optical output on motherboard.. how do I get sound working?

Soldato
Joined
17 Apr 2007
Posts
23,162
Location
stat city
I just noticed my motherboard has an optical output. I connected it to my 5.1 logitech speakers with the optical cable but can't figure out how to get sound working.

Any help?

Motherboard - (P5N32-E SLI PLUS)
 
Soldato
Joined
2 Sep 2006
Posts
13,483
Location
Portland, OR
Go to the sound options in your control panel and make sure that the spdif out is your primary sound device.

And make sure the logitech control pod has optical selected as the source.
 
Associate
Joined
8 Sep 2009
Posts
187
should just be the option in sound control panel/software to switch it to digital out. then set logitech to recieve on the digital input.

sorry just seen gurusan posted earlier :)
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
17 Apr 2007
Posts
23,162
Location
stat city
btw, the speakers I have are the Logitech Z-680. Do I also need the software for these speakers to set them up right? I couldn't find the correct software at all.
 
Soldato
Joined
2 Sep 2006
Posts
13,483
Location
Portland, OR
It's been a long time since I've had a 5.1 setup but I'm pretty sure it will run in 2.1 channel mode until you watch a movie with DTS or Dolby or whatever.

or try playing a game?
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
17 Apr 2007
Posts
23,162
Location
stat city
It's been a long time since I've had a 5.1 setup but I'm pretty sure it will run in 2.1 channel mode until you watch a movie with DTS or Dolby or whatever.

or try playing a game?

I am trying to test the speakers in the sound control panel but can only get 2 channels to work.
 
Associate
Joined
5 Apr 2008
Posts
358
SPDIF only supports 2 uncompressed channels. For 5.1 sound you need to compress them to fit into the same space as 2 uncompressed channels. Tracks on DVDs are already compressed in this way so all the player does is stream them to your receiver.
 
Associate
Joined
26 Dec 2006
Posts
1,302
Location
Oxon.
SPDIF only supports 2 uncompressed channels. For 5.1 sound you need to compress them to fit into the same space as 2 uncompressed channels. Tracks on DVDs are already compressed in this way so all the player does is stream them to your receiver.

What he said. unless your soundcard maker (realtek) do a DD live type thing, iam not sure if they do, you would be stuck with 2 channels..
 
Top Bottom