1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Road Cycling

Discussion in 'SA Archive' started by Zefan, Mar 2, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. madindehead

    Mobster

    Joined: May 30, 2009

    Posts: 4,578

    Location: Maidenhead

    I was born in Scotland, do I get a free pass? :p

    Will take a look there too. Thanks. I think it's the converter pin I'm after. Need to double check.
     
  2. touch

    Capodecina

    Joined: Oct 28, 2006

    Posts: 11,396

    Location: Sufferlandria

    They did that so that they can get rid of us and claim the biggest climb in the UK. Fed up of Scotland having that one :p
    Apparently there's a particularly high kerb in Bristol which may take the new title.
     
  3. BennyC

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 25, 2006

    Posts: 13,792

    Fixed :D:p
     
  4. ThaReaperGuy

    Soldato

    Joined: Aug 17, 2012

    Posts: 6,568

    Location: Tamworth, UK

    Discount + Delivery was £48.99, snagged them for my Cervelo. :D
     
  5. Lethal`

    Mobster

    Joined: Oct 25, 2006

    Posts: 4,748

    Nice. I got my set at this price a few months back. I'm tempted to get a spare pair - certainly the best tyres I've tried so far.
     
  6. madindehead

    Mobster

    Joined: May 30, 2009

    Posts: 4,578

    Location: Maidenhead

    It will be interesting to see if there are any price drops on Dura Ace kit following the release of the new Dura Ace. Would be tempted to pick up an old (currenty) Dura Ace chainset, as they look so damn awesome! (Question is then what power meter do you use with Shimano of course)...
     
  7. BennyC

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 25, 2006

    Posts: 13,792

    Same, need those DA cranks & chainrings in my life!

    Well with all the money you save from the release of the new model you can put it towards an SRM :p along with selling lots of other expensive things you own to have enough cash :eek:
     
  8. madindehead

    Mobster

    Joined: May 30, 2009

    Posts: 4,578

    Location: Maidenhead

    Haha yeah! SRMs are silly money. Plus you need to send the damn thing back to get the battery replaced. I wonder if Shimano will be announcing their power meter today: And if it works with current generation.

    Precision 4iiii is another option, especially as they will probably have a dual sided version out in July or so. So tempting. I was considering a Power2Max, but given Precision seems good, and is available on Shimano, and Shimano do 165mm cranks...
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
  9. Roady

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,719

    Location: Hereford

    Great pic but the one with the whole bike in front of a lake was better IIRC? The water is really still...
    Good shout, I'd seen this before but not used it.
    Great times up those mate!

    The 'biggest' around here: The Tumble (3 miles @ 8%), Gospel pass (5.4 miles @ 5%), Llangynidr Mountain (3.6 @ 7% or 4.4 @ 6%).
    This one Vale Street in Bristol? (steepest tarmac'd street in the UK) :p
     
  10. Vonhelmet

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 28, 2005

    Posts: 48,107

    Location: On the hoods

    I've cancelled my order for the 4iiii Precision power meter as Probikekit couldn't assure me it would be delivered this side of never, and I managed to find a Garmin Vector S on ebay and made an offer of £330 plus £9 shipping and won. Bargain. If I pick up some Look Keo cleats for £10 I'll be paying the same as for the Precision.

    Then I just need to check whether the £120 upgrade kit can be used to upgrade a Vector S system to full 2 pedal Vector 2...
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
  11. madindehead

    Mobster

    Joined: May 30, 2009

    Posts: 4,578

    Location: Maidenhead

    About the RideWithGPS "find" feature: It worked really well recently to help a colleague plan some rides in Portugal.

    You can select an upper and lower limit for both distance and elevation gain. You do need to have a free account to use it, but I've found their route planner to be quite nice too, as you can import good rides you find.

    Happy days! Info here on the upgrade options: http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2015/04/vector2-announced.html
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
  12. SoliD

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 25, 2004

    Posts: 14,682

    Location: Portsmouth



    It doesn't. Completely separate. You could in theory buy the garmin s upgrade and then the 2 upgrade kit for whatever that cosrs but guessing the s upgrade is still going to be a few hundred quid.
     
  13. Vonhelmet

    Caporegime

    Joined: Jun 28, 2005

    Posts: 48,107

    Location: On the hoods

    I figured so. I assume the right "dummy" pedal is basically a sealed unit, so like you say you'd have to get a right Vector upgrade pedal and then the Vector 2 upgrade.

    You can get a Vector 2S upgrade kit, but I don't think there's much difference between Vector and Vector 2 anyway.
     
  14. BennyC

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 25, 2006

    Posts: 13,792

    I got my head around this today.

    Vector is the original single sided
    Vector 2 is the new dual sided
    Vector 2S is the new but single sided version

    Upgrade kits are available for both the Vector and Vector 2S to achieve dual sided readouts but both cost around £3-400, not the £120 I anticipated. So there’s no saving as I thought from buying a new single (£500) and upgrading new (£3-400) over the Vector 2 new at £900.

    I’ve been looking today and quite fancy the PowerTap P1 pedals. They seem to be the simplest to fit (I have a torque wrench but it’s not needed), don’t have testicles hanging off either side :p and easily changed AAA batteries are appealing.

    DCR reviewed them well and there are minimal reports of teething problems from what I can see. Not cheap though at £999.99, a Platinum discount on Wiggle makes them £925 odd. I’d be keen to wait and see if they have another 17% (I think it was?) Platinum discount boost and pick some up then for under £900.00.

    This is a long 23 minute wait :o

    http://www.duraace.com/
     
  15. madindehead

    Mobster

    Joined: May 30, 2009

    Posts: 4,578

    Location: Maidenhead

    I know right! I'm mainly interested to see what happens power meter wise from them.

    I'm assuming that the P1 pedals have temp compensation and auto zero? That's one thing that was put me off the 4iiii a bit. Reading on DCRainmaker, it has no temp compensation, whereas P2M does...
     
    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
  16. Schizo

    Capodecina

    Joined: Feb 19, 2008

    Posts: 13,647

    Location: Home

    Note to oneself,try starting the garmin before you go on a 30 mile ride !!!!!
     
  17. BennyC

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 25, 2006

    Posts: 13,792

    They have temp compensation and just need calibrating at the start of each ride/use which isn't really an inconvenience.

    http://www.dcrainmaker.com/2015/08/powertap-p1-pedals-review.html

    Group buy discount please :p
     
  18. madindehead

    Mobster

    Joined: May 30, 2009

    Posts: 4,578

    Location: Maidenhead

    Last edited: Jun 29, 2016
  19. BennyC

    Capodecina

    Joined: Sep 25, 2006

    Posts: 13,792

    They are widely available though from a quick google and not much difference price wise to regular cleats.

    Would rather specialised cleats than a faff when changing them between bikes & batteries :)

    Juicy but if investing in PM Pedals an integrated crank based PM is a bit of a moot point :p be interesting to see the pricing & weight details when available.

    Really think they should have stuck with the/a silver 'top of the range' design. Other than a thicker crank arm it looks far too similar to the Ultegra on first appearance :(
     
  20. Roady

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 18, 2002

    Posts: 7,719

    Location: Hereford

    Interested in everyones first thoughts?

    I'm probably not going to have much time to read up on it all until next week or so (or with bleary eyes @6am in Heathrow tomorrow morning while waiting for 10am flight to Stockholm).

    My first impression, 9100 crankarm is ugly. 4 arm and wonky looking. :p:eek::rolleyes:

    EDIT: put me down for a pair of P1's!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.