• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

New GPU (7900XT) system keeps crashing.

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
I rebooted when I applied the change - at least you know the system is coming back reloading detecting system hardware and capabilities "from fresh". Good luck.
Thanks. I checked that the registry setting was still there when it rebooted after the crash and it was. And then it crashed again.

I'm inclined to return this card. The question is whether to get a replacement 7900XT and risk two more days of not being able to use the PC if it still doesn't work (not a luxury, this is genuinely inconvenient) or get something like a 6600. I might even go down to Curry's and get ripped off with whatever the literally cheapest card they have is. I guess I will try the HDMI cable first. Going to go and find one.
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
19 Oct 2002
Posts
316
Location
The Faithful City
Thanks. I checked that the registry setting was still there when it rebooted after the crash and it was. And then it crashed again.

I'm inclined to return this card. The question is whether to get a replacement 7900XT and risk two more days of not being able to use the PC if it still doesn't work (not a luxury, this is genuinely inconvenient) or get something like a 6600. I might even go down to Curry's and get ripped off with whatever the literally cheapest card they have is. I guess I will try the HDMI cable first. Going to go and find one.
Sorry to hear that. I know it's not ideal if you do have to return the card or source a replacement, but at least you aren't facing the same issues with stock/scalping that were prevalent a year ago - just the lack of "normal" pricing.
 

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
I can't even get a signal from HDMI. I admittedly have only tried with the one cable and could go and start disconnecting my TV set-up, but it was good last I recall. Says "High Speed" on the side for whichever version of HDMI that is.

Okay, I think I'm giving up on this. I'm not poverty-stricken but equally it wasn't a casual purchase. This was supposed to be a special purchase and some rare evenings free I had coming up to just do some gaming. I'm soured on the whole thing now and don't know when I'll next have that sort of time. Plus I'm now letting someone down on something I said I'd do for them because I can't run the VMs I was doing it on on my laptop.

Thank you for everybody's help. If someone still has anything left to try I'll give it a go. Otherwise taking advice from people as to whether this is likely to be one bad card or otherwise suggestions for a bottom of the range card that will support a 5K2K display for ordinary, non-gaming use.
 

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66


Have swapped back to Display Port cable same as before and now I get no signal from that, either. I can still RDP in however so it's running. When I did I found that the Adrenalin software wouldn't start - said that maybe my drivers had been overridden by Windows. It's given me that before so I ran the installer again through RDP and got the above.

I guess I try to get a few minutes out of work in the morning if I can and contact OC customer support and arrange sending this back. Recommendations on either trying again with the same model or for a basic card that will support a 5K2K display and is more likely to be compatible?

EDIT: Display came up via DP after the second restart. I'm just going to send this back.
EDIT EDIT: And then died almost immediately on trying to reinstall the Radeon software.
 
Last edited:

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
RMA time for sure mate.
What is the recommendation - request a replacement 7900XT the same, or get a bottom of the line replacement card and if so recommendation? Ideal scenario is that I have a working 7900XT but more important is that I have a working system in the next day or two.
 
Soldato
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Posts
7,631
What is the recommendation - request a replacement 7900XT the same, or get a bottom of the line replacement card and if so recommendation? Ideal scenario is that I have a working 7900XT but more important is that I have a working system in the next day or two.

without getting into debate, i have never had the best luck with AMD cards, I do use NVIDIA.

But in saying that, the 6700XT I had before this card, did give great bang for buck. Performance while I had it was good, just some driver issues.
 

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
But in saying that, the 6700XT I had before this card, did give great bang for buck. Performance while I had it was good, just some driver issues.
I understand where you're coming from with bang for buck, but I'm going the other direction. If this doesn't work out then I'm just using my machine for work which is its primary purpose. So if the 7900XT seems a risky prospect to people I want the minimum and reliable card that will support a 10-bit 5K2K display, forget about gaming.

EDIT: I would like a working 7900XT. I need my computer up and running. I don't know much about GPUs, tbc.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Posts
7,631
I understand where you're coming from with bang for buck, but I'm going the other direction. If this doesn't work out then I'm just using my machine for work which is its primary purpose. So if the 7900XT seems a risky prospect to people I want the minimum and reliable card that will support a 10-bit 5K2K display, forget about gaming.

EDIT: I would like a working 7900XT. I need my computer up and running.

no problem mate, thats fair enough, someone will be along soon to give better advice on AMD! :)
 

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
no problem mate, thats fair enough, someone will be along soon to give better advice on AMD! :)
I've been with AMD since the 290, no I think it was the original HD 3000 series whatever they were? But honestly at this point I'll take Nvidia recommendations, too. I need to be ready to order a replacement first thing tomorrow morning.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Posts
7,631
I've been with AMD since the 290, no I think it was the original HD 3000 series whatever they were? But honestly at this point I'll take Nvidia recommendations, too. I need to be ready to order a replacement first thing tomorrow morning.

I went down the line of a 3070ti GPU, which some people on this forum, we have had a, well..disagreement :)

It is great for my uses atm, the debate was weather or not 8gb VRAM is enough these days? It might well be and look at card that has more..

But again, pricing is all over the shop, I didnt get the best deal, but happy with it, as i solely game.
 

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
Have you tried it on a different monitor/tv? I've only skimmed the post so may have missed it, but don't thi k I've seen it suggested yet.
Bizarrely that never occurred to me. I have a 1440p 144Hz monitor in the garage. It was out there through the winter (a stupid oversight) and hasn't been used in nearly two years - Lord knows if it's still alright. I can dig it out and give it a go. It'll be a test of the monitor as much as the card, mind. That said, the monitor is a really good monitor and has been rock solid for years. So... if it works with a different monitor but not the good one, it doesn't really change anything other than information purposes.

