• Competitor rules

Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Purchased an 5800X3D - upgrade advice please

Associate
Hi there,

I'm a bit of a novice PC builder and just need a bit of advice on an upgrade please.
I'm upgrading from a Ryzen 5 3600 to the 5800X3D, it's my first "expensive" CPU I've owned and believe it is going to be a bit of a jump up in terms of heat. I currently have no fans or cooler other than the default that came with the original 3600 CPU and case fan.

Would anyone mind having a look at my set up and recommending a cooler? any and maybe some extra fans? I've got zero experience in this area as I've always managed without.

PSU: 750W Seasonic Focus GX 750 80PLUS Gold, Single Rail, Fully Modular, 62A, 120mm Fan, ATX PSU
Case: Fractal Design Meshify C TG Dark Tint, Mid Tower Computer Chassis
Motherboard: Asus PRIME X570-PRO
Graphics: RTX 3080 Founders
RAM: L HyperX FURY 16GB (1x16GB) 3200MHz DDR4

Bonus if you're feeling really helpful - is it worth upgrading the RAM?

THANK YOU!

Soldato
You should definitely go for dual channel RAM.

For CPU cooler the general advice is to go for the largest and/or best reviewed air cooler that fits in your case from reputable brands e.g. Noctua, Be Quiet, Deepcool.

I'd also add at least another 100w to the PSU. While 750w is enough this system could pull about 600w or more, it's too close for my comfort zone but you'll be fine with 750w anyway.

Man of Honour
Seeing as you've got to replace the cooler and CPU anyway, I'd definitely do a RAM upgrade while you're at it. Should be set for 5 years or so after that.

Soldato