1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

No audio

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by JeffyB, May 20, 2019.

  1. Plec

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 12,706

    Just a friendly heads up.

    You may not need to do a re-install - take from that thread what you can. But a combination of those applied instructions worked.

    Have you tried the below - or do you not have the Realtek Audio Manager anymore?

    Check the box for 'Disable Front Panel Jack Detection' - it's in the top right folder icon located within Realtek Audio Manager. This will effect both front and rear jacks.
     
  2. JeffyB

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 10, 2006

    Posts: 4,055

    Location: London

    [​IMG] [​IMG] this is dull [​IMG]
     
  3. JeffyB

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 10, 2006

    Posts: 4,055

    Location: London

    Stupid audio manager can't even grammar, i think it's the windoze update
     
  4. JeffyB

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 10, 2006

    Posts: 4,055

    Location: London

    I've read loads tried many fixes to no avail. I'm contemplating a sound card as i'd rather that than a full reinstall, thoughts?
     
  5. Plec

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 12,706

    On the surface it does seem 'Windows update' related - certainly seemed to be a contributing factor on the other thread. (have you got Windows set to 'critical updates' only?)

    As to getting a discrete soundcard - your decision - what best suits you, your time and wallet. The kicker would be if you buy a discrete card and you still have issues due to an unsolved known driver(?) issue.

    That said, when was the last time you did a clean install? Have you been experiencing any other odd anomalies before this?
     
  6. ade555

    Gangster

    Joined: Mar 23, 2011

    Posts: 246

    As Plec mention before, I had similar problem to yours, something somewhere has screwed drivers, originally even after first fresh install I had no HD audio, But before I done the 1st install already updated Bios, so on 2nd fresh install I created new USB using Microsoft tool, clear coms and done fresh install, everything worked after that, why it happen I have no idea.
     
  7. JeffyB

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 10, 2006

    Posts: 4,055

    Location: London

    The dgx tests fine but still windows audio is not running so no audio is being sent anywhere. I guess a fresh install is all I have left to try.
     
  8. JeffyB

    Mobster

    Joined: Feb 10, 2006

    Posts: 4,055

    Location: London

    Fresh Windows install seems to have done the trick, hope any updates I get don't bork my audio again.
     
  9. Plec

    Capodecina

    Joined: Apr 19, 2003

    Posts: 12,706

    Great - only allow critical updates and you should be fine (but feature build updates - always a slight risk).