Problems Booting...

Associate
Joined
4 Jun 2007
Posts
2,173
Location
Welsh Valleys
Just built a new rig:-
Motherboard - AsRock ALiveNF6G-DVI
CPU - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Skt AM2
RAM - VData DDRII 667MHz 2GB
Graphics - Xpert Vision NVidia 8500GT 512MB
Maxtor DiamondMax 250GB SATA2
1 x DVD-rom
1 x DVD RW
700W PSU

Just tried starting up and it doesn't even run the memory check, not even giving beep beep codes...HELP!!!!!
 
Last edited:
Caporegime
Joined
17 Feb 2003
Posts
29,615
Location
Chelmsford
Is the light on the motherboard on to indicate it's getting power?

Do you have both the ATX 24pin and EPS12v (8pin)connected on the motherboard?

Post back and we'll go from there..
 
Associate
Joined
4 Jun 2007
Posts
2,173
Location
Welsh Valleys
no light on motherboard for power although cpu fan starting so guessin m/b has power there :confused: got the 24-pin connected but only got 1 other 4-pin connector which is connected as well

p.s. thanks
 
Caporegime
Joined
17 Feb 2003
Posts
29,615
Location
Chelmsford
I've looked at the guide and the 4 pin is not crucia anyway..

Ok, Do you have the internal audio speakers connected correctly? Just make sure becuase if the POST is failing, you should get thoese bleeps.

Are you able to enter the BIOS at all?
 
Associate
Joined
4 Jun 2007
Posts
2,173
Location
Welsh Valleys
tried case speaker both ways round to make sure also tried the case speaker out of my brothers which i know works. don't even get a display so not sure if can get into bios or not
 
Caporegime
Joined
17 Feb 2003
Posts
29,615
Location
Chelmsford
Ok, it might seem obvious, but it does happen, check that your monitor is working and is connected correctly. Check that the cable is ok.

Did you buy the Mobo new or second hand? Try reseting the CMOS by locating and placing the CMOS reset jumper to reset. Then try again.
 
Associate
Joined
4 Jun 2007
Posts
2,173
Location
Welsh Valleys
just checked monitor on brothers pc and wrkking fine, resetting cmos was one of the first things i tried, sorry should have sed lol, bought it new off a certain 4 letter named website, sold as new anyway....

[edit: bought as a mobo, cpu and ram bundle]
 
Caporegime
Joined
17 Feb 2003
Posts
29,615
Location
Chelmsford
Ok, givent the fact that it's not POSTing, but you have power to the fan, then it's either the PSU or Mobo but proving either maybe a bit difficult.

THe first thing you can try is test the PSU using a mutli meter, see if you can get your hands on one and here's how:

Firstly, remember that the Yellow cable supplies +12v, the red +5v, and the black is ground.

Turn PC off but leave plug connected.

Take power connector (Molex) and insert black probe into black wire connector.

Insert red probe into red wire connector.

Set multi-meter to 20volts and turn on PC.

Read out should be around +5volts.

Turn off PC and repeat process but this time connecting the red probe into the yellow wire.

Power PC on again and read the read out should give you around +12volts

Allow for some deviation of around 5% either side of the expect rails. So for 5volts you need to allow between +4.8volts and +5.3volts and for 12volts between 11.4volts and +12.6volts.

Anything outside this range is certain to be a problem with the power supply.
 
Top