1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky Fibre Optic

Discussion in 'Networks & Internet Connectivity' started by robfosters, Apr 11, 2012.

  1. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 30,627

    Location: Welling, London

    Who will be ordering this tomorrow?

    If I can get it, I am seriously thinking about changing from VM to it. Too many drop outs with VM. £20 a month for 40MB is quite reasonable as well.
     
  2. DJMK4

    Capodecina

    Joined: Dec 1, 2004

    Posts: 21,931

    Location: S.Wales, Cardiff

    What are we looking at in terms of plans on any monthly transfer allocations, peak time and non-peak time plans, throttling and potential future changes to the plan and contract length?
     
  3. robfosters

    Caporegime

    Joined: Dec 1, 2010

    Posts: 30,627

    Location: Welling, London

    Details are sketchy, but it's certainly interesting for me as I have Sky TV. Would be nice to have TV, broadband and phone in one package.
     
  4. enigma27

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 3, 2007

    Posts: 2,050

    Location: Essex

    none... Sky unlimited is truly unlimited and will be on Fibre too.

    only downside is for the initial roll out speeds will only be upto 40meg down and 2 meg up unlike BT's 40/10

    once the intial phase is done i imagine 40/10 will be implemented and potential 80/20 also.
     
  5. KIA

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 14, 2004

    Posts: 13,528

    13th. :)
     
  6. Rossi~

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 5, 2010

    Posts: 19,139

    https://fibre.sky.com/shop/broadband-talk/broadband-options/sky-fibre-broadband/

    Indeed, was going to ring up today but will do tomorrow.
    Any idea whether they would customise connection speeds upon request? e.g. if i could get a 40/10 connection, whether they'd be able to increase the upload speed if i sacrifice download speed via a cap?
     
  7. FrenchTart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 16, 2005

    Posts: 31,310

    Location: Manchester

    I think that is very unlikely. It would be nice if we could do this sort of thing but it's almost unheard of amongst consumer ISPs over here and I would imagine any that do it would be extremely small suppliers that would charge a premium. Not somebody like Sky.
     
  8. shaffaaf27

    Soldato

    Joined: Jun 16, 2007

    Posts: 5,241

    Location: London

    Thought it was meant to be today
     
  9. KIA

    Man of Honour

    Joined: Nov 14, 2004

    Posts: 13,528

    It was. I think they moved the date.
     
  10. Goates

    Hitman

    Joined: Dec 17, 2010

    Posts: 752

    Sneaky little change there. Really want to upgrade to this but for whatever reason our area hasn't had fibre installed yet and is not even on the list of areas for it to be installed.
     
  11. Rossi~

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 5, 2010

    Posts: 19,139

    That's a shame, NTL did it for me back in the day but nobody seems to do it these days.
     
  12. andy_mk3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 8,574

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I'll be upgrading our Sky BB to Fibre :) can't wait!
     
  13. StonedPenguin

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 22, 2011

    Posts: 3,602

    Might leave VM for these if its in my area, Anyway of seeing if its available where you live?
     
  14. Lighters

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 11, 2006

    Posts: 1,487

    argh! really interested to go with sky but I just cant justify the 2meg upload as it isnt fast enough however long I have to wait for the upgrade.

    Anyone with sky comment on how good their service is for gamers? (Ping,reliability,packetloss, throttling during peak times)

    I know they used to be extremely poor when they came out
     
  15. FrenchTart

    Man of Honour

    Joined: May 16, 2005

    Posts: 31,310

    Location: Manchester

    If you're just worried about gaming then the 2mbit upload really will not matter to you. It is much more than sufficient for gaming.

    Sky's LLU service has always been great. Their IPStream service has always been sub-par. This is true pretty much across the board - ping, jitter, download speeds, throttling.

    I would expect their FTTC product to closely match their LLU product in those regards, but it it remains to be seen whether or not their network will be able to cope with the increased load (given that Easynet generally manage their network quite well though, I have high hopes).
     
  16. Matteysan

    Soldato

    Joined: Nov 15, 2004

    Posts: 5,917

    Location: Telford

    If you can get BT Infinity then you can get Sky Fibre afaik. You can check this here http://www.samknows.com/broadband/exchange_search

    No date for my exchange to be upgraded still :( Yet one down the road has been enabled & it is primarily a VM area pffft :/
     
  17. StonedPenguin

    Mobster

    Joined: Apr 22, 2011

    Posts: 3,602

    Thanks Mattey, Mine doesnt say anything about BT fibre.. But it does say FTTC available in some areas :confused:
     
  18. Rossi~

    Capodecina

    Joined: Nov 5, 2010

    Posts: 19,139

    From what i can see, all Sky have said about speeds so far is 40Mb download. 2Mb upload just happens to be the speed that the trials are on at the moment. Unless someone can point me in the right direction.

    I'm on Sky ADSL2+ 16mb down, 0.65 up. Gaming is brilliant, low pings (25-50) in the UK. Fibre will be great.
     
  19. andy_mk3

    Sgarrista

    Joined: Oct 5, 2009

    Posts: 8,574

    Location: Lincolnshire

    I currently sync at about 6000/700, so going to 2mb up will be a good improvement to me :)
     
  20. Lighters

    Wise Guy

    Joined: Jun 11, 2006

    Posts: 1,487

    Sorry I should have slipped streaming into there :) hence why 2meg isnt fast enough :p

    Edit - thinking about talktalk
    £114 line rental
    £22.25 6month then 29.50 for remaining