• Competitor rules

    Please remember that any mention of competitors, hinting at competitors or offering to provide details of competitors will result in an account suspension. The full rules can be found under the 'Terms and Rules' link in the bottom right corner of your screen. Just don't mention competitors in any way, shape or form and you'll be OK.

Ryzen 7 1700x vs Intel i7-4770k

Associate
Joined
12 Aug 2009
Posts
558
After some advice please.

My PC is an i7-4770k clocked to an easy safe 4.2Ghz without trying and 16gb ram with a slow gpu and 1920x1200 monitor.
I want to run the new MS flight sim but gpu too slow and no graphics cards about £200 available (was looking at 1650 super or similar)
Also use for some other games like civ and may try some driving games.

My dad has upgraded (he does does video editing) and kindly given me his old pc which is a Ryzen 7 1700x with 32gb ram and a Red devil RX580 fitted.

Now I was expecting his pc to blow mine away but looking at cpu comparison sites, mine still may be quicker on single core although ryzen much faster multi core.

Should I just use my dads pc now or is there any benefit keeping my pc and transferring the GPU?

Thanks
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Aug 2009
Posts
558
I would seriously doubt that a 1700x would bring you any benefit in gaming.
One thing to consider is what motherboard he gave you, as it may be compatible with newer CPUs.
It is an Asus Prime X370-Pro so appears to support 3000 series?

It also has a Crucial MX300 M2 525GB SSD on the board. Mine has a separate Crucial M550 512GB

So am I best keeping my dads and maybe upgrading cpu in future?
 
Last edited:
Associate
Joined
10 Jul 2009
Posts
1,512
Location
London
While 1700x might be neck a neck in ST with 4770k (in real life perf, not benchmarks), dropping in 3000 series CPU would blow away your 4770k. You would feel that in games in minimums. For MS Flight Sim, 1700x and 4770k would be major bottleneck, I'm afraid
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Aug 2009
Posts
558
While 1700x might be neck a neck in ST with 4770k (in real life perf, not benchmarks), dropping in 3000 series CPU would blow away your 4770k. You would feel that in games in minimums. For MS Flight Sim, 1700x and 4770k would be major bottleneck, I'm afraid

thanks for that. So I should keep the AMD system and look to drop a 3000 series in?
If so would I be ok to keep the GSkil Flare x 32gb 2133mhz ddr4?
 
Associate
Joined
10 Jul 2009
Posts
1,512
Location
London
DDR4 2133mhz is a "bit" too low, I'm afraid. 3200mhz would be minimum :)
And 3000 series will give you many more years of greatness ;)
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Aug 2009
Posts
558
Thanks for this.

The heat sink appears to be (or look similar to) a Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4, Premium Dual-Tower CPU Cooler. Would this still be ok for a 3000 series?
What is the best value 3000 series?
If I have to change memory, would I be better off selling my complete board (X370) and buying all new board/ram/cpu ?

cheers
 
Joined
5 Aug 2006
Posts
11,185
Location
Derbyshire
While 1700x might be neck a neck in ST with 4770k (in real life perf, not benchmarks), dropping in 3000 series CPU would blow away your 4770k. You would feel that in games in minimums. For MS Flight Sim, 1700x and 4770k would be major bottleneck, I'm afraid
This really.

Slap a 3600 in and you'll have a decent rig.
The ram upgrade is definitely preferred, but 2133Mhz will still be a HUGE upgrade.
 
Associate
Joined
10 Jul 2009
Posts
1,512
Location
London
Thanks for this.

