Overlooked for promotion

Soldato
Had an interview for a promotion at work and got through the first round of interviews. After the first round it was down to me and a colleague. During the gap between first and second interviews an external candidate applied 2 weeks after the deadline. My colleague then dropped out and left me and the external candidate. Got the news today that they have gone with the external. I'm really pee'd off as I've been stepping up into the role for 2 months and received brilliant feedback. My line manager said he would understand if I were to look elsewhere for a new job.

Soldato
it's sad when that happens, often external candidates are choosen as they can bring fresh eyes and ideas to the role, also experince in that role from outside the company. Such aspects that are difficult for an internal candidate to offer, but you can offer them as an external candidate else where.

Soldato
As above,

I've heard many legitimate accounts of people who've applied for an internal promotion, only to lose to an external candidate. It was common knowledge that to actually get a promotion - it was simpler and easier to actually leave the company altogether, work some place else and go back a year or two later :D

I honestly wouldn't take it too personally, promotions and the decisions that go into them can be really weird sometimes.

Caporegime
As above,

I've heard many legitimate accounts of people who've applied for an internal promotion, only to lose to an external candidate. It was common knowledge that to actually get a promotion - it was simpler and easier to actually leave the company altogether, work some place else and go back a year or two later :D

I honestly wouldn't take it too personally, promotions and the decisions that go into them can be really weird sometimes.

I know someone who has done that twice !

Associate