so what would you do....?

Man of Honour
I'm 49 and I've been working in IT development for 30+ years.

I've been at my current company for 18 years and facing certain redundancy in the next year or so as the company closes it's UK dealing.. Nothing to do with Brexit, this has been going on for years.. So I'm guaranteed the maximum payout of 12 months..

Mortgage is all paid off, kids are in their 20's and would like to probably live a little.. then again, I like the comfort of a regular salary.

Yesterday, I had my first interview for as long as I can remember.. Went very well IMO and i was impressed with the company. My development skills have got a bit behind it has to say and I got a bit caught out with some "On the spot " maths questions but hey ho.

Would you?

1. Stay, take the cash when it comes and see where life heads?

2. Take the side ways move to a new job that will most likely see me out to retirement?

I've got it quite comfy here.. My daughter raised a valid point over dinner last night saying she's not convinced i'd be able to cope with a different environment now that I've been here for so long.

I'm getting to the "point of no return" when i get to old to become an employable age..

No real answer, but i'd be interested in people thoughts and opinions.

Caporegime
Well firstly you're not too old, especially as a developer where your years of experience could be valued. I've worked in the past with new hires who were older than you.

Unless you've got good reason to be worried about finding a new role or you find a role that pays significantly more I'd be tempted to wait a while for the redundancy payout. I'd still perhaps go to some interviews for practice and also to get a good idea of how much you're worth in the market at the moment and how easily you could get an offer when the time comes - perhaps if the offer is really good then you'll take it anyway.