New Hard drive????

Associate
Joined
16 Jul 2006
Posts
832
Location
NZ
Hi guys

I jst downloaded Americas Army and found out my hard drive was full.

Its a 40gb hard drive i'm willing to invest in a new one but should i get an 80gb

or keep the 40gb and get another 40gb one.

It is Hitachi 40gb 7200rpm

Thanks in advance :)
 
Associate
OP
Joined
16 Jul 2006
Posts
832
Location
NZ
semi-pro waster said:
I'd get an 80gb one or even a 160gb as there is so little difference in price. Samsung are pretty cheap and they make good drives also.

Ok then I will have a look around thanks for info so 1 80gb will be better than 2 40gb

Thanks
 
Soldato
Joined
9 Jan 2003
Posts
21,038
Location
Cornwall
rkb442 said:
Ok then I will have a look around thanks for info so 1 80gb will be better than 2 40gb

Thanks
yes, but you can also run the current 40 with the new 80 or whatever you get.
I've just purchased the 320gig Segate 7200.10 drive, its nice and fast/quite too
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
21 Aug 2006
Posts
1,908
Location
Stafford
Anything less than 160 is a waste of money imo. I've always bought hdd for data on the basis of cheapest per gb, no matter what the size, and i always seem to run out of space.
 
Man of Honour
Joined
11 Mar 2003
Posts
10,706
Location
Greenock, Scotland
rkb442 said:
I I might get an 80 and keep the 40Gb but how can i use 2 hard drives at once?

You can run 2 IDE devices off each cable in a master and slave configuration, most boards (except newer ones) have a couple of IDE controllers so 4 devices total, HDDs or CD/DVDs. SATA drives are different, your limited to one drive per port with boards supplying anything between 2 and 8 ports these days.

Multiple drives are fairly easy to deal with, you just end up with more drive letters in My Computer...
 
Man of Honour
Joined
11 Mar 2003
Posts
10,706
Location
Greenock, Scotland
That makes it nice and easy, a new SATA drive will just plug into one of the free SATA ports on the board. Then just boot the machine into Windows, right click on My Computer, choose Manage and go into the disk management applet. The new drive should show up as empty, right click on it, create and format a new partition (you can swap drive letters with your CD/DVD drive if you want) and away you go.
 
Associate
OP
Joined
16 Jul 2006
Posts
832
Location
NZ
rpstewart said:
That makes it nice and easy, a new SATA drive will just plug into one of the free SATA ports on the board. Then just boot the machine into Windows, right click on My Computer, choose Manage and go into the disk management applet. The new drive should show up as empty, right click on it, create and format a new partition (you can swap drive letters with your CD/DVD drive if you want) and away you go.


Thanks a lot ;)
 
Back
Top Bottom