1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

**** Official Microsoft Flight Simulator Thread ****

Discussion in 'PC Games' started by lurkio, Jun 10, 2019.

  1. phil-k

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jul 1, 2011

    Posts: 1,229

    Its not going to be cheap
     
  2. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 31,065

    Location: Warwickshire

    I also suspect it'll be based on a monthly fee for those that want to be able to stream scenery live. I hope not but...
     
  3. muttclugg

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 10, 2007

    Posts: 1,706

    Location: SE

    I thought it was going to be on Game Pass? Has that changed?
     
  4. VincentHanna

    Capodecina

    Joined: Jul 30, 2013

    Posts: 20,695

    No, all first party ms games will be released on game pass.
     
  5. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 31,065

    Location: Warwickshire

    Which is a monthly fee.
     
  6. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 33,844

    Location: Welling, London

    £4 a month though. Astoundingly cheap for this and all the other available games.
     
  7. Slam62

    Soldato

    Joined: Jan 3, 2006

    Posts: 7,455

    Location: Monaco

    Does it actually work ok and run ok on a reasonable pc #justsayin
     
  8. LeMson

    Mobster

    Joined: Mar 21, 2012

    Posts: 2,989

    What do you count as a reasonable PC? But probably yes :)
     
  9. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 31,065

    Location: Warwickshire

    I guess so. Another way of looking at it is that if I want to play FS for 5 years and am only interested in that game as far as MS goes, it will cost me £240 via that mechanism.

    Let's see what the pricing model is first I guess. There might be an option to pay a one off fee and have server streaming in perpetuity.
     
  10. Tombstone

    Capodecina

    Joined: Aug 17, 2007

    Posts: 18,539

    I dont think there will be a monthly fee for the game, MS FS history is one where they make their money off of the thousands and thousands of $$ for all the hundreds of expansions and dlc packs and what not. I'm guessing they'll do the same, hundreds of aircraft DLC, skins and so on, all at £9.99 a pop or something.
     
  11. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 33,844

    Location: Welling, London

    Another thing to consider is that any later add ons from Microsoft will probably be included in game pass, whereas it will be an additional cost with the standalone version.
     
  12. Participant

    Caporegime

    Joined: May 13, 2003

    Posts: 31,065

    Location: Warwickshire

    Looks like the latest Alpha build now finally adds a jet! The Airbus A320. Anyone got it yet?
     
  13. picnic

    Wise Guy

    Joined: May 14, 2009

    Posts: 1,786

    Nope, still pressing the F5 button praying for my invite :mad:
     
  14. Techen

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Feb 5, 2012

    Posts: 2,151

    Flew the Airbus last night from London to Glasgow. Honestly very stunning aircraft but it does need a complete overhaul on how it handles. Feels more like a f15 than Airbus. Got some stunning photos at 20,000ft though ;P
     
  15. Vega

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Dec 12, 2010

    Posts: 1,543

    Location: Washington D.C.

    Did I see that correctly; some of you are seeing upwards of 29GB system RAM usage? I'm wondering if I should upgrade from 32GB to 64GB.

    Has anyone seen more than 8 CPU cores being used more than 50% each at the same time?

    Any word on SLI use/support? Is the game DX12 only or is there a Vulkan option?
     
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2020
  16. Shac

    Gangster

    Joined: Oct 18, 2009

    Posts: 340

    I suspect you are asking questions they will not be able to answer if they wish to stay in the alpha.
     
  17. Mr_Sukebe

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Dec 23, 2002

    Posts: 8,999

    Location: London

    Can't comment on the first two questions, but on the DX12 side of things, well DX12 is from MS, and Vulkan is not. That's probably enough to clench the deal.
     
  18. Dano

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Dec 19, 2006

    Posts: 9,354

    Location: UK

  19. TonyTurbo78

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Sep 26, 2013

    Posts: 9,597

    Location: West End, Southampton

    Nice find. That's good news, I'm just about at ideal spec. But take these with a pinch of salt, we all know these recommended specs are so off most of the time. Doesn't mention the resolution either so I expect 1080p.
     
  20. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 33,844

    Location: Welling, London