1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NVMe drive, do i still need to make a 25% free overprovisioning space partition like i do.........

Discussion in 'Storage Drives' started by Daytrader, Jan 14, 2020 at 3:06 PM.

  1. Daytrader

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 3,572

    Location: wiltshire

    NVMe drive, do i still need to make a 25% free overprovisioning space partition like i do on my old samsung evo 850 sata ssd ?
     
  2. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 8, 2004

    Posts: 25,136

    Location: Rutland

    No.
     
  3. ANDARIAL

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 6,053

    Location: Woolyback Country

    You say that but my drive via samsung magician says it has
     
  4. Daytrader

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 3,572

    Location: wiltshire

    Well i have since googled and read stuff, alot of people say yes, and alot say no need now, ?
     
  5. ANDARIAL

    Soldato

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 6,053

    Location: Woolyback Country

    Samsung magician gave me the option so i just allocated 23 GB,still have plenty of room for my needs
    Might be different for you if you `need` all your space ? :)
     
  6. Minstadave

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jan 8, 2004

    Posts: 25,136

    Location: Rutland

    Overprovisioning doesn't really benefit you if you don't fill the drive completely as best I'm aware. It's almost entirely pointless and simply reduces the space available to Windows.

    You can just not fill the drive to the max and it achieves exactly the same result.
     
  7. Daytrader

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 19, 2002

    Posts: 3,572

    Location: wiltshire

    Yeh i think leaving space by not filling up your drive, is the same as Overprovisioning that Samsung magician does, its just that using magician it looks the free space so you cant use it by mistake.
     
  8. Mcnumpty2323

    Gangster

    Joined: Dec 21, 2019

    Posts: 422

    Some M2 drives don't give over provisioning option
    Don't think my corsair mp510s do
     
  9. b00merang69

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 27, 2019

    Posts: 1,278

    It was "primarily" but not exclusive to SSD's that had no DRAM Cache.

    I had the Corsair GT then the GS (newer Toggle Nand Flash) Range in the past and the sizes were 120GB (128) / 240GB (256) / 360GB (384) /480GB (512), the strange one was the 128GB model, it must have been different memory chips as it had a different Firmware Branch (the other were all same each update) and no Overprovisioning as it was actually 128GB not 120GB.
     
  10. boosfuk

    Hitman

    Joined: Nov 27, 2002

    Posts: 675

    Location: Warwickshire

    As I understand it from my research last year, if you want to protect against performance plummeting if your disk gets very full (>95%) then overprovision (if you drive has none built in). If you are never going to reach those levels then is does not matter (as the drive will use any free space, in a partition or otherwise for its background use). It is a bit of a catch 22 as you only need overprovision space if the disk fills but if you do not overprovision you'll have a slightly bigger disk that won't fill up as quick!
     
  11. b00merang69

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Sep 27, 2019

    Posts: 1,278

    On the SandForce Controller SSD's (No OP) the reviews showed that performance would start to go down once the drive was over 50% full, I would not worry if the drive was 60-70% full but would think about a bigger drive then.