WAS running fine using Fidelity Super Resolution and I originally had it set to 5120x2160 which made no sense(!) but after problems started I later tried with 3840x1620 and 2560x1080 and 5120x2160 without FSR. I couldn't see that any of this made a difference but the problem is sporadic so hard to say. The problems began after over a week of everything being great. Last Friday was the first incident though I didn't notice any driver update so probably irrelevant. Seemingly at random the screen will go black, sound (if any is playing) continues and keyboard typically appears locked (numlock and Capslock status wont change though on occasion they have continued to work for a bit). This is now happening almost every time I play Midnight Suns, anywhere from around 5mins in to 30mins. It has happened twice in just general usage with just normal web browsing.

After over a week of it all working fine I gave my old card (Radeon 480) to a friend and I don't have another card to plug in and try. The GPU has two 8-pin connectors and I had a cable from the PSU with two on the end of one cable so I have just used those, though I do have another double-headed cable and could plug in one from each if for some reason it were a power issue.

I don't really know where to start with this and any suggestions would be really welcome. I had no similar crashes with the old 480. I'm worried about the effect on my system with the number of hard re-sets I've done in the past few days.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
5 Mar 2010
Posts
12,374
I bought a Sapphire 7900XT (non-pulse version) and for the first week it was great. Rest of system specs are:

CPU: Threadripper 1920 (not OC'd)​
M/board: MSI Meg x399 Creation​
PSU: Seasonic 850w Platinum​
GPU: Sapphire 7900XT (non-pulse, no factory or driver settings changed - just downloaded Radeon software from AMD site and let it do its thing)​
RAM: 64GB 2400 (8x 8GB sticks, iirc)​
Mechanical Harddrives: 4​
SSDs: 2 SATA ones, 3x NVMe ones​
Monitor: 5120x2160 Dell 5K2K, (supports up to 60Hz only)​

So far have played Alien: Isolation which ran without incident and Marvel's Midnight Suns which WAS running fine using Fidelity Super Resolution and I originally had it set to 5120x2160 which made no sense(!) but after problems started I later tried with 3840x1620 and 2560x1080 and 5120x2160 without FSR. I couldn't see that any of this made a difference but the problem is sporadic so hard to say. The problems began after over a week of everything being great. Last Friday was the first incident though I didn't notice any driver update so probably irrelevant. Seemingly at random the screen will go black, sound (if any is playing) continues and keyboard typically appears locked (numlock and Capslock status wont change though on occasion they have continued to work for a bit). This is now happening almost every time I play Midnight Suns, anywhere from around 5mins in to 30mins. It has happened twice in just general usage with just normal web browsing.

After over a week of it all working fine I gave my old card (Radeon 480) to a friend and I don't have another card to plug in and try. The GPU has two 8-pin connectors and I had a cable from the PSU with two on the end of one cable so I have just used those, though I do have another double-headed cable and could plug in one from each if for some reason it were a power issue.

I don't really know where to start with this and any suggestions would be really welcome. I had no similar crashes with the old 480. I'm worried about the effect on my system with the number of hard re-sets I've done in the past few days.

Can you ping your system when the screen goes blank? Would at least confirm if the OS is still running / network is up. Might even be worth trying to RDP to it - can't recall if it needs a graphics driver loaded to be able to do this though.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ElT
Soldato
Joined
31 Oct 2002
Posts
9,917
I bought a Sapphire 7900XT (non-pulse version) and for the first week it was great. Rest of system specs are:

CPU: Threadripper 1920 (not OC'd)​
M/board: MSI Meg x399 Creation​
PSU: Seasonic 850w Platinum​
GPU: Sapphire 7900XT (non-pulse, no factory or driver settings changed - just downloaded Radeon software from AMD site and let it do its thing)​
RAM: 64GB 2400 (8x 8GB sticks, iirc)​
Mechanical Harddrives: 4​
SSDs: 2 SATA ones, 3x NVMe ones​
Monitor: 5120x2160 Dell 5K2K, (supports up to 60Hz only)​

So far have played Alien: Isolation which ran without incident and Marvel's Midnight Suns which WAS running fine using Fidelity Super Resolution and I originally had it set to 5120x2160 which made no sense(!) but after problems started I later tried with 3840x1620 and 2560x1080 and 5120x2160 without FSR. I couldn't see that any of this made a difference but the problem is sporadic so hard to say. The problems began after over a week of everything being great. Last Friday was the first incident though I didn't notice any driver update so probably irrelevant. Seemingly at random the screen will go black, sound (if any is playing) continues and keyboard typically appears locked (numlock and Capslock status wont change though on occasion they have continued to work for a bit). This is now happening almost every time I play Midnight Suns, anywhere from around 5mins in to 30mins. It has happened twice in just general usage with just normal web browsing.