The heat sink appears to be (or look similar to) a Noctua NH-D15 SE-AM4, Premium Dual-Tower CPU Cooler. Would this still be ok for a 3000 series?
What is the best value 3000 series?
If I have to change memory, would I be better off selling my complete board (X370) and buying all new board/ram/cpu ?

cheers
I believe AM4 bracket is the same from Noctua, CPUs are the same from outside. You can send them an email, they will reply to you with an answer and of needed gonna send a replacement bracket, but I believe you are good.
CPU: depends what you want to do with it mostly. 3600, maybe if you can stretch it to 3700, since you are already coming from 8 cores, would be a shame to downgrade core wise, since 8 cores will give you much more breathing room in the future games, and hopefully MS can get DX12 version of their flight SIM out, that should benefit from more cores.
Changing motherboard is kinda snowball effect. A minute ago you were looking at just getting 3000 series CPU :)
X570 motherboards aren't cheap however. I believe 3200mhz, 2933mhz 32GB would still work great for you. Are you sure it is 2133mhz DDR4?
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Aug 2009
Posts
558
ok thanks all

I was only asking about the motherboard as if i needed to change ram as well it would be easier for me to sell board/cpu/ram together but if as above i can still get away with my 2133mhz then ill just change the cpu to 3600 and that makes it more palatable pricewise anyway.

Are you sure it is 2133mhz DDR4?
Its labelled GSkil Flare X and is red so I think its 2133 ?

Cheers for help
 
Associate
Joined
10 Jul 2009
Posts
1,512
Location
London
Wowow, download Thaiphoon Burner, and double check what they are, who knows, maybe you can clock them higher with a bit of voltage ;)
Also Google the product number ;)
 
Associate
OP
Joined
12 Aug 2009
Posts
558
They dont have an xmp profile in the asus bios but I have set them to 2400 and seem to run ok. will test overnight in memtest86.
If I set to the next one up (i think it was 2666) it wouldnt boot at 1.3v
 
Associate
Joined
18 Apr 2013
Posts
561
I went from a standard 4770k to a 3700x. Definitely an improvement. I have a rx480 8gb so a slightly lower clocked version of rx580 and I found moving from that processor to this one made the difference between playing F1 2020 in 1080p to 1440p. Before it stuttered here and there on the 4770k but now no no issues at all. So I would keep the amd system and definitely keep the cooler if it's a noctua d15. I would sell your old system and use the money to get a 3600 or 3700x. If you're feeling brave sell all the bits from both and build one to the spec you want. Keep that noctua though.
 
Associate
Joined
10 Jul 2009
Posts
1,512
Location
London
They dont have an xmp profile in the asus bios but I have set them to 2400 and seem to run ok. will test overnight in memtest86.
If I set to the next one up (i think it was 2666) it wouldnt boot at 1.3v

can you grab some photos of the sticker on the sticks?
 
Associate
Joined
30 Apr 2016
Posts
12
I previously went from a 6700k to a 2700x and I lost gaming performance but gained in productivity performance. This was with a 1080Ti FTW3 and 32gb ram
 
Associate
Joined
10 Jul 2009
Posts
1,512
Location
London
I previously went from a 6700k to a 2700x and I lost gaming performance but gained in productivity performance. This was with a 1080Ti FTW3 and 32gb ram

3000 series is different beast, than 2700x :)

It's actually amazing, that 1000 series was great when it came out, then 2000 series came out, and suddenly 1000 series was not so appealing :D And then 3000 came out, and suddenly 1000 series was "slow", and 2000 series was sooo "outdated". And then 5000 came out, and suddenly perfectly great 3000 series is "slow" :D
 
Associate
Joined
18 Apr 2013
Posts
561
3000 series is different beast, than 2700x :)

It's actually amazing, that 1000 series was great when it came out, then 2000 series came out, and suddenly 1000 series was not so appealing :D And then 3000 came out, and suddenly 1000 series was "slow", and 2000 series was sooo "outdated". And then 5000 came out, and suddenly perfectly great 3000 series is "slow" :D
3000 series isn't slow, just outdated :D
 
Associate
Joined
10 Jul 2009
Posts
1,512
Location
London
3000 series isn't slow, just outdated :D

Yeah, very easy to get lost in the progress AMD is making. Everyone is worrying that their 3600/5600 might be mid/low end, but when you think that these are 6c/12t of modern CPU, you realise they are perfectly capable with everything you through at them :D
 
Top Bottom