PC Restarting When Under Load.

Caporegime
Hey,

The above has happened twice this evening while gaming. My first thought was the PSU. I've had no driver display messages so other than the PSU, I can't really think of what it could be?

The unit is a bequiet! 650w modular one which I've been using for the last 6 to 7 years, IIRC.

Can you suggest anything else or should I just go ahead and get the PSU (will need to factor in a new system for when Zen 2 launches).

Ta.

Edit: just done it again and at precisely the same point in the game (two different games/three restarts).

I've removed the CPU overclock and have also tried running a game with the fps limited to 75. It didn't restart.

What's the advice regarding which brand to go with these days? Seasonic, be quiet!, Super Flower?

Last edited:
Soldato
Unless CPU has degraded from overclocking, or GPU has started failing that hints strongly to PSU.
And despite of brand's marketing hype, BeQuiet has most of their PSUs with cheap capacitors, which models would be well past their designed life in enthusiast use.
Certainly wouldn't risk new parts with it.

It's anyway past its warranty.
Even BeQuiet's overpriced top models have only completely lack luster 5 year warranty, which makes me think they've undersized cooling.
Pretty much all other brands/makers give 10 year warranty for anything supposed to be good and without any paying any luxury price.
Even Seasonic's 12 year warranty top serie models are cheaper than BeQuiet's 5 year warranty model!

Permabanned