Problem or not?

Associate
Joined
6 Mar 2011
Posts
22
Soldato
Joined
10 Jun 2010
Posts
5,158
Location
Scotland
Why would you buy a bundle that included RAM to then just throw it aside and use other stuff. If you don't want that ram, then just buy the motherboard and cpu seperate, and then use whichever ram you like.
 
Soldato
Joined
10 Jun 2010
Posts
5,158
Location
Scotland
Any particular reason you need 18GB of ram?

Too ensure compatibility then you are better off using the same modules in each slot, I wouldn't mix and match... however it should work.

You will of course need a 64 bit OS.
 
Associate
Joined
6 Mar 2011
Posts
22
The deals look so nice, just ashame most come with only 6GB RAM (3x2GB), i will give them a call when the time is right :).

Thanks alot!
 
Soldato
Joined
5 Sep 2010
Posts
24,595
Your overclock would be affected if you fill all 6 RAM slots.

Get in touch with OCUK and ask them if they can do the bundle with 12GB and what the overclock would be.

Can't see you needing or using 18GB.

Also, have you considered a Sandybridge build?
 
Soldato
Joined
10 Jun 2010
Posts
5,158
Location
Scotland
After closer inspection the Vengance modules require 1.5V where as the Xms3 require 1.65V. So this may cause complications as the two different modules require different voltages.

You reallllllyyyy don't need 18GB of ram.

If the system is for gaming then 4GB is plenty, if it's for photo/video editing then the most you will ever really need is 12GB and that's pushing it. 8GB is suffice for this.

So what are you going to be using it for and why the need for 18GB of ram?
 
Top Bottom