After over a week of it all working fine I gave my old card (Radeon 480) to a friend and I don't have another card to plug in and try. The GPU has two 8-pin connectors and I had a cable from the PSU with two on the end of one cable so I have just used those, though I do have another double-headed cable and could plug in one from each if for some reason it were a power issue.

I don't really know where to start with this and any suggestions would be really welcome. I had no similar crashes with the old 480. I'm worried about the effect on my system with the number of hard re-sets I've done in the past few days.

I had similar black screen issues with AMD GPU's, Vega64 and Radeon VII. Check if you have "dump" files in C:\Windows\Minidump\Minidump. You may be able to send these to AMD to get the crash reason analysed and potentially fixed.

@LtMatt was able to expedite this for me in the past.

That said, I'd want to test this GPU with a more common CPU/motherboard combo, to see if it's just an incompatibility issue. Any local PC shops you could take it to?
 
  • Like
Reactions: ElT

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
Can you ping your system when the screen goes blank? Would at least confirm if the OS is still running / network is up. Might even be worth trying to RDP to it - can't recall if it needs a graphics driver loaded to be able to do this though.
Good question. It had been working fine for several hours until I span up a Linux VM and RDP'd into it (from host to VM) when it blew up after about five minutes. I hadn't seen your post at the time so I just span up Midnight Suns which I figured would make it crash again and it did after six minutes or so. I can still ping it and it's playing the games music through the headphones. Keyboard is locked though and monitor says no video input.

RDP had an interesting effect. It took a little longer to connect than usual but the moment it did the game music stopped through my headphones. At first I only got a blank, black screen via RDP and the connection broke. But I tried again and came through to my normal desktop and a "Midnight Suns has crashed" dialogue box and a request to send error logs to the company.

I think there was an update to the game last week I think, so I could think that maybe they broke something in the game. But it fails outside of the game as well, just more rarely. On clearing that out of the way I also just found this:



So I sent them a bug report as well.

So a lot more information, now. RDP was a really good suggestion. I had assumed with the keyboard lock up that the whole system had crashed, though the music was puzzling.
 

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
CPU temps okay?
I think so. It's not overclocked at all and thanks to @Semple 's suggestion I now know it is still running.

The only odd thing I've had recently is that my headphone jack stopped working last week. It kept cutting out and then stopped altogether so I've had to run my headphones through my USB mic (which has a headphone jack). But other than that it's the same hardware I've had for years 'cept for the new GPU.

I had similar black screen issues with AMD GPU's, Vega64 and Radeon VII. Check if you have "dump" files in C:\Windows\Minidump\Minidump. You may be able to send these to AMD to get the crash reason analysed and potentially fixed.

@LtMatt was able to expedite this for me in the past.

That said, I'd want to test this GPU with a more common CPU/motherboard combo, to see if it's just an incompatibility issue. Any local PC shops you could take it to?
Hmmm. No dump files in there though now I've RDP'd in I was able to submit a report with some files.

There's only one PC shop around here that I know of and I'm not on good terms with the owner and honestly, they're not that good anyway. I wouldn't trust them with it. There might be another one around so I can look online. Might be better asking around some mates to see if anyone has a compatible system I could put it in. But the thing is, it's working for my normal usage and was working fine even with this game up until the end of last week. So if it still worked in someone else's machine I'm not sure that would definitely help.

Is it that common for M/board CPU combos to be incompatible with a GPU? I figured bar the fact this is a PCI-Ev3 board, everything was standard and matched up.
 
Soldato
Joined
31 Oct 2002
Posts
9,917
I think so. It's not overclocked at all and thanks to @Semple 's suggestion I now know it is still running.

The only odd thing I've had recently is that my headphone jack stopped working last week. It kept cutting out and then stopped altogether so I've had to run my headphones through my USB mic (which has a headphone jack). But other than that it's the same hardware I've had for years 'cept for the new GPU.


Hmmm. No dump files in there though now I've RDP'd in I was able to submit a report with some files.

There's only one PC shop around here that I know of and I'm not on good terms with the owner and honestly, they're not that good anyway. I wouldn't trust them with it. There might be another one around so I can look online. Might be better asking around some mates to see if anyone has a compatible system I could put it in. But the thing is, it's working for my normal usage and was working fine even with this game up until the end of last week. So if it still worked in someone else's machine I'm not sure that would definitely help.

