Recommend me a 16 port Gigabit Switch

Soldato
Joined
12 Feb 2004
Posts
6,987
Location
Manchester
well my 3com 16port 10/100 has just died, so looking to upgrade to a gigabit

any recommendations? i didn't realise they still quite dear!

one im looking at is the netgear GS116 which also has lifetime warranty which is probably what you pay for in the £125 price tag!

any others? no named brands ok these days?
 
Associate
Joined
5 Oct 2004
Posts
1,647
HP Procurve, not sure what their 16 ports cost but the 8 ports are around the 50 quid mark I think
 

wij

wij

Associate
Joined
27 Dec 2006
Posts
1,422
Location
-
I'd go for the ProCurve over the Netgear offerings any day too, but AFAIK they don't do a 16 port GigE switch its 8 or 24 on their cheaper lines.

Still you can pick up the ones linked to above for a lot less if you hunt around.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
12 Feb 2004
Posts
6,987
Location
Manchester
just been looking at them, the 1700 only has 1 gig port, the rest are 10/100, is that right?

however the Procurve 1400 is a 8port GigE and can be had for £50.

maybe 2 daisy chained, hmmm!
 

wij

wij

Associate
Joined
27 Dec 2006
Posts
1,422
Location
-
I have two of the little 1400 8 port GigE switches in my house, one upstairs one downstairs - decent build quality and all that, the only thing that I dislike is the external PSU but at the price (if you look you can find them lower than £50) they are hard to beat.

If you want a 24 port GigE one then you need to be looking at the 1400-24G which is a 1U 24 port GigE switch that comes in at around £150 mark.

A bit of a premium over two of the 8 porters but it gives you a neater system and also a few extra ports which never hurts.
 
Soldato
Joined
13 Sep 2003
Posts
8,237
Location
Glocestershire
We have loads of HP ProCurve kit where I work, ranging from a dinky little 1400-8G unto 5406 (with about 120 ports).

It's rock solid, not had to RMA anything in the last three years.

Don't bother with the 1700, I really can't see you needing a managed switch. Either two 1400-8g or one 1400-24g will do the trick.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
12 Feb 2004
Posts
6,987
Location
Manchester
thanks guys

not "many" places sell these procurves, a few of the common online stores have them,

i think il get one to start with and take it from there.

is the procurve 1400-24g fanless?
 
Soldato
Joined
18 Oct 2002
Posts
7,139
Location
Ironing
I don't think so, the 1800-24g certianly isn't. It's not too noisy though. We are using one sat on someone's desk and they havn't compained about the noise.

I thought the newer ones were fanless? I remember reading that the model number that ends in B is fanless, but the one ending in A isn't.
 
Soldato
OP
Joined
12 Feb 2004
Posts
6,987
Location
Manchester
Do you mind if I ask, is this for home use?

I'm yet to fill my 5 port :o

yep, for home use, considering how many networked device i have in the house a 16 port is a must. Pc in every room, many consoles, network media tanks, NAS etc :eek, think i must cut down to save on eleccy!

im still on the hunt, why on earth dont they do a 16 port Procurve!!!!!! 8 or 24!
 
Associate
Joined
28 Aug 2003
Posts
1,195
Location
N Ireland
i picked up a new rackmount zyxel 16 port Gb switch off the bay for 90 quid or so

ZyXEL GS-1116 16-Port Gigabit Ethernet Switch is the model number.

has been faultless so far
 
Top Bottom