Recommendations for a baseline card that will reliably support a 5K2K 10-bit monitor?

@Zeebedy Thanks, but a 3070ti seems excessive for someone who isn't looking for a gaming GPU? I'd put the Radeon 480 back in the system if I still had it.
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
1 Oct 2020
Posts
1,188
Sorry, can't help on the 5k GPU as I've never used that resolution. You'd have thought any modern gpu could deal with it, but if you're able to try another monitor/tv it could potentially point to a compatibility issue rather than a hardware fault. Could maybe be picked up in a driver update if that is the case.

There's an AMD rep on this forum as well I think, if you haven't already tried @AMD_Vik he may be able to point you in the right direction.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ElT
Soldato
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Posts
7,631
Bizarrely that never occurred to me. I have a 1440p 144Hz monitor in the garage. It was out there through the winter (a stupid oversight) and hasn't been used in nearly two years - Lord knows if it's still alright. I can dig it out and give it a go. It'll be a test of the monitor as much as the card, mind. That said, the monitor is a really good monitor and has been rock solid for years. So... if it works with a different monitor but not the good one, it doesn't really change anything other than information purposes.

Recommendations for a baseline card that will reliably support a 5K2K 10-bit monitor?

@Zeebedy Thanks, but a 3070ti seems excessive for someone who isn't looking for a gaming GPU? I'd put the Radeon 480 back in the system if I still had it.

no worries mate, when I had the slightly "lesser powered" 6700XT it did run on my 4K monitor at 120Hz no problem. Like @Bill Turnip says, i would thought most modern cards could cope with 5K. But not 100% sure.
 
  • Like
Reactions: ElT
Associate
Joined
19 Oct 2002
Posts
316
Location
The Faithful City
Recommendations for a baseline card that will reliably support a 5K2K 10-bit monitor?
If the RX480 worked fine and it is just a baseline card you're after it or it's successor the RX580 8GB are available from the high street 2nd hand tech shop with a 2 year guarantee for around £120 (not naming the store as I don't want to fall foul of the competitors rule).

It'd get you out of a bind.

Edit : Just to add; although these cards were released 5 years ago they are still good performers in price/performance and hardware requirements compared to the current generation "base" cards. The RX 580 at least is still a supported card in the latest drivers.
 
Last edited:
Soldato
Joined
28 Jan 2011
Posts
7,631
If the RX480 worked fine and it is just a baseline card you're after it or it's successor the RX580 8GB are available from the high street 2nd hand tech shop with a 2 year guarantee for around £120 (not naming the store as I don't want to fall foul of the competitors rule).

It'd get you out of a bind.

good shout, a good selection of cards there.
 
Soldato
Joined
4 Feb 2006
Posts
3,227


Have swapped back to Display Port cable same as before and now I get no signal from that, either. I can still RDP in however so it's running. When I did I found that the Adrenalin software wouldn't start - said that maybe my drivers had been overridden by Windows. It's given me that before so I ran the installer again through RDP and got the above.

I guess I try to get a few minutes out of work in the morning if I can and contact OC customer support and arrange sending this back. Recommendations on either trying again with the same model or for a basic card that will support a 5K2K display and is more likely to be compatible?

EDIT: Display came up via DP after the second restart. I'm just going to send this back.
EDIT EDIT: And then died almost immediately on trying to reinstall the Radeon software.

The fact that you couldn't get a signal with the HDMI cable means you are probably using cables that are not good enough for the high bandwidth required for your chosen resolution which is 5K resolution. Even the DP cable needs to be one that is capable of at least 8K to be of sufficient quality. A standard 4K/60 DP cable won't be good enough hence why you are getting black screens or no signal.

A good way to test this theory is to connect your pc to a normal 1080P or 4K display such as a tv and use that for a while.

Also you mentioned you are using 2x8pin split from a single psu cable which is not the correct way to power a high end gpu at a 5K resolution. Use a seperate 8pin cable from the psu for each 8pin socket.
 
Last edited:

ElT

ElT

Associate
OP
Joined
28 Aug 2019
Posts
66
The fact that you couldn't get a signal with the HDMI cable means you are probably using cables that are not good enough for the high bandwidth required for your chosen resolution which is 5K resolution. Even the DP cable needs to be one that is capable of at least 8K to be of sufficient quality. A standard 4K/60 DP cable won't be good enough hence why you are getting black screens or no signal.
It's not a 5K monitor, it's 5120x2160 and has a 60Hz max. I'm not sure how that fits in with the HDMI specs. As I mentioned the cable has "High Speed" on the side so I think that's the 4K version so you're probably right. However, I think that's the highest spec one I have to hand and the monitor only accepts 30Hz on HDMI so even if it works it's not an acceptable solution. It would get me through a few days though so you're right - if I knew it would work and had such a cable I could get one.

I'll dig out the old monitor and maybe try HDMI with that. That was 1440p.

A good way to test this theory is to connect your pc to a normal 1080P or 4K display such as a tv and use that for a while.
I do have a TV but it's rather large for me to move into the office.

Also you mentioned you are using 2x8pin split from a single psu cable which is not the correct way to power a high end gpu at a 5K resolution. Use a seperate 8pin cable from the psu for each 8pin socket.
Thank you!!!! I did mention that in the very first post in case it was an issue. I'll try swapping that over now. I don't know why it would have run fine (including under load) for over a week if that's the issue but I'm grateful for something else to try. I'll post back in a bit once I've done that.
 
Back
Top Bottom