Is it that common for M/board CPU combos to be incompatible with a GPU? I figured bar the fact this is a PCI-Ev3 board, everything was standard and matched up.
I'm just thinking the amount of people who've coupled a 7900XT with a X399 threadripper system is very low. Incompatibilities do exist - some graphics cards have needed vBios updates to solve issues on some setups.

On latest BIOS for both motherboard and for your GPU?
 
  • Like
Reactions: ElT

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
It happened again just now and literally the only program I had open was the Radeon Adrenalin software or whatever it's called.

I'm just thinking the amount of people who've coupled a 7900XT with a X399 threadripper system is very low. Incompatibilities do exist - some graphics cards have needed vBios updates to solve issues on some setups.

On latest BIOS for both motherboard and for your GPU?
Okay. Thanks. Well that'll be depressing if it's incompatible. Would the same apply with an Nvidia card? I wanted to stick with AMD but I use this machine for my day to day stuff. It's not primarily a gaming rig. If the card has to go back I'll likely just get a much more basic GPU and call it a day for gaming on this. The 7900XT was a pretty expensive purchase for me. I bought the Radeon 480 about a year after that came out and have used it ever since.

EDIT: And this time it wont let me RDP in, either. Keyboard responsive, answers Ping, I can browse files on the machine over a network share... But RDP connection just runs and runs without response.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
8 Nov 2006
Posts
22,997
Location
London
You lose picture but computer is actually running?

With AMD cards in the past I used to have issues where you would lose the display as the cards were really picky about the display and cables you were using. Switch from HDMI -> Displayport, or the other way round and see if it still happens.

edit: Just seen you can't RDP in, so unlikely to work.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: ElT

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
You lose picture but computer is actually running?

With AMD cards in the past I used to have issues where you would lose the display as the cards were really picky about the display and cables you were using. Switch from HDMI -> Displayport, or the other way round and see if it still happens.
Thanks. I really appreciate more things to try. The monitor I have is the one I use for work - 5120x2160. It'll run at 60Hz via the Display Port but only 30Hz via HDMI. (this one, fwiw). So that might be useful to diagnose but if it is the case that it only works with HDMI, then the card isn't good enough for my needs.

EDIT: Thanks everyone for the replies. Greatly appreciated.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
5 Mar 2010
Posts
12,374
It's definitely sounding GPU related. I would just get a support ticket raised with AMD or Sapphire.

For peace of mind, I'd ask your friend if you can borrow back the 480 just to confirm the system can run stable.
 

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
It's definitely sounding GPU related. I would just get a support ticket raised with AMD or Sapphire.

For peace of mind, I'd ask your friend if you can borrow back the 480 just to confirm the system can run stable.
It'd be a big hassle for him and I don't want to ask for it back and leave him without it. The system was fine for years with it in.

So you think it might be bad hardware, then? A return and get a replacement situation? From what Dave2150 was saying, it sounded like it might be a fundamental incompatibility with that model. And originally I'd been thinking maybe a driver issue.

edit: Just seen you can't RDP in, so unlikely to work.
I could earlier, but the last time it crashed I couldn't. Seems to vary.
 
Associate
Joined
19 Oct 2002
Posts
314
Location
The Faithful City
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
3 Feb 2017
Posts
1,485
Location
Mondas
I would also make sure you are on the latest bios and chipset drivers. Check your startup sequence and remove any software you don’t need.
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
3 Feb 2017
Posts
1,485
Location
Mondas
Have you tried disabling MPO?

I've posted about this before for similiar issues like you're experiencing, worked for myself and others.


Worth a shot. It's a simple registry change.

Link to recent thread

Post in thread '4080 vs 7900XT stability' https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/threads/4080-vs-7900xt-stability.18966285/post-36166199
Wow thats one can of worms. This fixes a huge amount of problems. Both AMD and Nvidia
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
19 Oct 2002
Posts
314
Location
The Faithful City
Wow thats one can of worms. This fixes a huge amount of problems. Both AMD and Nvidia
It's crazy isn't it? As you can tell from my post count I don't often post, but having seen this issue first hand (on a Nvidia card at first) and then just trying it out on a friends AMD card after reading the above reddit thread it's the first thing i'd try for a lot of display issues which people suffer from, especially if the rest of the system is stable. I just feel the more people know about it the less hassle it will cause them as it is easy to roll back on if it doesn't fix anything.

Edit: For reference the system I initially had the issue with on a 3060ti now has an RX6900XT installed, it doesn't require the fix but it is the same install of Windows, the same cabling and at the time of installing the same PSU.
 
Last edited:

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
I would also make sure you are on the latest bios and chipset drivers. Check your startup sequence and remove any software you don’t need.

So this morning before work I ran Windows Update and there are a few optional updates I never normally bother with - they were to do with USB, Display, etc. I ran and installed all of those. I also went to the MSI motherboard after this and downloaded the chipset drivers and ran the install on them (they were from April last year so I don't recall if I have them or not). I then crossed my fingers. Unfortunately after twenty minutes of entirely regular use (not even a browser open), my system locked up. It took four attempts with RDP before it would show a screen for my login - first three attempts it logged in, showed nothing but darkness (like my soul) and then disconnected me. Fortunately on the fourth I was able to save my work. I also noticed that it mentioned a "driver timeout" which rang a bell from the post below.

Have you tried disabling MPO?

I've posted about this before for similiar issues like you're experiencing, worked for myself and others.


Worth a shot. It's a simple registry change.

Link to recent thread

Post in thread '4080 vs 7900XT stability' https://forums.overclockers.co.uk/threads/4080-vs-7900xt-stability.18966285/post-36166199

This is all kinds of concerning that I would need to do this. My system is currently black screened again but once it's rebooted and I have yet again run the AMD driver installation due to it having been nuked by the crash (complains about mismatched versions on trying to start it - I think Windows is doing a rollback after the hard power offs), I will try this. Thank you.
 
Soldato
Joined
31 Oct 2002
Posts
9,917
It happened again just now and literally the only program I had open was the Radeon Adrenalin software or whatever it's called.


Okay. Thanks. Well that'll be depressing if it's incompatible. Would the same apply with an Nvidia card? I wanted to stick with AMD but I use this machine for my day to day stuff. It's not primarily a gaming rig. If the card has to go back I'll likely just get a much more basic GPU and call it a day for gaming on this. The 7900XT was a pretty expensive purchase for me. I bought the Radeon 480 about a year after that came out and have used it ever since.

EDIT: And this time it wont let me RDP in, either. Keyboard responsive, answers Ping, I can browse files on the machine over a network share... But RDP connection just runs and runs without response.

Well, we know your system was 100% stable with the 480 GPU. It's very unlikely that other hardware has failed during this time, so it's likely either just a faulty card, or a incompatibility.

I've done a search for X399 and 7900XT, this thread is the top result. I'm confident it's not a popular combo, though usually if there's an incompatibility it would manifest when trying to POST, not causing black screens, though it's not impossible.

Have you tried using other display connectors/cables?
 

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
This is all kinds of concerning that I would need to do this. My system is currently black screened again but once it's rebooted and I have yet again run the AMD driver installation due to it having been nuked by the crash (complains about mismatched versions on trying to start it - I think Windows is doing a rollback after the hard power offs), I will try this. Thank you.
I don't know if you need to restart after changing the registry value (which I did with RegEdit rather than the Nvidia tool) but I didn't get a chance to. Within literally two minutes of making the change the crash happened.

So I'm pretty much out of options to try other than trying with a HDMI cable instead of DP. Which is a good suggestion but even if it works isn't a tenable solution as my display is capped at 30Hz with HDMI. I'll try rebooting after having done the registry change in case that's necessary.

So - I feel like I have a choice if the last ditch effort doesn't work. It sounds like this might not just be a case of a bad card, but bad software or hardware incompatibility that wouldn't be fixed by getting a replacement. If it's any of the latter though I don't get why it would be fine for the first ten days - even under load. I can't have this situation last - I need this machine for much more than gaming. That was just a side-line I figured I could do on it.

So what do people think? Chance it and send this card back for a replacement? Or just give up on the idea and buy some cheaper card (not that there are any) to make do? Keep in mind, I cannot just have this situation go on and on trying out different things! If I got a 6600 or something could I be reasonably confident there wouldn't be driver or compatibility issues with it?
 

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
Well, we know your system was 100% stable with the 480 GPU.
For years! And I am led to believe that the 850W PSU is sufficient. Especially as it will fail even when not under load.

It's very unlikely that other hardware has failed during this time, so it's likely either just a faulty card, or a incompatibility.

I've done a search for X399 and 7900XT, this thread is the top result. I'm confident it's not a popular combo, though usually if there's an incompatibility it would manifest when trying to POST, not causing black screens, though it's not impossible.

Have you tried using other display connectors/cables?
I haven't tried the HDMI suggestion. I'll go and grab one and try now. It's not a long-term solution for reasons above but maybe it will be good to know.

Wrote my last post while you were replying, btw. Thanks for the suggestions.

EDIT: After rebooting it lasted about 60 seconds past login before going into a hard crash. Can't even RDP in this time, though as before I can still browse files on its network share.
 
Last edited:
Back
Top Bottom